Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-27-2019, 09:45 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,100
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard901 View Post
I'm not an expert at AppleScript - I use Google to search for websites and posts on forums about how to use AppleScript. I then try to modify the scripts.

Sorry if my screenshots contain your original work. I will delete them if you want.




Great!!! Can you post a screenshot of how to do this?
No screenshot but the code:

Code:
tell application "System Events"
	set frontmost of process "Pro Tools" to true
	tell process "Pro Tools"
		try
			click menu item "Reverse" of menu 1 of menu item "Other" of menu "AudioSuite" of menu bar 1
			repeat until exists (1st window whose name is "Audio Suite: Reverse") -- We wait for the AudioSuite "Reverse" plug-in window to open
				delay 0.1
			end repeat
		on error e number n
			tell application "Pro Tools"
				activate
				display alert e & " (" & n & ")" message "An Error Occurred" buttons ["Cancel"] default button 1
			end tell
		end try
		-- Add any other AppleScript code here...
	end tell
end tell

Last edited by Oliver M; 07-28-2019 at 03:12 AM. Reason: Corrected a typo.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-27-2019, 11:28 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 485
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
No screenshot but the code:

Code:
tell application "System Events"
	set frontmost of process "Pro Tools" to true
	tell process "Pro Tools"
		try
			click menu item "Reverse" of menu 1 of menu item "Other" of menu "AudioSuite" of menu bar 1
			repeat until exists (1st window whose name is "Audio Suite: Reverse") -- We wait for the AudioSuite "Reverb" plug-in window to open
				delay 0.1
			end repeat
		on error e number n
			tell application "Pro Tools"
				activate
				display alert e & " (" & n & ")" message "An Error Occurred" buttons ["Cancel"] default button 1
			end tell
		end try
		-- Add any other AppleScript code here...
	end tell
end tell
Works perfectly!!!
Thanks very much.
__________________
Pro Tools 2023.9
Ventura 13.6
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-27-2019, 02:00 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,100
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard901 View Post
Works perfectly!!!
Thanks very much.
I had a typo in my code but it was in a comment section only.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-28-2019, 12:46 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 485
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
I had a typo in my code but it was in a comment section only.
Thanks for the info.
__________________
Pro Tools 2023.9
Ventura 13.6
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-28-2019, 10:55 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,100
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard901 View Post
thanks for the info.
👍
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-27-2019, 10:41 AM
improvpwnd improvpwnd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 69
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
No screenshot but the code:

Code:
tell application "System Events"
	set frontmost of process "Pro Tools" to true
	tell process "Pro Tools"
		try
			click menu item "Reverse" of menu 1 of menu item "Other" of menu "AudioSuite" of menu bar 1
			repeat until exists (1st window whose name is "Audio Suite: Reverse") -- We wait for the AudioSuite "Reverse" plug-in window to open
				delay 0.1
			end repeat
		on error e number n
			tell application "Pro Tools"
				activate
				display alert e & " (" & n & ")" message "An Error Occurred" buttons ["Cancel"] default button 1
			end tell
		end try
		-- Add any other AppleScript code here...
	end tell
end tell
Could you please add a script after this to "Render" Or "Send" (RX Connect)?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-18-2020, 12:27 PM
JonReznor JonReznor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Hey all,
I'm trying to use the same language used above to hit the SEND button in RX7 Connect (swapping out RENDER for SEND doesn't want to work!), and similarly the same thing for "LEARN" on the Ambience Match module. I was hoping I could simply swap out what buttons I wanted to hit, but no dice.

Very new to this, and glad to see the previous posts to get me up to speed.
Got my Stream Deck mostly filled, just working on AMB Match and Connect!

PS- a learning curve for me in menus was that it is very much Cap Sensitive. Wasted a lot of time with that one.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-24-2020, 01:50 PM
JonReznor JonReznor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Hi all!
I was hoping I would be able to alter that script to click the SEND button on my RX Connect Audio Suite (or even the LEARN button on AMB Match) but no such luck - this is how I tried it:

activate application "Pro Tools"
tell application "System Events"
tell process "Pro Tools"
tell (1st window whose name contains "Audio Suite") to click button "SEND" -- SEND button
end tell
end tell

I get the following error -
text-script:149:168: execution error: System Events got an error: Can't get button "Send" of window 1 of process "Pro Tools" whose name contains "Audio Suite". (-1728)
Macro "RX 7 CONNECT" cancelled (while executing Execute AppleScript).

(I did play with capitalization for SEND / Send as I found that capitalization does affect the way these scripts read menus, etc).

Anyone have any tips on where I can find more info on selecting certain buttons on Audiosuite with this?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-25-2020, 02:01 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 485
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonReznor View Post
Hi all!
I was hoping I would be able to alter that script to click the SEND button on my RX Connect Audio Suite (or even the LEARN button on AMB Match) but no such luck - this is how I tried it:

activate application "Pro Tools"
tell application "System Events"
tell process "Pro Tools"
tell (1st window whose name contains "Audio Suite") to click button "SEND" -- SEND button
end tell
end tell

I get the following error -
text-script:149:168: execution error: System Events got an error: Can't get button "Send" of window 1 of process "Pro Tools" whose name contains "Audio Suite". (-1728)
Macro "RX 7 CONNECT" cancelled (while executing Execute AppleScript).

(I did play with capitalization for SEND / Send as I found that capitalization does affect the way these scripts read menus, etc).

Anyone have any tips on where I can find more info on selecting certain buttons on Audiosuite with this?
It could be that the "code" button name in AudioSuite might not be the same as the one that is shown on the screen.
The Accessibility Inspector in Xcode can be used to find the the real name.

1. Download Xcode from the App Store - it's free.

2. Open Xcode and then select the menu item Xcode/Open Developer Tool/Accessibility Inspector.

3. Click the Start Inspection Follows Point button at the top of the Accessibility Inspector window. You can hover the mouse pointer over the buttons to show which is which.

4. Move your mouse pointer over an AudioSuite button. It should turn green. You will see its name in the Accessibility Inspector window under Basic/Title.
__________________
Pro Tools 2023.9
Ventura 13.6
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-26-2020, 01:05 PM
JonReznor JonReznor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Soft Keys/Macros for rendering Audio Suite

Richard, great advice.
For anyone barking down this rabbit hole, the SEND button for RX 7 Connect is actually titled "Analyze". Swapping that into my script worked!
Bonus- the LEARN button on Ambience Match is also titled Analyze
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Adress Function Keys >F12 from the S6 (Soft Keys) innenhofstudios Avid S4/S6 3 05-08-2019 06:34 AM
Soft Keys spoons Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 13 10-21-2016 07:37 AM
Why no Soft Keys on S3? jacko Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 15 02-09-2016 07:43 PM
Soft Key Macros BobbyDazzler Artist Series 2 11-04-2012 08:43 AM
custom "quick keys" or macros jahhn Post - Surround - Video 0 01-14-2005 06:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com