Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 10-18-2014, 05:15 PM
Simon Morrison's Avatar
Simon Morrison Simon Morrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 82
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Running Mac OS X 10.10 (14A389), Pro Tools 11.2.1 (Native), Logic Pro X 10.0.7

RME Fireface 800 (v3.23).

iLok License Manager (v2.4.2) and eLicenser Control Center (v6.8.3.2154).

No problems to report.
__________________

Simon Morrison • Audio Architect • Mastering Engineer • Music Technologist
Pro Tools 12.8.3 (Native) | macOS 10.12.6
[ www.MorrisonStudios.com ]
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 10-18-2014, 05:17 PM
JMDNYC JMDNYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 221
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

I have found only two incompatibilities (so far): Guitar Rig Pro 5 and my Midisport 4x4.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 10-18-2014, 05:57 PM
oreo1 oreo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 183
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Protools 10.3.8 works OK for me on Yosemite. Like others, the only real problem I see so far is that the menus are greyed out until you mouse over them. It's easy to get used to. All the plugins work fine.

The menu issue is not burdensome enough for me to be wishing I hadn't upgraded to Yosemite. So... I'm curious. Since this seems to be a common problem for a large base of upgrading users, can anyone tell me if they figured out a way to fix it? Everyone here seems to imply that Avid could care less to look back on last year's version and actually spend some R&D time to fix something in 10. I don't have enough experience to know if that is really true.
__________________
— Jim
Here's my latest CD: The New Old Time.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 10-18-2014, 06:17 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,545
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oreo1 View Post
Everyone here seems to imply that Avid could care less to look back on last year's version and actually spend some R&D time to fix something in 10. I don't have enough experience to know if that is really true.
http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=45

This thread keeps up to date docs.

Maybe I am presumptuous or it's just that I've been doing this a while, but it seems PERFECTLY logical to investigate a major change to my computer setup before doing it.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 10-18-2014, 06:47 PM
oreo1 oreo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 183
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

before doing what? I'm just looking for advice. I can only hope that is what your are giving.
__________________
— Jim
Here's my latest CD: The New Old Time.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 10-18-2014, 06:56 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,441
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oreo1 View Post
before doing what? I'm just looking for advice. I can only hope that is what your are giving.
The advice is don't rush to upgrade to Yosemite. And when you do be careful to have a way to roll back if there are problems. You'll find the menu issue discussed in multiple threads on DUC at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 10-18-2014, 07:26 PM
Michaelbarrett1 Michaelbarrett1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arlington, MA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

I am looking for the MBox 2 Pro driver to be updated from 10.3.3 (supports Mavericks) to a new version that will support Protools 8.0.4 on Yosemite. It loads a project but no audio playback. It recognizes the MBox2 Pro hardware but no audio out. I am running it on my Mac Mini with FireWire 400 to 800. It worked well in Mavericks after installing the 10.3.3 driver update. Let me know if you have any suggestions and I will amend this post if I get it working.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 10-19-2014, 10:59 AM
housebeatz housebeatz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 6
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Running Pro Tools 11.2.1 and Yosemite OS X 10.10 installed over Mavericks with no issues. All effects and instruments seem to be working with the exception of NI Maschine. Prior to installing Yosemite I moved my waves licenses over to a USB flash drive. Waves is working.

Just to name a few I am using.

Izotope
Spectrasonics
Soundtoys
PSP
NI (exception Maschine)
Waves
Arturia
Synthmaster

Audio Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 2i4

http://www.beatport.com/artist/tim-letteer/18493

http://soundcloud.com/timletteer
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 10-19-2014, 02:16 PM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Is it "Yos eh might"?
Or "Yo semitee semiteh"?

I know its a national park but never heard it pronounced.

I like the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 10-19-2014, 02:34 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Yosemite came out today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_uk View Post
Is it "Yos eh might"?
Or "Yo semitee semiteh"?

I know its a national park but never heard it pronounced.

I like the latter.
yes the latter is correct
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yosemite and PT10 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 10 27 01-24-2015 03:29 PM
Hey Avid: Apple announced OSX Yosemite today 6/2/2014 Obsidian Dragon macOS 23 10-10-2014 08:20 AM
Yosemite and PT11 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 11 7 09-26-2014 05:10 PM
Project 2 on G4 Yosemite? Songdahl General Discussion 1 10-01-1999 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com