Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2019, 02:10 AM
Itsquietloud Itsquietloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Country
Posts: 7
Default Avid HDX card not being recognized

Hi guys ,

I'm new here to avid.com but have been in recording on an amateur level a few years and thus been a regular observer of all things studio here .

I have a HDX card issue.

Up till now .I've gone thru all posts here and others online and also contacted avid approved repair / dealer but so far with no resolvement,

Heres my problem,
I recently pick up a 2nd hand avid hdx card from a third party on a buy as is ...im on protools 10hd with relevant hd driver installed
Both Mac and Pc sees the card but as an unknown device, when opening digitest, again the card as unknown is listed ...

Looking at the 'reset firmware' avid knowledge base page, it says that the card should display 1 x solid green led on face of card, and 1 x flashing green led underside,
the card I have has 2 x solid green leds lit beside each other on the face of the card and one flashing on underside, there is also another solid green led under fan housing from what observe ... maybe this indicates a prob with card ?.

firmware reset, still nothing.

The card is in very good condition and everything looks good ... quiet fan etc ..
Just thought I'd put this out there, before I pack this item off to avid approved dealer who have told me could cost a minimum of 400.00 stg ..

I'd be grateful for any advice ..
Cheers .
Dec.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2019, 06:32 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 603
Default Re: Avid HDX card not being recognized

Have you tried resetting your NVRAM and PRAM on your Mac? Hold Command, Option, P, and R after turning your computer on (before the apple startup chime happens). If you keep those keys held down, the computer should restart a couple of times... then release them and it will boot as normal.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2019, 08:18 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,544
Default Re: Avid HDX card not being recognized

What interface do you have connected to the digilink port?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2019, 02:02 PM
Itsquietloud Itsquietloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Country
Posts: 7
Default Re: Avid HDX card not being recognized

Hi Guys thanks for you're replys.
Sorry I'm only responding now .
Christopher I'm using 3 x 192 digi and although not officially supported they do work with hdx I'm told .
I also have the apogee ad16x + da16x with the xhd card firmware updated to latest version . On protools 10hd these display as avid 16x16 units .. regardless with either connected ,computer still dosent see the card ....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2019, 02:08 PM
Itsquietloud Itsquietloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Country
Posts: 7
Default Re: Avid HDX card not being recognized

Hi there ,
I haven't tried resetting that ,
I'll refit the card back into macpro and try this out .
Thanks very much guys for the advise .I ll let yous know how things work out .
Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2019, 02:26 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,544
Default Re: Avid HDX card not being recognized

Yeah Let us know as we probably have more ideas to try out.

Thanks for the info aswell. The older 192 and 96 interfaces works great with HDX and HDN/TBolt cards so just wanted to make sure you had an interface connected for PT to see the HDX card.

If none of the ideas work I would try moving the card to a different slot. This has helped before so worth a try.

There is another thread here : http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=404922

Similar issue and might be worth a looksee ... And not to mention both you guys have almost the same user name
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-27-2019, 02:39 PM
Itsquietloud Itsquietloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Country
Posts: 7
Default Re: Avid HDX card not being recognized

Hey thanks for the quick reply Christopher .
Yes I have tried different slots in both pc and mac initially with no success.
Im gonna try resetting the nvpram thing on mac hopefully if i get time (as advised by little devil studios )..
I'll check out the link you've sent .. thanks again Christopher.

Best.
Declan.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2019, 02:45 PM
Itsquietloud Itsquietloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Country
Posts: 7
Default Re: Avid HDX card not being recognized

If I get time tomorrow that is !!!!!
Similiar name as rite ..lol 😀😀😀
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-27-2019, 02:59 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,544
Default Re: Avid HDX card not being recognized

Great! Keep us informed so we can sort this out for you.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-2019, 02:42 AM
Itsquietloud Itsquietloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Country
Posts: 7
Default Re: Avid HDX card not being recognized

Hi Guys, sorry for very late reply again !!!!

Tried by resetting NVRAM and PRAM on mac after physical reinstalling the card but no success , the mac is not see the card as an Avid device.
As explained earlier there are 2 x solid green leds lit on top side of the card, I wonder does that signify anything , from other descriptions I've read , I think there should be only one ......

Again sorry for getting back so late ,haven't had a chance to get back to this until yesterday .

Declan.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDX card not recognized in Mac Pro paulschwotzer Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 12-10-2018 01:45 PM
HDX card not recognized JSeamster Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 14 11-14-2018 03:56 PM
HD3 3rd card not recognized dhumez Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 12-29-2011 01:09 PM
192 not recognized from Core card, but IS from Accel Card. Advice? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-24-2010 09:14 PM
DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX??? soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 01-27-2004 02:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com