Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-20-2016, 11:27 AM
littlesicily littlesicily is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 227
Default Re: Going from D-Command to S3 + Dock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
Yes. The icon series is EOL in 2018 but that doesn't mean it won't work. Procontrols worked for 5 years after its EOL date. I will say Avid seems to be moving fast lastly so maybe 5 years of icons functioning isn't realistic.
Do you think buying a D-Comm at this point is still a good option knowing the end is somewhat in sight?
__________________
PT Ultimate 2018.12, HD Native TB, HD I/O 16x16 x2, Mac mini 2018 3.2GHz 6-core, OSX 10.14.2, EuControl 3.7 w/ Avid S3, UAD-2 TB octo
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-20-2016, 12:39 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Going from D-Command to S3 + Dock

It's a great idea depending on your end desire.....

A great price on that unit is a good deal...I would say less than 2k for a Blue is a good deal


I debated going that route, but I have decided that when the situation (i.e. Money) arises I will go with the s3.

Eucon is really cool and super configurable

If your going to park a system - icon is proven stable and therefore you wouldn't need software updates to provide features
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.

Last edited by YYR123; 11-20-2016 at 05:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-19-2017, 12:49 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 107
Default Re: Going from D-Command to S3 + Dock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
I'm hoping for an S6MKII myself.
Absolutely true! same for the S3 and the whole Fisher Price series. Seems like the whole new generation Avid controllers was purely developed for/by wannabe singer-songwriters, only aimed at impressing the girl next door by showing off Vegas mode.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-19-2017, 01:22 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Going from D-Command to S3 + Dock

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlesicily View Post
Do you think buying a D-Comm at this point is still a good option knowing the end is somewhat in sight?
Well, I'm going to put my plans into perspective here.
I make a living of mixing music.
Currently thanks to mass hysteria of upgrading to the newest versions of Pro Tools I built an HD5 Accel Magma rig with a Mac Pro and a Control 24 for around $1700 USD total. I'll be using 7.4 on that rig because I still base my workflow on features from that era. This is only for my assistant. I'll keep on using my 24 fader D-Command, most likely with 7.4 too.

So, imagine you buy a D-Command today. Let's say Pro Tools 13 will be the last to support ICON. I'm sure you'll be fine with Pro Tools 13 for many many years. Just hope it's going to work without major problems until 2025 or 2030. They're not gonna come up with anything revolutionary that will beat D-Command or Control 24 efficiency in a typical studio environment anytime soon.
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).

Last edited by jacko; 01-19-2017 at 01:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-02-2017, 06:55 AM
amolin amolin is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 193
Default Re: Going from D-Command to S3 + Dock

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko View Post
They're not gonna come up with anything revolutionary that will beat D-Command or Control 24 efficiency in a typical studio environment anytime soon.
Sorry to say, but the S6 beats the D-Command in efficiency, any day. I have had a D-Command, and now a S6, so have worked a lot with both.
__________________
- Anders
Beat The Mic Sound Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OWC's TB2 dock YYR123 General Discussion 3 11-19-2014 06:39 AM
bouncing on dock Tina Meazell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-06-2009 04:15 PM
Plug-ins in dock shadowbox Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-05-2003 10:39 PM
T20 dock??? babilonburning 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-18-2000 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com