Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2018, 08:57 AM
rogerwilco2000 rogerwilco2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: city and/or country
Posts: 10
Default Ableton Push as a mix controller

Knowing that Abletonís Push can only be used as a MIDI controller in Pro Toolsóhas anyone used it as one in Pro Tools?

Specifically, Iíd be selling my Artist Mix to help purchase one and although itís not close to the Mixís functionality Iím wondering if a Push would do a decent job with volumes and pan in a pinch.

Any PT tips from Push users appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2018, 02:43 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,574
Default Ableton Push as a mix controller

You canít use standard MIDI controllers to control things like faders and pan knobs in Pro Tools. Well, you can emulate an M-Audio controller, but itís not great.

The best you an do with a standard MIDI controller is use it to control plugins that support MIDI learn, but again, itís not elegant as youíll need to have an active MIDI channel in rec mode for it to work.

Donít sell your Artist Mix. Having recently bought one solely for hands on control of plugins, it is (IMHO) the only real way to control plugins, faders etc. within Pro Tools.

Iím shocked they donít make a faderless version with 16 pots solely for plugin control.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2018, 06:17 PM
rogerwilco2000 rogerwilco2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: city and/or country
Posts: 10
Default Re: Ableton Push as a mix controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
You canít use standard MIDI controllers to control things like faders and pan knobs in Pro ToolsÖ
Ah, no! That's disappointing to hear, thanks for the heads up. I always thought you could map a MIDI layout to the basics in PT, but I guess I was thinking of Mackie HUI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Donít sell your Artist Mix. Having recently bought one solely for hands on control of plugins, it is (IMHO) the only real way to control plugins, faders etc. within Pro Tools.

Iím shocked they donít make a faderless version with 16 pots solely for plugin control.
I hear you, it's a hard sell but I'm in Live way more than PT these days. I do wish they added more features or tailored the hardware since acquiring Euphonix, too. The layout seems dated and not at all in touch with typical PT workflows, which is why I mostly used it for fader rides and panning.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ableton Push Controller - new! Oliver M Buy & Sell 3 12-06-2016 11:09 AM
Ableton Push 2 with Pro Tools smm236 Pro Tools 12 2 12-05-2016 12:41 AM
Ableton Live 9 and Push filosofem General Discussion 3 11-05-2012 06:59 PM
Ableton Live! 5 + Midi Controller mindcircus MIDI 1 10-14-2005 03:13 AM
Ableton Live Controller Plastik909 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-12-2005 08:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com