Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2019, 09:12 AM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default How to Send MIDI Program Change from PT to GigRig-G2

I'm experimenting with a piece of music where I'd like Pro Tools to trigger a program change on my GigRig G2 in my pedalboard at a certain point, switching the pedals chain, all toward fully automating the performance. I'm having trouble finding any clear information on just how this would be done, though. I'm assuming it would begin with a MIDI track with a MIDI note of a specific value at the proper place in the timeline, but can't quite put the whole scenario together.

If anyone has any experience with this to share, or can point me in the direction of good documentation, I'd hugely appreciate it.

Thanks.
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
2TB Internal Fusion Drive
2 4TB External Drives with Mirrored Backups
2 External Monitors: 27" & 65"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2019, 08:08 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,190
Default Re: How to Send MIDI Program Change from PT to GigRig-G2

I don't know exactly for your situation, but I would start with setting the MIDI output channel in the Instruments settings on the MIDI/Instrument track and set it to the correct MIDI output port.
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2019, 12:38 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: How to Send MIDI Program Change from PT to GigRig-G2

Open the Event List for your MIDI track and insert a Program Change.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI program change thin ice Pro Tools 11 4 09-18-2014 01:50 AM
Program change via MIDI on PT7 JSPurcell Tips & Tricks 1 09-12-2010 11:19 PM
MIDI "program change" send=buffer overflow on target triplex Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-01-2010 03:14 AM
midi program change porkipine MIDI 3 05-14-2005 04:52 AM
Midi Program Change Bug? Nocturnal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-28-2002 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com