Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2015, 07:58 PM
Paul Cavins Paul Cavins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 328
Default FW drive won't mount when 002R is on

Hello-
I've had an 002R for years, and have used it with OWC FW drives, connected properly, iMac-FW drive- 002R.

Recently, I can't get the drive to mount when the 002 is connected and turned on.

Without the 002, the drive mounts normally.

When things aren't working, in System Report on the iMac, I get a message that reads "Unable to list firewire devices".

Thanks-

PC
__________________
I don't know karate but I know KA-RAZY!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2015, 01:24 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,025
Default Re: FW drive won't mount when 002R is on

With any 002, I suspect the power harness. Unplug(NEVER connect or disconnect the FW cable with things powered ON) the 002 and remove the top panel. With the unit facing you, the PSU is on the right side. Remove and reconnect both plastic connections on the PSU several times each(5-6 times minimum). Now trace the harness from the PSU to 2 circuit boards and work those connections the same(off and on at least 6 times). This is to scrape thru the oxidation that builds up on the pins and sockets. Replace the top, reconnect and cross your fingers
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2015, 01:43 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,594
Default Re: FW drive won't mount when 002R is on

And maybe try a little Deoxit on the connectors. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002BBVN2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2015, 05:51 PM
Paul Cavins Paul Cavins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 328
Default Re: FW drive won't mount when 002R is on

Thanks for the input. I'll give that a try--

I did go through the faulty power harness thing years back. This sound different--

Thanks--


PC
__________________
I don't know karate but I know KA-RAZY!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2015, 12:09 PM
Paul Cavins Paul Cavins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 328
Default Re: FW drive won't mount when 002R is on

Crap. I cleaned the power harness, at least at the entry part.

Further investigation leads me in a different direction.

After cleaning, still behaved the same. Checked cables.

I connected the 002r to the iMac directly via the FW800 to 400 cable. It worked.

Then I used a different drive with 002r. Still didn't work.

THEN tried to daisy-chain two FW drives together and they did NOT mount to the desktop.

So maybe my FW port isn't giving out enough juice?

Both drives are powered by wall-warts.

THanks--

PC
__________________
I don't know karate but I know KA-RAZY!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drive Won't Mount sky88dd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-28-2009 06:01 AM
FW Drive won't mount Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 10-20-2004 01:19 PM
OT: OWC Drive won't mount HELP!!! Psax2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-25-2003 07:08 PM
OT: OWC Drive won't mount HELP!!! Psax2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-25-2003 06:33 PM
UW Atto does not Mount Drive Applebee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-25-2001 10:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com