Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:43 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,082
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
I tend to not upgrade my OS unless I need to. I find the newer OS's can bog down old machines.
Well now you need to choose between newer OS or unsupported configuration
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:47 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Well now you need to choose between newer OS or unsupported configuration
Yep. Knew that.
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:48 PM
whatfools whatfools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatfools View Post
Attempting to install now. Completely hung up. Can't end the install. Can't reboot my machine. Have that sinking feeling. Be careful if you try doing this one.
So this is interesting, after about half an hour it seems to have installed. I was able to get into Avid Link after a number of tries and in Avid Link, Pro Tool appeared as updated. I clicked the "Open" button and was able to get sound from a session.

However, I got this message when I tried to restart my computer "Pro Tools 2020.3.0 is being installed. Interrupting the install may damage your computer. You can shut down when the install is complete." I've now used force quit to end the installer.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:51 PM
whatfools whatfools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Okay correction, still getting this:

Your computer can’t be restarted now, because software is being installed.

Does anyone know if there's a way to kill the installer other than a hard reboot?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 03-31-2020, 07:42 PM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 369
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

2020.3.0 running well on High Sierra, love the folders, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 03-31-2020, 08:39 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

2020.3: All good on 10.14.6! Simply updated (no uninstall first).
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 03-31-2020, 09:06 PM
Geoff Grace Geoff Grace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Disappointed Avid hasn't fixed the issue I raised about deleting events in the MIDI event list. I've been in touch with tech support at Avid and they can repro it. They gave no ETA on a fix though. Disappointed it's not been fixed here. So I'm back to PT 2019.6. I know that's SO last decade but it's what I need to use because of my using a LOT of MIDI.
I guess there's no point in me installing 2020.3 either then. I had the same problem with the MIDI event list in 2019.10 too. In fact, considering the problem of MIDI CC edits that deleted notes which plagued Pro Tools 2018.4 and 2018.7, it's been a bumpy ride for MIDI in Pro Tools for much of the last two years.

I hope Avid can focus more on MIDI stability for the next release.

Best,

Geoff
__________________
Enthusiasm powers the world.

Craig Anderton's Archiving Article
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 03-31-2020, 09:33 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 718
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

WELL DONE AVID!
Folder tracks are super! And thanks for the new video engine! Very snappy, unlike 2019.12, which did not work at all. Well done indeed, keep it up, Avid.
Now we need to fix the MIDI, and work on efficient CPU/RAM usage...Proper distribution of load on multi cores. Presently, monster computers by other standards are most times insufficient for large PT sessions. Users of other DAWs don't have these problems with very modest computers...This is important; it's a given with all other major DAWs. Please correct this before any other new features. We want the original stability of PT which helped to make it an industry standard. BTW, Is this only on vanilla? Or do users of other versions experience this?
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.3 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 03-31-2020, 09:52 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 428
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy Bob View Post
Just got it installed. First thing I noticed was the MIDI cursor is again easily visible.
POWER TO THE PEOPLE!

Can us plebs who didn't stay current get a screenshot?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 03-31-2020, 10:44 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,082
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatfools View Post
Does anyone know if there's a way to kill the installer other than a hard reboot?
Open the Activity Monitor from Utilities folder, locate your process and force kill it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2020 PT-Release belasoul Post - Surround - Video 6 03-10-2020 03:17 PM
Pro Tools 2020.1 off the wall Pro Tools 2019 138 01-21-2020 07:12 PM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-16-2020 11:43 PM
Does anyone use XV-5080 or XV-2020? Atana 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-24-2002 10:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com