Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-11-2011, 04:31 PM
airon airon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 547
Default Re: **PT10 Bug - Pencil Tool/Clip Gain

I'll be testing the trial as soon as possible for dialogue editing.

And I'll be looking at this bug for sure. Bug or workflow problem, this needs to be solved very quickly. Unsolved, this would be a deal breaker.
__________________
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-12-2011, 03:38 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,446
Default Re: **PT10 Bug - Pencil Tool/Clip Gain

I wonder what happens if you bypass the clip-gain, pencil, and un-bypass clip gain? would that work as a fairly quick work-around?
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-12-2011, 06:03 AM
KK Proffitt KK Proffitt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Music Row, Nashville
Posts: 420
Default Re: **PT10 Bug - Pencil Tool/Clip Gain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
I wonder what happens if you bypass the clip-gain, pencil, and un-bypass clip gain? would that work as a fairly quick work-around?
Doesn't that reduce the waveform view also? In my case I wouldn't be able to see the click then. I could set zoom buttons, but again, this starts to be a multi-step workaround that is getting very far away from what the pencil tool used to be.
__________________
KK Proffitt
President, JamSync®
www.jamsync.com
www.tnfilmlocations.com
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-12-2011, 07:47 PM
soundeditor76 soundeditor76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 39
Default Re: **PT10 Bug - Pencil Tool/Clip Gain

I have a solution, pencil out your pops before you use clip gain. PT10 is a great update, totally worth it. I'm cutting DX faster just as a result of it's snappiness. I laugh when I read the "deal breaker" posts, to each is own. I upgraded and couldn't be happier. Sure there's bugs, but overall less buggy than 9.0.5. To me this release seems more solid than any release I can remember. The bugs will be fixed, in the mean time I'll continue using it, even though I can't pencil after I clip gain...
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-19-2011, 09:22 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: **PT10 Bug - Pencil Tool/Clip Gain

Thank you to the OP for posting this bug early. I recently ran into this bug and I am hoping the early discovery by others has got this bug fix in the next update. Does anyone know if DigiTech/Avid acknowledged this bug yet?
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-21-2011, 04:38 AM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: **PT10 Bug - Pencil Tool/Clip Gain

Would be nice to know when the pencil tool will be fixed, its starting to become a bit of a drag when you're cleaning dialog all day.
I manage to redraw a clip gained click today by drawing the line with an offset, but now i'm wondering if the parent clip will now be screwed up?
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:04 PM
esamuelson esamuelson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Smile Re: **PT10 Bug - Pencil Tool/Clip Gain

I have had a play to get around this pencil clip gain bug. The first of my solutions is only useful if you have under +12db of clip gain.
Select the clip (or whole track) and in the view/Clips/unselect Clip Gain Line.
Then in the Edit/Automation /click on Coalesce Clip Gain to Volume Automation.
This removes all the clip gain while keeping your mix levels.The pencil tool can be used normally.You can then Coalesce the volume back to clip gain if you wish once you have finished with the pencil.
If your clip gain peaks over +12db , make a copy of the whole track then do the above to this copy (the volume information will be clipped at +12). When you draw on the copy, the origional waveform will be drawn on as well.
When you are finished drawing out clicks, the copy track can be deleted, and the origional will not have the clicks.


ps the protools 10.1.1 fixes this problem
Thanks guys

Last edited by esamuelson; 03-21-2012 at 01:49 AM. Reason: problem fixed
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:24 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 505
Default Re: **PT10 Bug - Pencil Tool/Clip Gain

Quote:
Originally Posted by esamuelson View Post
I have had a play to get around this pencil clip gain bug. The first of my solutions is only useful if you have under +12db of clip gain.
Select the clip (or whole track) and in the view/Clips/unselect Clip Gain Line.
Then in the Edit/Automation /click on Coalesce Clip Gain to Volume Automation.
This removes all the clip gain while keeping your mix levels.The pencil tool can be used normally.You can then Coalesce the volume back to clip gain if you wish once you have finished with the pencil.
If your clip gain peaks over +12db , make a copy of the whole track then do the above to this copy (the volume information will be clipped at +12). When you draw on the copy, the origional waveform will be drawn on as well.
When you are finished drawing out clicks, the copy track can be deleted, and the origional will not have the clicks.



whoa!
All that just to take out a click/pop?

Will this be addressed in the next upgrade?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pencil Tool- Wave Form Editing in PT10 mauiboy macOS 2 06-13-2012 02:35 PM
Pencil tool and Clip Gain mattrixx Pro Tools 10 2 03-15-2012 10:43 PM
Clip Gain and Pencil - Bug tj_davies Pro Tools 10 3 02-06-2012 04:27 AM
PT10 Clip gain bug? dterry Windows 0 10-23-2011 01:11 PM
clip fixes with pencil tool davidp158 Tips & Tricks 3 03-29-2001 08:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com