Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2018, 11:18 AM
Fuzzyc Fuzzyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Satellite Beach
Posts: 67
Default Problems running ProTools under another user profile

I've been running PT 12, since just after it came out. It's been running under the only user profile (w/ admin privileges) on this computer without any problems. And I've been running PT on this computer for about 5 years. It's been a VERY stable PC. However since Microsoft forced me to upgrade to the Creator edition of Windows 10 (which I fought off as long as I could) several things on my PC would not work correctly. Pro Tools worked just fine, but too many other things would not work.

So after many hours of debugging this, it turns out that everything works normal after creating another user profile and signing into that user profile. Everything except Pro Tools! I can load a large session under my original user profile and the session is fine. But when I sign into the new user profile and load the same session, the CPU usage is spiking to 100% and all I hear is a lot of clicks and pops. I've reinstalled Pro Tools - the same version (12.7.1) that's already on this machine, under the new user Profile.

I've looked through all of the Pro Tools settings/preferences screens and everything looks the same under the new user as it does under the original user. Is there anything specific that I need to do so that Pro Tools will work under the new user profile? I desperately need to get this issue fixed as soon as possible, so any help would be much appreciated!

My system details are provided below.

Thanks!
__________________
-------------------------------------
Model: PC Audio Labs Rok Box i5
OS: Windows 10 64 Bit
CPU: Intel® 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5-750
Memory: 16GB
Internal Hard Drives:
250GB= Progams
500GB= Audio
500GB= Samples/Back Up
External Hard Drives: Verbatim 1TB USB Drive
RME Fireface UFX Interface/Preamps
Pro Tools 2018.4
Focal CMS 65 Monitors
Avantone Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2018, 11:01 PM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: Problems running ProTools under another user profile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzyc View Post
I've been running PT 12, since just after it came out. It's been running under the only user profile (w/ admin privileges) on this computer without any problems. And I've been running PT on this computer for about 5 years. It's been a VERY stable PC. However since Microsoft forced me to upgrade to the Creator edition of Windows 10 (which I fought off as long as I could) several things on my PC would not work correctly. Pro Tools worked just fine, but too many other things would not work.

So after many hours of debugging this, it turns out that everything works normal after creating another user profile and signing into that user profile. Everything except Pro Tools! I can load a large session under my original user profile and the session is fine. But when I sign into the new user profile and load the same session, the CPU usage is spiking to 100% and all I hear is a lot of clicks and pops. I've reinstalled Pro Tools - the same version (12.7.1) that's already on this machine, under the new user Profile.

I've looked through all of the Pro Tools settings/preferences screens and everything looks the same under the new user as it does under the original user. Is there anything specific that I need to do so that Pro Tools will work under the new user profile? I desperately need to get this issue fixed as soon as possible, so any help would be much appreciated!

My system details are provided below.

Thanks!
Had a similar problem. Creating a new user profile didn't help. Major updates will sometimes add new services and reset the old ones. If (like here) your services are heavily tweaked with power user settings, try re-configuring Windows services. I went back to my old profile, re-tweaked services and trashed prefs. I also discovered that Windows Defender had become super aggressive, so I now disable it when using PT. That worked for me.
__________________
X99 | i7 5820 | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256HAFV-000H7 SSD 256GB | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT12.8.1 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New user, problems with protools lenster Eleven Rack 7 03-29-2012 08:34 PM
Profile running FOH and Monitors timcain3 VENUE Live Sound Systems 11 10-13-2011 07:39 PM
DUC User profile Fokke van Saane Tips & Tricks 2 12-14-1999 04:31 PM
user profile mrmxed General Discussion 1 03-16-1998 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com