Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2002, 10:06 AM
Joe S Joe S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN,USA
Posts: 38
Default voice-over eq

Mixing with those pesky under-collar lavs is a annoying - especially trying to mix material with a studio mic - other than the obvious of EQ to brighten it up - anybody have a plug-in or setting that helps with this?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2002, 10:47 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: voice-over eq

I heard a SMPTE paper once by Holman that experimented with graphic EQ to "fix" the sound of lav mics. They took pink noise and flattened out the sound of a lav mic as it was being worn. It made the mic sound much better.

Try a 32 band parametric and see if that will help.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2002, 11:52 PM
CO2 CO2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: L.A.,CA USA
Posts: 394
Default Re: voice-over eq

Hello Joe:

Another production sound bugaboo!!!
I always hated lavs.

One solution when all else fails is to record your new audio on a lav. You generally start a bit closer.

Also, I was curious to know if the Antares Microphone Modeler had lav models. That might get you close.

Of course, my last thought was a truly mad scientist concept.

Have your talent read as ADR to match the location lav. When you have a take that matches in timing and performance, sum the two and flip phase on the lav track, which would create a "difference" track. Take that "difference" track and set it against the studio take and flip phase on the "difference" track. What is left should be close to the sound of the lav.

OK OK I was joking about that last idea!!!

Good luck. (IMHO the Antares would be the best shot IF they have modeled lavs)

Best Regards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making a normal voice into a Cartoon like voice... meyoik Post - Surround - Video 6 03-15-2012 06:10 AM
voice band multitrack instruments and vocals all from voice input for iphone crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-12-2010 03:56 PM
Advantage of 16 voice 2 dsp over 16 voice 1 dsp? flymax Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-04-2006 02:10 PM
Voice weirdness: tracks play wrong voice - any suggestions? citysoundman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 10-03-2002 02:45 PM
Voice bug Jared3 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-31-2000 12:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com