Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2008, 06:13 PM
Tom Smith Tom Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 136
Default Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

When attempting to open an OMF generated by FCP (6 I believe) either by "import session data" or double-clicking the file, I get a dialog box with the following assertion error:

Code:
Could not complete your request because Assertion
in "/Volumes/Development/vb_cliff/AlturaPorts/
PT4_App/MacBuild/../PtSess_lop.cpp", line
155.



PT appears to be able to open the OMF file and begin reading it as several progress/activity messages are displayed before the error appears. The last status I can make out is "Reading Tracks: Track 6".

Running PTLE 7.3.1cs4, DV Toolkit 2, OS X 10.4.11 on Mac G5 Quad w/4GB RAM.

I'm completely dead in the water for my first paying gig in a long time. If anyone has any suggestions or is aware of a fix for this issue (Digi??!!) I'd really appreciate knowing about it.
__________________
Yesterday, I cudn't evun spell injunear. Now I are one!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2008, 10:29 PM
amptbuddy amptbuddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 65
Default Re: Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

First thing to check. Is the OMF file bigger then 2 gig? If it is over or close to 2 gig this is not good. The editor needs to split up their sequence and remake new omf exports. I have 46min programs split into 3rds minimum or more 5 Acts works. This way you may begin to start work on a few sections and narrow down any corrupt media. These problems 95% of the time is not you but picture editorial export.
Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2008, 09:01 AM
Tom Smith Tom Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

This OMF is actually just under 1GB so the size limitation shouldn't really come into play. But it's definitely something with that particular OMF as I get OMFs all the time, though usually from an Avid.

I was able to import the OMF into Logic 7 without any problems. It took a few tries, but I was then able to export an OMF from Logic that I could import into Pro Tools.

#if defined(FLAME_ON)
Sorry to flame Digi, but it's really, incredibly, super lame to have Assertion statements popping up in release software builds.
#endif
__________________
Yesterday, I cudn't evun spell injunear. Now I are one!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2008, 11:10 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,637
Default Re: Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

Is it possible the OMF contained audio files of mixed sample or bit rates?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2008, 01:50 PM
JKD99 JKD99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

Exactly. That's usually what gives you that error message, definitely ask your editor if that's a possibility.
__________________
Joe Milner
Puget Sound, Inc.
Los Angeles

IMDB

Puget Sound on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:36 PM
Tom Smith Tom Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

Ah yes, very interesting indeed... And a very real possibility. I'll ask the editor about it forthwith.

Assuming this is the problem though, does anyone have a workflow to deal with this? I mean, asking a picture editor to convert a bunch of audio files seems to be asking for trouble...


__________________
Yesterday, I cudn't evun spell injunear. Now I are one!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2008, 09:06 PM
Tom Smith Tom Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

Well, while waiting to hear back from the picture editor about this, I decided to test the theory myself...

So, I created a sequence in FCP containing audio clips of differing resolutions of audio: An mp3, 44.1/16, 48/24, and even a 32/16. I exported the sequence audio to OMF.

I tried to import the OMF into PT by Import Session Data and by double clicking the OMF file. Both worked flawlessly, all clips present as audio regions and in their proper place on the time line.

Okay then...
__________________
Yesterday, I cudn't evun spell injunear. Now I are one!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2008, 02:17 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

Quote:
Ah yes, very interesting indeed... And a very real possibility. I'll ask the editor about it forthwith.

Assuming this is the problem though, does anyone have a workflow to deal with this? I mean, asking a picture editor to convert a bunch of audio files seems to be asking for trouble...



As far as I know, there is an option when exporting to OMF, that does the sample convertion automatically. So it would only mean exporting the OMF once more for the editor.

Hope this helps,
Timothy
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2008, 04:17 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,445
Default Re: Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

Import of mixed Fs and/or bit-depth from OMF/AAF has been for working fine for quite some time now.

At least with OMF/AAF from AVID.

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:47 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,637
Default Re: Assertion Error: Can\'t import OMF from FCP

Quote:
Import of mixed Fs and/or bit-depth from OMF/AAF has been for working fine for quite some time now.

At least with OMF/AAF from AVID.

frank.
Correct - it *should* work, unless they had some at 32 bits. Not that it was the case here, just looking for possible causes, odd as they may be.

I think the best bet would be for us to get this OMF in-house, if at all possible, so that we can have engineering take a look at it and see if they can determine what's going wrong.

You can sent it to transfer [at] digidesign [dot] com via YouSendit or any other method. If you would like Digidelivery info to send it to us that way, please let me know.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assertion error when trying to import a 5.1 mov file RuffinMedia macOS 8 03-27-2012 08:08 PM
Assertion Error: Can't import OMF from FCP Tom Smith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-23-2008 05:45 AM
OMF import assertion error help RobMacki Post - Surround - Video 2 11-05-2007 07:24 PM
Import OMF Assertion Error, line 160...but why? Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 6 05-16-2007 03:08 AM
OMF Import error Assertion Error 4044 DUCHUNTER 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-08-2005 01:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com