Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #291  
Old 10-14-2013, 10:36 AM
sonorelli sonorelli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 61
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaquilato View Post
PT10HD4 and the P75 work fine together. I posted my setup build on TonyMac.

The P75 MB is smaller than the H55 so things are tight.

You give up Firewire but you get an onboard USB3 header. I added a Sata controller card and a USB3/USB2 front port interface so I could use the onboard USB3 header and have e-Sata options as well.

My next upgrade will be to switch out my 16GB of RAM for 32GB.
Do you use the mSata socket? I was wondering if that helps system performance. How about the onboard SATA connectors, are they blocked by the HD cards?
__________________
Sonorelli
HD3 Accel PCI-x, Pro Tools 10.3.9 HD, OSX 10.8.5
Hackintosh - Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3, i7-870 2.93 GHz, 16GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 10-14-2013, 11:00 AM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 91
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonorelli View Post
Do you use the mSata socket? I was wondering if that helps system performance. How about the onboard SATA connectors, are they blocked by the HD cards?
Yes, I have a 256GB m-sata SSD and it works great.
Not as fast as my primary SSD but that is connected to Sata 0 which is faster.
m-Sata is 3Gb transfer speed. Sata 0 on the MB is 6Gb.
Needless to say with the i7 3770K the OS loads in less than 5 seconds with either drive. It's faster than the i7 875k on the old H55.

Only Sata 3 is blocked by the PCIx card. It's at the end of the card so I just pushed it over a little and I am using that port with no problem.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 10-18-2013, 10:01 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 872
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Hi all, i'm really praying someone can help me here.

I've had a rig running 10.6.4/PTHD 8 for three years now & it's been fine, less trouble than some macs i've owned in fact.

Motherboard is : GA-EP45-UD3R, 1 core card, 2 Accel cards

I recently had the guy who built it for me install 10.8.4 on third internal data drive. After the usual fiddling (had to add a newer graphics card), everything boots fine on that.

After installing pro tools HD 10.3 HD however, the machine freezes on startup, with the error coming down to the dreaded 'Digidal.kext' extension.

Taking the extension out, all is fine again, & PT10 even boots in native mode.

Put the 'Digidal.kext' back in however (using one of the extension wizards, cleaning the caches, repairing permissions etc) & the machine dies during the boot process.

Has anyone got any suggestions how I can make this single extension stick?

A bottle of something nice delivered to the first person who can suggest a fix that works ! :):)

Help me DUC, you are my only hope...
__________________
Studio A: Mac Pro 12 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID I/O 16xanalog i/o x2 , Benchmark DAC1, 32 Fader Procontrol
Studio B: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel , 192-Digitalx2, Apogee+Audient/Converters
Home: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel. 96 i/o (Dual boot with) OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Mobile: 2017 Macbook Pro, OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 12-03-2013, 03:41 PM
JOCKER's Avatar
JOCKER JOCKER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Uberlandia - Minas Gerais
Posts: 12
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by freddarr View Post
Hi Protoolers!!! This is my guide for 10.7.4 In'm not using the internal graphics, I believe Jim is.
Im using a Zotac 8400GS 512 Ddr2.
The internal one gave me a headache. I had a backup disk with 10.7.4, the one I'm using now, to work with the Zotac gpu
Im using a Pci HD2


Update Bios
For the bios update you need a windows machine and format your pen drive MS Dos (fat 32)
You can find the win 98 boot system files here
http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=196
Copy COMMAND.COM, IO.SYS and MSDOS.SYS to a new folder on desktop and name it boot then open the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8
(get it from here http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=197 )

Select your pen drive
file system FAt 32
Quick format
Create a DOS startup disk
using DOS system files loaded at
browse for boot folder on desktop and hit start.
After the boot flash is done
Extract the BA92AA06.zip http://www.jetway.com.tw/jw/download...&downtype=BIOS
Copy those files to the pendrive
Now got to your Hack and boot from the USB Flash drive

Thanks to Jimdrake
Type: AFU234 BA92AA06.BIN /P /B /N

Bios settings
Advanced Menu
ACPI Settings ----> ACPI Sleep State S3
All Com ports, Parallel port, CIR Controller Disable
SATA Mode---> AHCI Mode
CPU Configuration ---> HT Enable

Chipset Menu ---> North Bridge
LOW MMIO Align 1024M
VT-d Enable
Initiate Graphics Adapter PGE/IGD
IGD Memory Disable
IGD Multi-Monitor Disable

Boot Unibeast, Install Lion
Update 10.7.4 (I’ve notice the top Ethernet card works before installing Multibeast. Didn’t test the low one.)

Create your DSDT
Thanks to Schnabelmann

DSDT Fixer, get DSDT, Lets add some hack, select IQR, DTGP, Gigabyte Hpet and Speedstep fix, patch it, and compile. Move the DSDT.aml to Desktop.
Install Multibeast 4.5.2 UserDSDT, System Utilities, FakeSMC, NullCPUPowerManagement, PCI Root ID Fix, 64-bit Graphics Enabler = No, Mac mini, Chimera.
Reboot.

If you have a boot0 error like I did.
Skip this step if boot normally.

There is and easy way to fix it. Download chimera standalone. Open Pacifist and drag and drop Chimera to it. Extract the usr folder to a flash drive.
Boot Unibeast, remember to have connected the flash drive with the usr folder.
In the Lion Installation window open Disk Utility (Write down your Macintosh HD Disk identifier, right click information, in my case disk0s2)
Unmount your Macintosh HD.

Thanks to MacMan

Open Terminal and type
dd if=/Volumes/(name of flash drive)/usr/standalone/i386/boot1h of=/dev/disk0s2
hit Enter, close terminal and reboot normally.

Via Audio
Thanks JimmyCypherz for the link

With Kext Wizard install the ViaHDA.kext
get it from here http://www.osx86.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=599

Top Ethernet
Thanks to Jimdrake

Go to S/L/E look for IONetworkingFamily.Kext,Show Package Contents, Contents/Plugins/Intel82574L, Show Package Contents, Contents/Info.Plist open with Text

Find this line <string>0x104b8086 0x10f68086</string>
and replace it with this <string>0x10D38086 0x104b8086 0x10f68086</string>
Save

Repair Permissions and rebuild cache with Kext Wizard
Open Multibeast, select system Utilities & 3rd Party Sata (to get rid of the yellow color hard drive)
Reboot

Install Protools HD
Copy from S/L/E Digidal.kext to Desktop and then trash the Digidal from S/L/E
Repair Permissions and rebuild cache
Reboot

Thanks to Genzai

Install your Digidal.kext to S/L/E
and add to your org.chameleon.Boot, add the following kernel flag: UseKernelCache=Yes

<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>

I’ve notice the new Multibeast 4.5.2 comes with this feature in Boot Options

Repair Permissions and rebuild cache

Reboot
And Start Recording and Mixing

No Ilok problem so far, RTAS and TDM plugs works great.
Good luck!!!
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 12-03-2013, 03:43 PM
JOCKER's Avatar
JOCKER JOCKER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Uberlandia - Minas Gerais
Posts: 12
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

HI FREDARR,

WRITE WRONG SORRY, I'M USING GOOGLE TRANSLATOR



I BOUGHT A MOTHERBOARD JETWAY MAKES MORE THAN A YEAR, SO NOW I am CAN INSTALL THE SYSTEM ... Migrating MY CARD PCIX G5 ...

ALSO HAVE NVIDIA 8400 GS, AND INTEL 3770K ....


HAVE DIFFICULTIES IN UNDERSTANDING THE ISSUES DSDT .... I THINK THAT IS HARD TO ME ....

YOU HAVE ANY DMG FILE WITH BASIC INSTALLATION OF THIS SYSTEM WITH JETWAY? IF YOU CAN HELP ME would greatly appreciate it ....

THANK YOU

borbaonline@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 05-03-2014, 09:55 AM
Moondog Moondog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Hi All,

Apologies for resurrecting an old thread, but hopefully others will find this helpful as well. I'm having trouble getting off the ground with my new Jetway NAF93-Q77 motherboard. This is meant to be ideal as it has 4 x PCI slots for my ageing Pro Tools HD cards.

I have changed the most obvious ACHI bios settings etc, but this board is way different to the standard Gigabyte boards I've been used to.

It is simply not booting from Chimera, just flashing up the apple screen briefly before rebooting. Have tried the onboard HD4000 graphics, plus two other cards - all the same result. Which leads me to think that there are still some hidden bios settings I've missed. Just to be clear, this is a bare board with just CPU, graphics, RAM and SSD, all other onboard stuff disabled.

Does anyone have any experience with booting from this board? Or any other ideas? I need 10.7 as it is the highest that Pro Tools 9 will accept, and the lowest that other software I use needs!

M/B: Jetway NAF93-Q77
CPU: i7 3770k
RAM: 8Gb Crucial 1033 DDR3
HDD: 480Gb Crucial SSD

Booting from unibeast created Lion USB stick.

Many thanks in advance to all!

Moon
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 05-03-2014, 10:04 AM
fatcode fatcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 74
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Freddar guide for the Jetway BIOS is here

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=308489&page=13

If you follow that it should work.

I could not get the Jetway to work well with Lion or Mountain Lion (worked 100% with SL) - I had USB issues. Apparently something to do with cards revision but I am not sure. I've went back to Gigabyte...
__________________
GA-H55-USB3
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD|3

Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
i5-750
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD 'Native' (no cards)
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 05-03-2014, 10:33 AM
Moondog Moondog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Hi Fatcode,

Thanks for the link. This is a more modern board I'm using though, the Ivy Bridge Jetway NAF93-Q77 (it is mentioned in thread, but just with no bios settings stated).

I know others have got it going, but I can't see their settings or flags.

The Gigabyte you are using would be easier to set up, but it doesn't look like it would fit 3 PCI HD cards without some serious hackwork with a dremmel!

Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Moon
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 05-03-2014, 10:47 AM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 91
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

I'm gonna chime in here and hopefully not throw you a curve ball.
I opted for the Gigabyte GA-P75-D3 when doing my research about upgrading from my HD3 to HD4 Hack. It is a very stable build and again Freddar has outlined his build with great detail.
Although I had some problems with my monitors (getting two working) once I got past that my system has been stable and running fast as an Antelope.

There are quite a few boards on evilBay at the moment for less than $100US.

http://www.ebay.com/ctg/Gigabyte-Tec..._all_qqq_37067

Not sure if this is an option for you but I wanted to throw it out.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 05-04-2014, 02:56 PM
sonorelli sonorelli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 61
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moondog View Post
Hi Fatcode,

Thanks for the link. This is a more modern board I'm using though, the Ivy Bridge Jetway NAF93-Q77 (it is mentioned in thread, but just with no bios settings stated).

I know others have got it going, but I can't see their settings or flags.

The Gigabyte you are using would be easier to set up, but it doesn't look like it would fit 3 PCI HD cards without some serious hackwork with a dremmel!

Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Moon
I agree that the Jetway NAF93-Q77 is a more modern board, and others have it working. I've considered moving to that board. But the Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3 has been flawless for me. I'm running Mountain Lion 10.8.5 and Pro Tools 10.3.8 with an HD3 Accel and its very stable. No hackwork or Dremmel tool needed to make the cards fit. And all SATA onboard connectors are accessible.

I would not recommend a new build with this mobo GA-H55-USB3, but it works very well.
__________________
Sonorelli
HD3 Accel PCI-x, Pro Tools 10.3.9 HD, OSX 10.8.5
Hackintosh - Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3, i7-870 2.93 GHz, 16GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh for Pro Tools 7 - 7.4 anybody ? zavid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-19-2014 03:51 PM
Hackintosh Problem pocketcalc macOS 2 07-08-2012 05:35 PM
Hackintosh with PT9 HD Native? PMedia macOS 9 07-11-2011 09:12 AM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 03:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com