Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2012, 02:13 PM
vans316 vans316 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 41
Default 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

I've posted this in case anyone else has run into the same frustration as me with Pro Tools 10 and 003 rack,. A response from Avid on this would be warmly welcomed.

I was having a few issues with the initial 10 upgrade, so was happy when the 10.1.2 update became available and was deemed to be qualified to run on Lion 10.7.3. I use a mac Pro (8 processors, 12GB Ram, Lion OSX 10.7.3),,.. and as far as my 003 and pro tools set up goes, it all worked fine,,but now a new problem in that the Avid core audio manager 'quits unexpectedly' and crashes apps on my computer when trying to configure with them. I use a Black lion audio 003 signature mod, which as well as PTs, I also use it for all output from my computer i.e. safari, spotify, iTunes, CD's etc etc... I have tried to figure out getting it to work, trashing prefs, reinstalling the driver, all the usual stuff, but have now given up and admitted defeat on this occasion and clean unistalled Pro tools 10.

As soon as I reinstalled the Digidesign core manager and pro tools 9.0.6, no problems. It all worked a dream. A shame because Pro Tools 10 was looking promising, and it also cost me a lot of money to go for the upgrade, I was hesitant, and wished I hadn't bothered. Obviously the main thing for me is that pro tools seemed to work well since the 10.1.2 upgrade, but all the other uses for the 003 are very important to me. I can't exactly go out and buy a second interface just for the computer outputs...! All my music, and reference material is on my computer as 16bit WAVs which is very important to hear that day to day coming out of the same system as I mix and master on..

Anyway, had enough now. Back to PT 9 until they provide better support for 003 racks, if ever,,... Hoping for a 002-003 rack driver update please AVID? Then I can make use of Pro Tools 10 which cost me £££'s
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2012, 02:28 PM
ripekeai ripekeai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 148
Default Re: 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

Same issues here!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2012, 01:59 AM
colinmansfield colinmansfield is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 183
Default Re: 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

... And here:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=321085
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Colin Mansfield

Mac Pro, 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB RAM, OS X 10.8.5
PT 10.3.10, cheapo Behringer interface (because my Digi 002 Rack stopped working)

Bandcamp
Soundcloud
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2012, 03:02 AM
vans316 vans316 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 41
Default Re: 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

I have changed back to PT 9.0.6. Everything is nice and stable again...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2012, 09:03 AM
soundeditor76 soundeditor76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 39
Default Re: 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

I'm guessing that there will not be a fix for this anytime soon, it really sucks we have to go back to PT 9 to fix this. I am getting close to replacing my interface with a third party interface soon so I don't have issues like this in the future. It would be nice if DTS could tell us what is going on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2012, 09:28 AM
vans316 vans316 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 41
Default Re: 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

I spent out on the 003 Black lion audio signature mod. Id rather stay on PT 9 than changing interface. A lot of studios use pt 7 or lower. The main thing that I like about when 9 came out, was a real difference in approach by not enforcing that you had to use a digidesign interface, and also the delay compensation was amazing. Its what you get used to. The only thing I think about is that i always like to keep my mac up to date, and not sure if Avid will continue updates for pro tools 9 to be compatible with future apple operating systems. Its becomes expensive keeping up to date with plugins, DAW, Operating systems... and so on... Not a secure feeling when you never know what costs are round the corner. You have to draw the line somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2012, 12:55 PM
mattpete's Avatar
mattpete mattpete is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 201
Default Re: 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

Make sure you are booting (or rebooting) your computer up after the 002/003 is fully powered on and connected to the Mac. There is a known bug where the 002/003 device won't stick as the selection in Sound Preferences panel if the device is powered up or connected, causing all sorts of problems.
__________________
Matt Peterson
Avid Audio
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2012, 02:04 PM
vans316 vans316 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 41
Default Re: 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

yes, I always do that. 003 on first and off last..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2012, 10:43 PM
boxman boxman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakdale, California
Posts: 30
Default Re: 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

Same kind of problems here but I don't have PT 9 to fall back on. I'm not sure if I have the same issue exactly but i suspect it's tied to the core audio as well. I just gave my Mom my older iMac core duo 15" and picked up a 27" 3.1GHz Intel Core i5 smacked with RAM. In doing so I lost the FW 400 port on the 15"... kind needed that for the digi003. The 15" was running lion and everything worked OK with the exception of core audio dropping out occasionally. Anywho, I got a new 800 to 400 adaptor to deal with the now one FW 800 port, re-built permissions, did it all by the book. I even prayed, switched religions and prayed again... no luck. All the feedback from Apple, G-Tech, etc. says it should work so I'm thinking the core audio driver is the culprit as well. I will tie a can and string to the internal mic input on the Mac and record that way until Avid steps up to figure this out. -Tony
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2012, 02:37 AM
vans316 vans316 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 41
Default Re: 003 Avid Core Audio problems after 10.1.2 update

my core audio issue started happening when I installed 10.1.2 update. Core audio worked fine in 10.0.1. Seems that something changed with the new update that wasn't happening before.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid core audio: HDX wrstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 06-10-2012 08:48 AM
Avid core audio: HDX wrstudio Pro Tools 10 0 03-03-2012 07:52 AM
core audio and update of pt 8.03 barry1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-17-2009 06:23 PM
Core Audio with Avid MC 3.1 budster Post - Surround - Video 1 03-06-2009 10:35 AM
Problems w/Core Midi and core audio MBox 6.1 letrev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-03-2003 02:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com