Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-24-2020, 06:16 PM
hart07 hart07 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toulouse ( France)
Posts: 112
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility

Thks albee1952
I can keep my i7 3930k under windows 10 and run pt 12,5hd with my HD native and my 192i/o?
There should be no problem?
__________________
Asrock x79 extrême 6, intel i7 3930k, 16go ram
HD native + Pro tools hd 9.0.6 + 192i/o analog and digital
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-25-2020, 11:58 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,957
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by hart07 View Post
Thks albee1952
I can keep my i7 3930k under windows 10 and run pt 12,5hd with my HD native and my 192i/o?
There should be no problem?
SHOULD be no problem, and since you already have it, you aren't risking anything other than some time
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-25-2020, 08:04 PM
hart07 hart07 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toulouse ( France)
Posts: 112
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility

OK Thks
Where I can get a good deal to buy PT HD 12.5?
__________________
Asrock x79 extrême 6, intel i7 3930k, 16go ram
HD native + Pro tools hd 9.0.6 + 192i/o analog and digital
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-26-2020, 12:11 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,957
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by hart07 View Post
OK Thks
Where I can get a good deal to buy PT HD 12.5?
Okay, I'm a bit confused here. Usually, people ask about a specific version because they own it. What is it about 12.5 that has you stuck on that version? Buying a used license is fairly simple, as long as you deal with a reputable seller so you know they will be forthcoming with the required iLok asset (assuming you have an iLok account). Needless to say(but I will anyway), if someone offers to sell you Pro Tools that doesn't need an iLok, steer clear of that. The only reason I can see for stopping at 12.5 HD is to save the $299 cost of a Digilink license(required with 12.6 and up), but as that's a one-time purchase, it seems a shame to sacrifice the multitude of added features in the newer versions. Having said that, the choice is still yours and I would start your search with specific dealers like Alto Music, GSharp, Dale Pro, Parsons Audio, etc.(Alto and GSharp are both big eBay sellers too).

Just to recap, here's what you need:
1-HD or Ultimate software(can't use the native card or 192 without the proper software)
2-an iLok account and a 2nd or 3rd gen iLok
3-a Digilink license if you go newer than 12.5 HD software
4-an open PCIe slot in the computer(BTW, the HDN card can often be used in a longer PCIe slot)
5-Pro Tools software(which usually requires an Avid account and registering the software, so if you don't have that, make sure the seller can provide you with a way to download the installer)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-26-2020, 03:51 PM
hart07 hart07 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toulouse ( France)
Posts: 112
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility

Actually I have an official Ilock 2nd generation the black one with grey and blue light, with pro tools hd 9.0.6
And HD native card on pcie and 192i/o analog.
I want to go with windows 10 cause I am running on windows 7 pro 64bits.
I saw that the first version compatible with windows 10 is pro tools hd 12,5.
What the best way to get it at the right price
__________________
Asrock x79 extrême 6, intel i7 3930k, 16go ram
HD native + Pro tools hd 9.0.6 + 192i/o analog and digital
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-27-2020, 09:17 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,957
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility

As I said above, start your search with specific dealers like Alto Music, GSharp, Dale Pro, Parsons Audio, etc.(Alto and GSharp are both big eBay sellers too).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools First vs. Regular Pro Tools Hardware Compatibility Tanis Pro Tools | First Discussion 4 04-02-2020 05:05 PM
Compatibility between New Mac Pro and Pro Tools aylavid Pro Tools 12 21 06-05-2016 08:33 AM
Pro Tools 8 and Mac G4 compatibility swgerow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-23-2009 11:53 AM
Pro Tools 8 Mac compatibility popps Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-12-2008 08:47 AM
Compatibility: 0S X 10.3.6 and Pro Tools LE 6.4. Oralet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 11-29-2004 04:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com