Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-12-2010, 08:35 AM

Default Analog Summing Mixers with Pro Tools

Hey everyone

Thought I'd try and get some feedback on summing mixers. I realize the subject of analog summing has been beaten to death, so forgive the rehash.

I'm an acoustic musician with a Pro Tools 003 Rack setup that has been totally modified by Black Lion Audio. I succeed at getting a well recorded Martin D-18 or D-28 sound during my initial tracking. And I always record through a Vintage Designs DMP, coupled with the Dramastic Obsidian, convert to digital using an Aurora Lynx and then into Pro Tools. I also use an external WORD clock, and slave my system to it.

But when I continue with multi-tracking other acoustic instruments (like mandolin, violin and piano) and then do in the box mixes, something is missing. Hence I graduated to "out of the box" analog summing (OTB). My signal chain is as follows: The digital stems (or busses) go out to an Aurora Lynx for conversion to analog, then into a Rolls RMS216 FOLCROM Passive Summing mixer. From there the two track mix goes into a Vintage Designs DMP 1073 clone pre-amp, and then into a Dramastic Obsidian compressor.

The overall 2-track OTB mix is way better than an in the box (ITB) mix, but I still lack that deep wide and spacious analog sound.

From an acoustic music standpoint, what are the gear slut cronies using in similar set-ups for summing mixers to achieve that deep and wide analog sound?

I'm thinking of an Inward Connections, InnerTube SumThang, the Phoenix Nicerizer, or the Shadow Hills Industries Equinox.