Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2012, 07:45 PM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 492
Default PTX & Destructive punch

Has anyone have the following happen:
Whenever I set up new tracks for destructive punch, the moment I record ready the tracks and to go either into play or record I keep gettin the pop up message asking me to prepare the same tacks (that i previously prepped)for destructive punch?!

This happens almost 100% of the time to me, the work around is I close the session and reopen it and all is Kosher.
I've contacted DIGI tech support regarding this and they have no idea why.
and I've never heard back from them regarding the issue.

I've tested this on 2 completely different MacBook pros and I consistently get the same issue, the same work around fixes the issue.
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2012, 07:45 PM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 492
Default Re: PTX & Destructive punch

I should also mention this with PTX and CPTK.
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2012, 08:23 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,157
Default Re: PTX & Destructive punch

Are there ANY edits on the DPE tracks? If so, they will be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2012, 06:55 AM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 492
Default Re: PTX & Destructive punch

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Are there ANY edits on the DPE tracks? If so, they will be rejected.
No edits what so ever. This happens on any freshly prepped DPE tracks.
I've tried everything from prepping just one track, surround track etc... Same difference.

I've also been through the DIGI tech support route as well, sent in my log files etc...
Never heard back from them! Saddly they have major issues over there and can't get their act together to properly respond!

I'm beginning to think this is a CPTK bug. I haven't heard anyone running TDM or Native HD systems having this issue, hence why I'd like others running PTX with CPTK to try it out and see if they get the same result.
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2012, 08:05 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,157
Default Re: PTX & Destructive punch

FWIW this is my setup. I rely on CPTK, and Destructive Punch has been fine. I suspect hard disk maintenance issues in your case, but that's just a wild guess.

MacPro Harpertown 2.8Ghz 8-core, 8GB RAM, 10.7.2, Pro Tools 10.0.0 with Complete Production Toolkit 2, Quicktime 7.6.6, Digi 003, Control|24, Blackmagic Intensity Pro, eSATA hotswap tower, Soundminer 4, Waves, Lexicon, Audio Ease, Melodyne, SoundToys, Izotope RX, Pro Tools Instrument Expansion Pack...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2012, 02:55 AM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 492
Default Re: PTX & Destructive punch

FWIW this is my setup. I rely on CPTK
I see your running your CPTK on a Macpro and I'm running it on a MacBook pro and I'm having the issue and your not. I really don't know what make of it.
Like I said he issue happens on 2 separate MacBook pros, it's impossible that it's a hard drive issue since I've tried it on numerous hardrives internal and external.
Maybe it's a MacBook issue?

Hopefully others with MacBook pros can chime in here.
It would also be nice if AVID would check this out on their end.
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2012, 07:50 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,157
Default Re: PTX & Destructive punch

Just thought of this thread tonight while using Destructive Punch on my el cheapo MacBook 3,1. Works fine.

I did, however, clone the drive of my MacPro to the internal of my MacBook. I doubt that's why it's working though. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2012, 10:53 PM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 492
Default Re: PTX & Destructive punch

Interesting. I just upgraded to 10.0.1 and it still does the same thing. Can't figure this one out for the life of me. why would it have the same behaviour on 2 completely different Macbook pros while on yours it works fine 1st time around.
Did you try creating multiple destructive punch tracks of various types at the same time or just one track?

Could this be related to a 3rd party I/O?? I have to see if I run protools fully native off the mac outputs if it will do the same thing.
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2012, 06:47 AM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 492
Default Re: PTX & Destructive punch

The issue seems to be plugin related. I did a full clean re-install of PTx without any 3rd party plugins and the DP issue never occurred. After installing all my additional plugins that's when the issue started happening.

I've recently encountered other people who have this issue as well.
Some running PTX on TDM or like myself natively on host CPU.
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
difference Destructive punch Rec and Destructive Rec asef@me.com Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 06-19-2013 04:47 PM
Anyone use Destructive Punch? midnightrambler Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-02-2011 12:34 PM
Using destructive punch? Brent_Sydney Post - Surround - Video 3 04-12-2011 10:58 AM
PT 8.01 cs1 destructive Punch bug wolfgang B. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-02-2009 06:35 AM
Destructive Punch too destructive! Stylin' Audio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-22-2009 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com