Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2019, 02:18 PM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 141
Default iLok Cloud

I´m currently running all my licenses from an ilok - I´m travelling a lot with my rig always in fear of loosing my ilok so I was wondering if I can:

- use all my licenses from ilok cloud
- do I ALWAYS have to be online and what happens if I´m offline on a flight? does protools (ilok) let me use them for an hour offline or not?

THX!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2019, 02:37 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: Ilok Cloud

Yes you need to be connected pretty much continuously to the Internet if you want to use cloud licensing

No you don't if you have an iLok... one of the main benefits of the iLok (although iLok ZDT, if you want to use that does need to see your iLok connected infrequently, and you will have ZDT if you are worried about loss...)

Your licenses are either in the cloud or on the iLok they cannot be both, so you can't use an iLok to make up or being disconnected from the Cloud fro some period of time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2019, 04:15 AM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 141
Default Re: iLok Cloud

ok weird thing is I'm getting the message "license can only be activated to ilok" when I start up protools...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2019, 05:04 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,649
Default Re: iLok Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Yes you need to be connected pretty much continuously to the Internet if you want to use cloud licensing

No you don't if you have an iLok... one of the main benefits of the iLok (although iLok ZDT, if you want to use that does need to see your iLok connected infrequently, and you will have ZDT if you are worried about loss...)

Your licenses are either in the cloud or on the iLok they cannot be both, so you can't use an iLok to make up or being disconnected from the Cloud fro some period of time.
iLok.com only needs to see the iLok from time to time IF you're using the free TLC (theft and loss) coverage. As far as ZDT - it's worth the few bucks one pays for it as is having a spare iLok.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downtown_BE View Post
ok weird thing is I'm getting the message "license can only be activated to ilok" when I start up protools...
When PT puts up the error are you running from your physical iLok? What does the ILM s/w tell you as to where your PT license asset is?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2019, 07:56 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,641
Default Re: iLok Cloud

Also be aware that there's loads of plugins that aren't capable of cloud authorization.

As Darryl mentioned, if you have an iLok you should definitely have ZTD/TLC and a spare iLok; if you lose it or break it or forget it you can be up and running in a half hour.

Clloud authorization for Pro Tools is not great; I've been on sessions that ground completely to a halt and had to be scrubbed because the internet went out.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2019, 11:20 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,661
Default Re: iLok Cloud

I have a full video of all the possible scenarios when using iLok Cloud here

iLOK CLOUD | IN DEPTH
https://youtu.be/NKZINYC7W_0

Since the video they have introduces a couple new features called Automatic Mode and Managed Mode which you can read about here
https://ilok-com.s3.amazonaws.com/iLokCloud.pdf

Keep in mind, not all iLok licenses are cloud enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2019, 12:21 AM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 141
Default Re: iLok Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
I have a full video of all the possible scenarios when using iLok Cloud here

iLOK CLOUD | IN DEPTH
https://youtu.be/NKZINYC7W_0

Since the video they have introduces a couple new features called Automatic Mode and Managed Mode which you can read about here
https://ilok-com.s3.amazonaws.com/iLokCloud.pdf

Keep in mind, not all iLok licenses are cloud enabled.
great I´ll check that
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2019, 09:38 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 281
Default Re: iLok Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Also be aware that there's loads of plugins that aren't capable of cloud authorization.
Exactly, which is why virtually no one can use it to avoid having to carry a physical iLok. And to boot, if you want to use machine authorization as an alternative, there are many plug-ins that don't support that either.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Yesterday, 04:00 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 362
Default Re: iLok Cloud

Devil's advocate...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Clloud authorization for Pro Tools is not great; I've been on sessions that ground completely to a halt and had to be scrubbed because the internet went out.
Should a modern studio be expected to maintain internet access like it maintains everything else?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Also be aware that there's loads of plugins that aren't capable of cloud authorization.
Most allow authorizing to your machine. Only plugin I've bought over the years that requires a physical iLok is Slate's Trigger 2. And I'm considering selling it because of that.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Today, 10:10 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 281
Default Re: iLok Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by jscomposer View Post

Most allow authorizing to your machine. Only plugin I've bought over the years that requires a physical iLok is Slate's Trigger 2. And I'm considering selling it because of that.
Ah, wish that were true. So many don't support machine authorization:

Sonnox, Altiverb, Autotune, Izotope, Melodyne, Pitch'n Time, Seventh Heaven, etc., to name a bunch.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New iLok License Manager Released - Now Supports iLok Cloud Managed Mode unkJE Licensing & Accounts 0 10-10-2019 05:07 PM
Moving licenses from iLok Cloud to iLok USB Key Stratus Licensing & Accounts 2 03-15-2019 10:53 AM
Unable to move ilok licenses from cloud to ilok. Charu1 Pro Tools 2018 14 03-01-2019 09:05 AM
iLok Cloud and other physical iLok mik Pro Tools 2018 2 05-04-2018 10:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com