Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2011, 11:52 AM
anackman's Avatar
anackman anackman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 191
Default PT 10 takes long time to open

Anyone else having issues with load times in PT 10? Mine takes forever to open sessions. It hangs on the window that reads "activating tracks" for about 45 seconds, then finally opens my sessions after about a full minute of waiting. These are not large sessions either.

I can't understand why this is happening. Granted, the session does load and I should be happy about that, given other issues people face, but if there's a fix or suggestion, it'd be great to know about it. It just slows me down.

Thanks.
__________________
10.11 OSX El Capitan
PT 12.4
Mac Pro Quad Core (Studio) + Mac Mini (Home)
UAD Apollo Duo
UAD Satellite Quad
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2011, 01:35 PM
RTFM RTFM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 147
Default Re: PT 10 takes long time to open

This could be a couple things - first, have you tried trashing prefs and databases yet?

Second - make sure that ALL installed plug-ins are compatible. See the plug-in grid link in the header of the forum. After removing/updating plug-ins trash prefs so that all plug-in data can be recached.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2011, 04:27 PM
oreo1 oreo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 183
Default Re: PT 10 takes long time to open

I have the exact same problem.

I have tried everything to fix it, including reinstalling PT, also loading an empty session, also saving a session to both internal and external drives and then re-loading from each and comparing load time. In every case, my sessions ALWAYS take over 2 minutes to load. And yes, mine also hangs on the message of activating windows.

Let me add that loading the program itself goes very quickly. It's only a session that bogs down everything.

I've talked to Avid tech support about it. Since I've tried every bit of troubleshooting in their playbook, they don't have an answer. At least nothing yet.

One of my hunches, which was also the hunch of the Avid tech support guy, is that it may have to do with the fact that I have a new iMac with Lion, that boots off an SSD drive. Do you have any part of that same system? If you do have the SSD, that would seem to confirm the problem as being a hardware glitch. Every mac now being sold offers an SSD as the boot drive, and i wouldn't be surprised if not far in the future the SSD becomes standard on a mac.

By the away, i do not have this problem with any other software, including audio stuff like Logic, Reaktor, and Audition.

It would be worthwhile for us to compare systems, just to see if anything matches which may help isolate the problem.
__________________
— Jim
Here's my latest CD: The New Old Time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2011, 04:51 PM
sounddroid sounddroid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 52
Default Re: PT 10 takes long time to open

Oreo, I've been using PT 9 and now PT 10 on an SSD for nearly a year with no problems. If anything, it loads PT even faster now. In PT10, sessions are opening MUST faster than in PT9, even with huge mixing sessions.

What plugins are you using? As a test, you could try duplicating a session, strip out ALL plugins, close and reopen, and see if the problem goes away. Granted, loading plugins should take SOME time, but not as bad as what you're seeing.
__________________
--Will Files
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2011, 06:31 PM
imacgreg imacgreg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: PT 10 takes long time to open

Aside from the plug-in compatibility issues, have you run Disk Warrior on your system drive? I noticed a big improvement in speed when I disk warrior-ed my system drive. You need to boot from a different system drive that has disk warrior installed...

I'm using a 240GB SSD with 10.6.8 and Pro Tools 10HD.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2011, 03:41 PM
oreo1 oreo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 183
Default Re: PT 10 takes long time to open

Don't think my problem is plugins. I've trashed all the preference files and nothing changes. Anyway, I believe plugins get loaded with the PT program, not with the sessions. Correct?

when i start a session, the screen continually shows messages of various components loading. When it hits the message"Building Mix Window" it freezes there for about 30 seconds. Then it moves on until it hits "building transport window". There it hangs for 40-60 seconds. After that the session opens. After it opens everything works great. And very fast. And with my iMac's 16 gb memory I can use any combination of memory hog plugins that i wish with no slowdown.

I don't mean to steal this thread, so maybe the thread creator wishes to chime in with some good news about fixing his system.
__________________
— Jim
Here's my latest CD: The New Old Time.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:25 AM
kmoas kmoas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Europe
Posts: 8
Default Re: PT 10 takes long time to open

I have the exact same problem since updating to Lion, except in my case, PT hangs on building various windows for 10-12 minutes (!). Even when creating a fresh new session, and also when f.ex. changing delay comp. engine length etc. I've done every possible troubleshooting trick I know (incl. all mentioned above, several full un-installs and re-installs), to no avail. I went back to Snow Leopard (from time machine) just to check that PT 10 worked perfectly - which it did. With Lion, beach ball time. If anyone knows of any tips / tricks to still try, would be highly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2011, 12:39 AM
Mr Darcy Mr Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15
Default Re: PT 10 takes long time to open

There's a solution posted by BerlinProAudio here that worked for me on PT 10 (even though the linked thread is for 9).

Open up Terminal. It should say something like "X:~ your-login$". For me X was "server". Go to System Preferences > Sharing. If the Computer Name entry at the top is something other than whatever X is, change it so they match up. Fixed the problem instantly.

It's a weird solution, but it seems to have worked for a number of people, myself included.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2011, 10:11 AM
oreo1 oreo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 183
Default Re: PT 10 takes long time to open

Whoa!! this tip fixed it for me. One thing. At first look, the names of my computer and my account looked correct. But there was a second name i had given for the shared folder. I deleted that.

It still didn't work.

So I copied the computer name, as given in the box for computer name, , then copied it back into the same space. Then I restarted the computer.

Opened Protools. A session took all of 3 seconds to load. Bravo Mr Darcy.
__________________
— Jim
Here's my latest CD: The New Old Time.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2011, 09:38 PM
anackman's Avatar
anackman anackman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 191
Default Re: PT 10 takes long time to open

My PT 10 still hangs on "activating inserts" for about 45 seconds to a minute. It feels like forever to open a basic session.

I tried trashing prefs. I tried the terminal suggestion. Didn't make much of a difference.
__________________
10.11 OSX El Capitan
PT 12.4
Mac Pro Quad Core (Studio) + Mac Mini (Home)
UAD Apollo Duo
UAD Satellite Quad
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT takes a long time to save. JWalkerVS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-15-2015 06:13 PM
Takes long time to open PT-MP Ben Uytjens Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-29-2008 05:09 PM
Computer takes to long to save / open session lotusstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-25-2008 11:27 PM
takes entirely TOO LONG to open sessions rickbryant305 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-14-2005 07:01 PM
Bouncing: Man, it takes a long time. underbiteman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-11-2004 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com