Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2019, 02:43 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,104
Default Pro Tools created audio files & suffixes …?

Was there a time when PT didn’t add the suffix “.aif” to audio files it created in aif format sessions?
And if so, at what PT version did that change & the suffix began to be added?
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.11.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.5 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2019, 03:13 PM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 60
Default Re: Pro Tools created audio files & suffixes …?

Are you talking about when viewing the files outside of ProTools? I believe file extensions have always been part of these audio files; .aif or .wav for example, but on a Mac you have the option to not see them...

From the Finder menu >> Preferences >> Advanced tab >> select or deselect "Show all filename extensions".
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2019, 04:00 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,017
Default Pro Tools created audio files & suffixes …?

I think OS9 and before Windows compatibility Pro Tools didn’t add the suffixes. Type and creator were stored in the resource fork.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2019, 11:27 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Pro Tools created audio files & suffixes …?

Quote:
Originally Posted by _JJ_ View Post
Are you talking about when viewing the files outside of ProTools? I believe file extensions have always been part of these audio files; .aif or .wav for example, but on a Mac you have the option to not see them...



From the Finder menu >> Preferences >> Advanced tab >> select or deselect "Show all filename extensions".


Hi JJ.
Yes. Viewing in the Finder.
I am aware of the show extensions options.
Thank you
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.11.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.5 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2019, 11:31 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Pro Tools created audio files & suffixes …?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
I think OS9 and before Windows compatibility Pro Tools didn’t add the suffixes. Type and creator were stored in the resource fork.


Hi TJ.
Yes, that sounds about right.
Like way back, PT 5 maybe.
We have some aif sessions that have gone into s NAS which is seeing the aif files as Unix Executable & thus the sessions when opened won’t link the audio.
Gonna have to add the suffixes I think.
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.11.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.5 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2019, 11:59 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,017
Default Re: Pro Tools created audio files & suffixes …?

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Gonna have to add the suffixes I think.

Might work. Just remember that aif files were originally big endian. Now, they've secretly been redesignated as aifc-sowt keeping just the aif suffix and swapped to little endian.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2019, 03:00 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Pro Tools created audio files & suffixes …?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Might work. Just remember that aif files were originally big endian. Now, they've secretly been redesignated as aifc-sowt keeping just the aif suffix and swapped to little endian.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Adding the suffix works.
But please do tell more about this secret redesign & little endian.
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.11.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.5 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Files Folder..Not Created?. pguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-07-2008 09:02 PM
Large audio files being created twixer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-27-2006 11:36 PM
no "renamed audio files" folder is being created tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 06-18-2006 10:29 PM
no audio files being created laozi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-26-2005 04:33 PM
Huge audio files created on crash!?!? Anibal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-19-2001 08:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com