Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2011, 02:18 PM
cuibono cuibono is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles, United States
Posts: 4
Default PT will only recognize Mytek with HD3 cards in reverse order

I'm trying to interface a Mytek 8x192 with a HD3 system, on a 2010 Mac Pro. This is a clean install - the mac is brand new. I installed all the cards in the proper order (core in slot #2, and the accel cards in #3 and #4). The cards pass the DigiTest, but digitest reports the cards are in the reverse order (core in slot 2, accel cards in slots 1 and 0).

I've read that this is normal behavior. But, when I start PT, I get an error saying "Unable to find an Audio Interface attached to the first HD card. Please check power and digilink cables. Click OK to rescan".

I've looked all over the internet for solutions, and tried many of them. The only way I can get PT to recognize the Mytek is if I reverse the order of the HD3 cards (core in slot #4, accel cards in #3 and #2). When I do this, DigiTest reports that the cards are ordered correctly (core in slot 0, and accel in 1 and 2), but the cards fail the digitest. Strangely though, ProTools starts up and works fine - and it recognized the Mytek. I'm not comfortable with leaving things set up like this, and would like to see if there is another solution.

Anyone have similar problems?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2011, 06:57 PM
kooz kooz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 263
Default Re: PT will only recognize Mytek with HD3 cards in reverse order

HD3 Accel on a G5 with 3xMyteks...
your issue sounds strange...are you sure you have the TDM flex cables between core -> Accel1 and accel1 -> accel2 installed correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2011, 06:49 PM
cuibono cuibono is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles, United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT will only recognize Mytek with HD3 cards in reverse order

I've tried reversing them, and I get tons of errors. Safe to say they are in the proper order...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2011, 01:19 PM
cuibono cuibono is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles, United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT will only recognize Mytek with HD3 cards in reverse order

no others with this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2011, 11:52 AM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 422
Default Re: PT will only recognize Mytek with HD3 cards in reverse order

Previously also on a G5 w/ 3x Myteks (now in Win7)... worked fine...

It's a long-shot, but, when you switched the flex cables, did you also try switching going from the B port to the A port on the cards?

IOW, normally Core->accel1->accel2
port A->portB,
port A-> port B

Seems I remember a mobo build (win 7) that only worked when I started from the B port of the cors to the A port of accel #1.... Then again, maybe I just need to lay off the Rock !
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 6,1; 12 core; 64 Gb RAM; 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro w/ adapter & heatsink; OSX 10.14.6
PT 2019.12.0 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Eucon 19.12.0/iPad Air2/ Avid|Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2011, 12:04 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,637
Default Re: PT will only recognize Mytek with HD3 cards in reverse order

Quote:
Originally Posted by docric View Post
Previously also on a G5 w/ 3x Myteks (now in Win7)... worked fine...

It's a long-shot, but, when you switched the flex cables, did you also try switching going from the B port to the A port on the cards?

IOW, normally Core->accel1->accel2
port A->portB,
port A-> port B

Seems I remember a mobo build (win 7) that only worked when I started from the B port of the cors to the A port of accel #1.... Then again, maybe I just need to lay off the Rock !
'Normal' is actually Port B on the core to Port A on the next card. Reversing them can definitely cause problems.

Is it possible the OP has the flex cables reversed?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2011, 01:42 PM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 618
Default Re: PT will only recognize Mytek with HD3 cards in reverse order

Asuming that the Primary Port of the Protools HD DIO card is connected instead of the Expansion one_
Any chance that the EPROM of the Protools HD DIO card,or the Mytek equivalent need an upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2011, 12:57 PM
cuibono cuibono is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles, United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT will only recognize Mytek with HD3 cards in reverse order

I have tried switching the flex cables orientation. The system will not work with them in the wrong configuration.

I have the latest firmware in the Mytek. Are there firmware updates for the HD system hardware? I don't see them anywhere...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt HD9 doesn't recognize Pci Accel Cards lecreak Pro Tools 9 5 12-01-2010 09:23 AM
Order of Cards wallygrant Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 01-12-2008 03:53 PM
MBox move from 10.3 TO 10.2 (reverse order) Chris Nelson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-20-2004 06:39 AM
Correct order for PT Mix cards Captive 8 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-16-2002 01:55 AM
what order for pci cards? chuck Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 05-08-2001 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com