Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2018, 11:32 AM
quangaroo quangaroo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
Default Two Computers share one Digi 003?

Is it possible to utilize both firewire ports on a Digi 003 Rack to connect two computers? Or would this cause problems with the internal clock setting?

The two Mac Pros I would be connecting would not be running Pro Tools simultaneously.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2012) | OS X 10.10.5 | 32GB RAM // Pro Tools 12.7.0 | Digi 003 Rack | Digi 003 Rack+
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2018, 11:41 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,858
Default Re: Two Computers share one Digi 003?

Won't work. You can only have one host on a FireWire bus. The extra port is so you can chain more FireWire devices.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.7, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
[/I]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2018, 10:00 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,244
Default Re: Two Computers share one Digi 003?

What he said^^^^ but wait! There's more! Just in case you are new to this stuff, be aware that hot-patching(connecting or disconnecting) the FW cable on 002 or 003 can, and usually will fry the FW chip in the unit, or the computer, or even both(learned the hard way). Always have the computer and 003 turned OFF when making/breaking the FW connection.

Now that the warning is out of the way, what's the goal here? What were you wanting to do?(maybe there's another way)
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2018, 09:51 AM
quangaroo quangaroo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
Default Re: Two Computers share one Digi 003?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
What he said^^^^ but wait! There's more! Just in case you are new to this stuff, be aware that hot-patching(connecting or disconnecting) the FW cable on 002 or 003 can, and usually will fry the FW chip in the unit, or the computer, or even both(learned the hard way). Always have the computer and 003 turned OFF when making/breaking the FW connection.

Now that the warning is out of the way, what's the goal here? What were you wanting to do?(maybe there's another way)

Thanks for the input! The goal: I have another Mac Pro with mulitple OS's I wanted to use just for testing PT. I thought there might be an easy way to share a single 003 unit (it's already hooked up to the mics my recording booth).
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2012) | OS X 10.10.5 | 32GB RAM // Pro Tools 12.7.0 | Digi 003 Rack | Digi 003 Rack+
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 on non-Avid-qualified computers: Share your experience! katerkarlo Pro Tools Software (Win) 15 01-22-2011 12:38 PM
share hardware between computers/users? bendybones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-27-2010 05:14 PM
Digi hardware - bizarre behavior - Digi you will lose this market share andre67 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 02-26-2010 08:45 PM
Just thought id share this with you.. email.. digi fabpab 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-13-2005 10:37 AM
share Mbox/PT-LE with 2 computers? birddogman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-03-2003 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com