Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2012, 04:33 AM
Mathgamain Mathgamain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 9
Default BSoD with my new i7 build...not sure what to check next

Hey everyone,

My new i7 build is acting strange once PT9 is installed. Rolling BSoD's every few minutes so long as Pt is installed, not just when I try to run it, but when it's installed. Otherwise it's entirely stable. I've added my sandra report at the bottom. So far the BSoD's have been 7e and 10d errors.

Any advice would be welcome, my last build a few years ago worked flawlessly, but this one I'm not sure where to check or fix next.

-Andy

Here's what I've done so far and my avid hardware/software:

Avid Hardware - 003 Console
Avid Software - ProTools 9

8 gigs Corsair RAM (see Sandra rpt - I have 2 matched sticks at 8 gb, but only 1 installed right now, both memtested overnight 7 passes each and error free)
standard fw400 cable from 003 (came with the 003) to a Siig NN-E20012-S2 card

Driver's updated:

DirectX - current
Graphics - current
Network Adaptors - current
Disbale Turbo Boost and C-State - turbo off, couldn't find a c-state option
Power Options - adjusted
HD options - adjusted
processor scheduling - adjusted
screen saver off


SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Vortigern
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : OEM System Product Name
Serial Number : System Serial Number
Chassis : Desktop
Mainboard : ASUS P9X79 WS
Serial Number : ST2022003300174
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 3003 07/06/2012
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (4C 8T 3.91GHz/5.7GHz, 3.91GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 10MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA2011

Chipset
Memory Controller : ASUS Core DMI2 (Sandy Bridge-E) 103MHz
Memory Controller : ASUS Core (Sandy Bridge-E) Integrated Memory Controller Registers 103MHz, 8GB DIMM DDR3 1.65GHz 64-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-14900U DDR3-1866 (9-9-9-25 4-33-10-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : BNQ Generic PnP Monitor (1600x1200, 22.0")
Monitor/Panel : LG W2243(Digital) (1680x1050, 21.7")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti (192 SM5.0 2GHz/1.8GHz 9% OC, 1GB 4.51GHz 192-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti (192 SM5.0 2GHz/1.8GHz 9% OC, 1GB 4.51GHz 192-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti (192SP 4C 2GHz/1.8GHz 9% OC, 1GB 4.51GHz 192-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti (192SP 2GHz/1.8GHz 9% OC, 1GB 4.51GHz 192-bit)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti (192SP 4C 2GHz/1.8GHz 9% OC, 1GB 4.51GHz 192-bit)

Storage Devices
ADATA SX900 (128GB, SATA600, SSD) : 119GB (C:)
Seagate ST3250410AS (250GB, SATA150, 3.5", 16MB Cache) : 233GB (G:)
WDC WD15EADS-00P8B0 (1.5TB, SATA300, 3.5", 32MB Cache) : 1TB (F:)
Seagate ST3750640AS (750.2GB, SATA300, 3.5", 16MB Cache) : 699GB (D:)
TSSTcorpCDDVDW SH-222BB (7.5GB, SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : 7GB (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
OS SSD (C:) : 119GB (NTFS) @ ADATA SX900 (128GB, SATA600, SSD)
Archive (G:) : 233GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3250410AS (250GB, SATA150, 3.5", 16MB Cache)
Programs (F:) : 1TB (NTFS) @ WDC WD15EADS-00P8B0 (1.5TB, SATA300, 3.5", 32MB Cache)
Project (D:) : 699GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3750640AS (750.2GB, SATA300, 3.5", 16MB Cache)
Pro Tools (E:) : 7GB (CDFS) @ TSSTcorpCDDVDW SH-222BB (7.5GB, SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS Patsburg LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T0 C3-33
Audio Device : ASUS Patsburg High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Device : EVGA GF116 High Definition Audio Controller
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ASUS Patsburg 6 Port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS 88SE9128 PCIe SATA 6 Gb/s RAID controller with HyperDuo
USB Controller 1 : ASUS Patsburg USB2 Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 2 : ASUS Patsburg USB2 Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller 3 : ASUS ASMedia XHCI Controller
USB Controller 4 : ASUS ASMedia XHCI Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Avlab Technology XIO2200(A) IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 2 : Intel SNB-E XMB Ch 0 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 3 : Intel SNB-E XMB Ch 1 SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) 82574L Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet, 100Mbps)
Network Adapter : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2012, 04:39 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,590
Default Re: BSoD with my new i7 build...not sure what to check next

I see only 1 stick of RAM(I read more and now understand that part). You are running a mobo that supports quad channel RAM, so why would you not install 4 matching sticks? How far do you get with boot before the BSOD? Have you opened the monitoring section of BIOS and looked at voltages and temps(wondering if voltages are incorrect for cpu or RAM, or maybe cpu is overheating due to a cooler that is not seated correctly or maybe doesn't have thermal paste, or the fan isn't working). As part of troubleshooting, I would disconnect the 003, pull the FW card and remove anything you don't need to make the computer boot(unplug all hard drives except for C:). Once you achieve a successful boot, shutdown and add a few things and recheck.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:33 PM
Mathgamain Mathgamain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 9
Default Re: BSoD with my new i7 build...not sure what to check next

Sorry, I wasn't as clear as I should have been. When PT isn't installed on the system it runs fine. I've had it running without PT installed for 4 days now nonstop. I have paste between the cpu and fan. I only bought 2 8 gig ram modules (matched set) because I figured 16 gigs was enough for the moment, and I could upgrade that with more later on. I added a 128 gig SSD for the OS instead thinking to make the system move a bit faster.

The BSoD only happens once PT is installed. I've been installing it on drive F (Programs), keeping the SSD for the OS and anything that won't install elsewhere.

The 003 is working as my sound card flawlessly.

I haven't had a specific look at voltages, is there a good resource to see what numbers I ought to be seeing? Temps were running in the high 30's (38 celcius) on the CPU last time I checked it. I have the fan running on the cpu cooler, I have a case fan running as well. Only a 650w PSU, is that maybe a bit light?

I re-read the software install guide the other day and it mentioned installing PT, and THEN the hardware drivers. I had (without checking first I admit) installed the drivers first and then PT. Could that be the issue? (I have ridiculous work hours over the next few days and a stagehand gig with Elton John on Saturday so it won't be until Sunday that I have serious time to sit down and mess with things more)

If you still think I should strip it down to the bare bones and go from there I'll gladly give it another go. I can check voltages and temps as needed if I can find out the ranges I should be looking for as well.

Thanks for the reply so far Albee, I'm open to anything.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2012, 08:45 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,065
Default Re: BSoD with my new i7 build...not sure what to check next

Pro Tools must be installed on the OS drive, not somewhere else. Try installing it on the OS drive, doing all the Windows Optimizations recommended by Avid, starting with always running PT as Administrator and see what happens.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2012, 09:38 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: BSoD with my new i7 build...not sure what to check next

7e is typically a corrupted OS install and most common on an ssd
A 10d is typically to low CPU voltage at idle. Bump up your vcore voltage just a bit.

And as stated pt must be installed on os drive
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2012, 10:16 PM
Mathgamain Mathgamain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 9
Default Re: BSoD with my new i7 build...not sure what to check next

Huh....I didn't have it on the OS drive last time. I'll give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2012, 09:14 PM
Mathgamain Mathgamain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 9
Default Re: BSoD with my new i7 build...not sure what to check next

Hey folks, just wanted to post an update. I unexpectedly had time to mess around tonight!

Anyhow, I have PT running now; updated to 9.0.6 and working great. The problem seems to be in the SSD as suggested. I tried a clean install of win7 and then PT next on the SSD just to give it a whirl and no dice, so next I pulled the SSD from the mix and repeated the install process with win7 and then PT. Everything is playing nicely now.

I just wanted to let you guys know what I did and that it worked. None of it is likely a big surprise, but for the sake of complete reporting there it is. Thanks so much for the help and suggestions, you pointed out a few things I didn't know mattered and it made the difference clearly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build Review! Based on Mano/Ame? and SPCR Fanless build Calipoop Windows 4 11-16-2011 09:38 PM
i7 Build - BSOD james21789 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 08-24-2011 06:41 PM
Going to build an i7! Veterans can check you out this list of parts spiritfallrecording 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 02-21-2010 08:38 AM
2gb,check! firewire audio drive,check! samples.... bump!! MarkusB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-24-2007 02:25 AM
To build or not to build? Money is the question... storm-01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 09-19-2003 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com