Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2018, 12:23 AM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 582
Default any way to better distribute the workload between the cores

So I have a 12 core cheese grater. When I run Pro tools I see that the load on the CPU is distributed to the middle CPU's and many of them seem to be hardly doing anything? Can this be fixed? Trying to milk out as much as I can out of this old but powerful machine.

cheers

Brian
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. PT 2019.6. Mac OS 10.13.3 RME UFX and lots of noisemaking stuff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2018, 12:39 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: any way to better distribute the workload between the cores

Is it actually causing you issues with AAE errors? If not ignore it. Watching the meters usually is not that useful.

Lots of other leading info like your sample rate, buffer size you are using would be useful to know.

If you are having AAE CPU errors then you can try -

Run at a larger IO buffer size

Run at a lower sample rate

Avoid deep chaining signal paths/lots of bus chaining/stacking of plugins. Long chains/deep bussing pushes more stuff onto fewer cores.

Avoid use of multi-channel/stereo plugins when multi-mono plugins would work. Recently discussed on DUC. This causes say both stereo track parts to be processed on the same core.

Make more use of freeze and commit

Try disabling hyper threading

—- and as always...

Make sure your system is fully optimized.

Do standard troubleshooting looking for poorly behaved plugins, and plugin denormalization effects. Especially make sure disk cache is enabled==Set to a size not “normal”. I would also disable dynamic plugin processing, and leave it disabled it causes more real hassles than it is worth.

OS X 10.8.x.... are you really running 2018 on that?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2018, 01:29 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 268
Default Re: any way to better distribute the workload between the cores

Try to turn off hyperthrrading

Use multimono plugins for stereo inserts.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2018, 02:26 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,090
Default Re: any way to better distribute the workload between the cores

Turn off hyperthreading first, it has helped a lot of people
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2019, 11:43 PM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 582
Default Re: any way to better distribute the workload between the cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Turn off hyperthreading first, it has helped a lot of people

How do you turn off hyper threading?

Brian
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. PT 2019.6. Mac OS 10.13.3 RME UFX and lots of noisemaking stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2019, 06:03 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,361
Default Re: any way to better distribute the workload between the cores

ha- two similar threads;

try this...cpu setter
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores Hive Guy macOS 8 05-11-2011 12:05 AM
VI Pops & Clicks: A CPR Workload Problem? Mount Royal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-05-2008 10:00 AM
A quick question on P4 workload for the veterans? Zwan5150 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-20-2006 12:09 PM
Upgrading from 002 to HD, where to distribute $$ WannabeSQ Tips & Tricks 6 06-08-2006 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com