Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2009, 11:45 AM
dmf dmf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Default LE 7.3 boot problem

hi,i seem to be having an issue with 7.3 not booting,everything is fine after i install it for a day or two then suddenly it wont boot and it freezes the desktop.any ideas? im on xp and sp3.thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2009, 11:47 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: LE 7.3 boot problem

Did you install Internet Explorer 8?

Please read this technical alert from Digidesign/Avid.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2009, 04:11 PM
dmf dmf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: LE 7.3 boot problem

ah! that's what messed it up,thanyou.....always something simple.

anyone any idea why when i boot pro tools it is unable to find the hardware???everything is connected and software etc fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2009, 04:15 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,612
Default Re: LE 7.3 boot problem

That problem has seemed to follow the IE8 install/uninstall problem. Perhaps an un-install/re-install of Pro Tools now that IE 8 is out of the way? (I know, what a pain!!!)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2009, 05:27 PM
jazzmandan jazzmandan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago Il, USA
Posts: 321
Default Re: LE 7.3 boot problem

",,un-install/re-install of Pro Tools "

Keep in mind that this is trickier then it sounds. It is like a cavity in a tooth, if you don't get it all out, the tooth just continue to be a problem.

There is a removal tools available to get it un-installed good!!

Good Luck from one who has been there.
__________________
~2004 - Dell 4600 P4 3.0GHz, 2.0 GB Ram, XP Home SP3, 80GB HD for System, 120GB HD for Audio BIAB 2009, Pro Tools 8.0, MBox
09/12/2009 - Dell XPS 435T/9000 i7, 6G Ram, Vista 64 Bit 750 G SATA for System, 1TB SATA for Audio, Protools 8.0.1, MBox
10/31/2009 - Win 7 64Bit
MBox /PT not supported under Win7 - I didn't leave PT, PT left me!
11/30/2009 - MBox, REAPER



http://www.jazzmandan.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2009, 09:44 AM
dmf dmf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: LE 7.3 boot problem

thanks guys...

tried reinstalling etc and no joy....is it a matter of retrying??or where might be the emoval tools be found?.

by the way if I.E.8 is no good is any of the other browsers compatible?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2009, 01:54 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,612
Default Re: LE 7.3 boot problem

Firefox
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2009, 06:50 AM
dmf dmf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: LE 7.3 boot problem

still no joy connecting to pro tools/hardware issue even after wiping and reintalling windows etc,everything is totally connected.what the heck would be the prob?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2009, 07:58 AM
dmf dmf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: LE 7.3 boot problem

can someone off some help as im stumped this time!

ive tried all the usual tricks,disconnecting the firewire cables,removing the adapter,disconnecting the oo2 cables inside etc.......could it be a faulty firewire adapter?the pc doesnt make the connection sound or tell me its connected and only the odd time makes the sound when disconnected.....the light on the oo2 says they are connected.could it stillll be a IE8 prob even after i have reinstalled windows?!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2009, 08:09 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: LE 7.3 boot problem

Are you "hot swapping" the firewire connection to the 002? Plugging it in while both the computer and the 002 are turned on?

If so, you are not supposed to do that! You can, and may have fried the firewire connector inside the 002 by doing that.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem Futurist Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 206 05-21-2011 09:07 AM
g5 boot problem... usd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 02-18-2009 01:34 PM
Boot Problem with OS9 UTS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-15-2005 10:55 AM
A7N8X PC with a boot up problem! iceblueD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 12-30-2004 10:40 AM
OSX Boot problem Reckless Erik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-24-2003 03:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com