Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 12-18-2015, 11:39 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Michael - first off, what a great bunch of posts! As an analog engineer I have always imagined what might be the real technical barriers for coding on DSP chips and am super grateful to read your comments. As a long time admirer (from my PCM 80 in the late 90's to the PCM native bundle and onwards to the EA products) it is great to read your take on things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exponential Audio View Post
For most people (and I include professionals), there's simply no need for dedicated DSPs. ..........................
But there is a real need for super low tracking latency with plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exponential Audio View Post
Now I will quickly admit that there are issues with host-based processing
Again tracking Latency comes to mind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exponential Audio View Post
Now about my remarks concerning a Thunderbolt-connected slave Mac. Let's leave out the pure Thunderbolt issues: I don't know T-bolt at the physical and protocol level. But I believe the concept is sound. A ProTools back-end (no GUI--basically a low-latency framework for running plugins) is quite possible.
In concept the Waves SoundGrid platform already does this. It is the only platform I know of today that uses dedicated Intel CPUs for running plugins in any DAW (not just PT). Integration is not quite at the level of AAX-DSP in the PT DAW but is as close as you can get without full DAW program support. But it does give a plugin processing farm and super low tracking latency.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12-19-2015, 10:17 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,351
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Soundgrid uses a real time OS and not a desktop like Mac or Windoze.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-06-2019, 03:00 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 809
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
Bump to an old thread

And let's get it back on track



Best DSP reverbs? AAX.

And

Sonnox reverb does DSP, but it is 10 years old.

How does it stand up?

I do music.
still dreaming of new DSP verbs.... Space by Avid is cool..... but each 5.0 instance eats up one slot. Ug. 1/2 as efficient as a 5.0 ReVibe on HDX as well.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-06-2019, 05:06 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,192
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Curios why you think you need DSP? In my opinion there aren't any DSP reverbs that can hold a candle to the new native ones, especially for example the Exponential Audio stuff like Pheonixverb and Stratus. Nothing else comes close for me.

Valhalla stuff is only stereo but sounds great, light on CPU and a bargain.

I suppose IF you have to use DSP, then ReVibe is your best bet.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-06-2019, 11:15 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 809
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
Curios why you think you need DSP? In my opinion there aren't any DSP reverbs that can hold a candle to the new native ones, especially for example the Exponential Audio stuff like Pheonixverb and Stratus. Nothing else comes close for me.

Valhalla stuff is only stereo but sounds great, light on CPU and a bargain.

I suppose IF you have to use DSP, then ReVibe is your best bet.
I do very complex stuff - very high track count music mixing, and very complex deliveries - and sometimes need tons and tons of reverbs, plus tons of other processing.

thus the need for carefully managing both native + HDX3 processing power allocation.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 01-07-2019, 12:00 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
I do very complex stuff - very high track count music mixing, and very complex deliveries - and sometimes need tons and tons of reverbs, plus tons of other processing.

thus the need for carefully managing both native + HDX3 processing power allocation.

cheers
It may be elsewhere on this post, but if not certainly on this forum. Michael Carnes has stated he's not made AAX DSP versions because fewer instances can be run compared to what is possible natively.

As for latency, DAWs such as Studio One can now have very low-latency when tracking, so guess this is down to Avid to implement. It can be done.

I'd not be surprised if HDX disapears soon, it's getting pretty old and compared to Xeons etc. is very underpowered. Avid could enable far higher track counts natively now.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-07-2019, 01:20 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 809
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
It may be elsewhere on this post, but if not certainly on this forum. Michael Carnes has stated he's not made AAX DSP versions because fewer instances can be run compared to what is possible natively.

As for latency, DAWs such as Studio One can now have very low-latency when tracking, so guess this is down to Avid to implement. It can be done.

I'd not be surprised if HDX disapears soon, it's getting pretty old and compared to Xeons etc. is very underpowered. Avid could enable far higher track counts natively now.
Certain power users who need tons of horsepower plus super high track counts plus hardware inserts that are +/- 1 sample use HDX rigs, as an HDX rig gets all the native power PLUS the HDX cards insane power.

and that is the key point - an HDX rig gets all the native power PLUS the HDX cards insane power.

HDX users such as myself wont give that up. We use all that power.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-07-2019, 01:45 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
As for latency, DAWs such as Studio One can now have very low-latency when tracking, so guess this is down to Avid to implement. It can be done.
That lowest latency in Studio One is only possible with hardware DSP found in the Presonus interfaces. They didn't re-invent the wheel. It's the same as Avid's process but located in the interface verses cards.
So you could say that Studio One implemented Pro Tools' method of low latency.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 01-08-2019, 04:20 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
Certain power users who need tons of horsepower plus super high track counts plus hardware inserts that are +/- 1 sample use HDX rigs, as an HDX rig gets all the native power PLUS the HDX cards insane power.

and that is the key point - an HDX rig gets all the native power PLUS the HDX cards insane power.

HDX users such as myself wont give that up. We use all that power.
HDX cards are about 8 years old now so certainly don't have "insane" power. Also, you can run more instances of Exponential Reverbs purely natively than you can on an HDX system. Going between native and AAX DSP plugins actually reduces the capability.

I agree HDX cards enable large count tracks, but these days that's a purely artificial limit. Back in the G4 and G5 days DSP was needed, now it's not.

Are you seriously suggesting an HDX3 has more power than a Xeon?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-08-2019, 04:23 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Best AAX DSP reverb available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
That lowest latency in Studio One is only possible with hardware DSP found in the Presonus interfaces. They didn't re-invent the wheel. It's the same as Avid's process but located in the interface verses cards.
So you could say that Studio One implemented Pro Tools' method of low latency.
Ah yeah, forgot it was in the interface. Even without that though I believe Studio One has lower roundtrip latency.

I still stand by the point that Pro Tools Ultimate is artificially limited, and if it wasn't would be far more powerful than HDX.

Found this from Michael Carnes:
Michael then responded to a comment from "Branko" making the point that if you have dedicated DSP, you can rely on that performance and know exactly how your project will behave.

Michael Carnes Dec 2013: Yes, but...

As I've indicated earlier, if you dedicated an entire HDX card to nothing but my surround reverbs at 48K, you might be able to get half a dozen copies (optimistically). Rock-solid. Dependable. Predictable. If you restrict yourself to that same number of reverbs in a native system, you'll have the same rock-solid dependability with scads of CPU left over for other stuff--like another dozen reverbs (if you're on a pure native system, make that another 3 or 4 dozen).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flux ircam reverb and session reverb klaukholm Buy & Sell 7 10-23-2013 01:42 PM
Which Reverb? TMDmedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 04-09-2007 01:24 PM
About to sell PCM91 in favuor of Ren Reverb-Reverb One - is this a mistake? hokuspocus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 04-15-2002 03:07 PM
Reverb One - Vocal Reverb advice ianmiller Tips & Tricks 2 10-28-2001 06:16 PM
About DIGI now Reverb "Reverb one" MAri Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-25-2000 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com