Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2002, 04:10 AM
L2P L2P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: France
Posts: 18
Default How to put distance on a sound ?

I'm working on footsteps for a videogame. I would like to know if anyone has any idea to put distance on footsteps. The footsteps sounds have been taken close to the mic, I would like to give the feeling that they are 4 or 5 meters away. anyone has an idea ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2002, 07:44 AM
Sydney Sydney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 5
Default Re: How to put distance on a sound ?

Try rolling off a bit on the highs and add a touch of ambient reverb.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2002, 07:49 AM
Jeff Schmidt Jeff Schmidt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 286
Default Re: How to put distance on a sound ?

Don't forget the obvious - VOLUME!

Automate changes in volume and panning. Distance means then get quieter and less defined, closer gets louder and crisper.
__________________
Curiosity skilled the cat.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2002, 08:59 AM
synthetic synthetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Pasadena, CA, USA
Posts: 57
Default Re: How to put distance on a sound ?

In addition to rolling off highs and adding reverb, I've found that rolling out some of the lows can help make it sound further away. Also make sure it's mono. -jl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2002, 09:11 AM
PDupre PDupre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Cohasset, MA 02025
Posts: 384
Default Re: How to put distance on a sound ?

Volume, reverb (or delay depending on the room your guy is supposed to be walking in),and sometimes a slight pitch change for fast moving objects (Doppler effect - higher for closer, lower for farther away). Try sightly increasing volume while making the track dryer as the footsteps get closer. Think about what happens when a person gets closer to you. You hear less of the room effect and more of the actual sound source (ie. more volume and less reverberation).

When you finish the footsteps, why not post it for all to hear. That might be fun!

Peter
__________________
www.peterdupre.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2002, 10:27 AM
MMazurek MMazurek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Naperville, Illinois USA
Posts: 211
Default Re: How to put distance on a sound ?

The Waves 'Doppler' plugin has the effect of coming at you/away from you/left-right/any combo.
It even goes up in pitch comming toward you, down/away, etc...
You can automate to suit your needs.
That with a room verb... [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT - how do you distance yourself? Stig Eliassen General Discussion 19 10-27-2010 04:43 AM
USB distance DannyG Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-14-2009 11:45 AM
Out there, in the distance... cinetj Post - Surround - Video 6 07-28-2008 09:45 AM
How distance from vocal mic affects sound ixnys Tips & Tricks 5 11-03-2003 07:21 AM
Max distance PT - Mac? diegogat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-28-2003 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com