Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2019, 01:46 AM
JediJoker's Avatar
JediJoker JediJoker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: West Coast/Best Coast, North America
Posts: 20
Default True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

When I send out a mix to a client—at any stage in the process from rough to final—after printing, I like to peak normalize the print to a reasonable level so that the mix can be comfortably listened to on any equipment. I've been using -2.0dBFS, but this can lead to issues with intersample peaks above 0dBTP for dynamic material. Furthermore, peaks above -2.0dBTP can translate to above 0dBTP (or even above 0dBFS) when resampling, bit-reducing, or encoding to lossy formats.

To remedy this issue, I'd like to be able to easily peak normalize to -2.0dBTP within Pro Tools. Unfortunately, the Audio Suite Normalize plugin is old as dirt and doesn't have this capability, and likely will never be updated to include it. Are there any third party plugins to accomplish this, without limiting? Cursory searching here and on Google yielded no results.

Barring that, what is your true peak normalization workflow?
__________________
Get Ricked!

27" iMac Retina 5K 4.0GHz Quad-Core i7 16GB RAM / macOS Sierra v10.12.6 (16G2128) / RME Fireface UFX (Firmware v360/DSP v1.63/USB 2.0 Driver v3.16) / Pro Tools v12.8.3.178
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2019, 06:07 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,662
Default Re: True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

I don't do normalization as such. I work to K14 metering followed by a true peak limiter like Fabfilter Pro-L set to -1dbfs. All on my 2-bus. Don't like normalization plugins as for me they make stuff sound like crap.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2019, 08:28 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,300
Default Re: True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

I do this too ^ but you could just normalize to minus whatever you want then use a true peak limiter with threshold set to that same value.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2019, 09:04 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,963
Default Re: True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

Normalization is not my preferred solution either. Just a subtle peak limiter does the job for me.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2019, 10:13 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,662
Default Re: True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Normalization is not my preferred solution either. Just a subtle peak limiter does the job for me.
Agreed. Every normalization utility I've come across (even from Sony/Sonnox) makes things sound worse than before.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2019, 01:01 PM
JediJoker's Avatar
JediJoker JediJoker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: West Coast/Best Coast, North America
Posts: 20
Default Re: True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

I prefer to leave any limiting to mastering. I've never found the Audio Suite Normalize plugin to be anything but transparent. I haven't done any ABX or null tests, but nothing in a normalized print has ever made me go, "Huh, that sounds wrong. What happened?" It always sounds just as I expect it to. It should be no different than applying gain to a file (like clip gain).

At present, my workflow for true peak normalization is thus:

1) Print in real time
2) Export print
3) Run file through MAAT DROffline MKII to get true peak level
4) Open in Aurchitect Myriad (R.I.P.) and apply gain to bring true peak level to ~-2.0dBTP

Should be unnecessary in 2019. Any DAW worth its salt should be providing native true peak metering and workflows.
__________________
Get Ricked!

27" iMac Retina 5K 4.0GHz Quad-Core i7 16GB RAM / macOS Sierra v10.12.6 (16G2128) / RME Fireface UFX (Firmware v360/DSP v1.63/USB 2.0 Driver v3.16) / Pro Tools v12.8.3.178
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2019, 01:22 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,662
Default Re: True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JediJoker View Post
I prefer to leave any limiting to mastering. I've never found the Audio Suite Normalize plugin to be anything but transparent. I haven't done any ABX or null tests, but nothing in a normalized print has ever made me go, "Huh, that sounds wrong. What happened?" It always sounds just as I expect it to. It should be no different than applying gain to a file (like clip gain).

At present, my workflow for true peak normalization is thus:

1) Print in real time
2) Export print
3) Run file through MAAT DROffline MKII to get true peak level
4) Open in Aurchitect Myriad (R.I.P.) and apply gain to bring true peak level to ~-2.0dBTP

Should be unnecessary in 2019. Any DAW worth its salt should be providing native true peak metering and workflows.
It's possible in any daw, including PT, as long as you have the right plugins to do the job. What I outlined is but one way to get the job done. And a heck of a lot less work than what you're doing. Limiting can be used at any point in the process; I find the Fabfilter limiter to do a good true peak catch and correct.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2019, 01:54 PM
JediJoker's Avatar
JediJoker JediJoker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: West Coast/Best Coast, North America
Posts: 20
Default Re: True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
It's possible in any daw, including PT, as long as you have the right plugins to do the job. What I outlined is but one way to get the job done. And a heck of a lot less work than what you're doing. Limiting can be used at any point in the process; I find the Fabfilter limiter to do a good true peak catch and correct.
But I'm not interested in "catch and correct." I want the dynamic range left intact, with the transients as they are, simply peaking at -2.0dBTP.
__________________
Get Ricked!

27" iMac Retina 5K 4.0GHz Quad-Core i7 16GB RAM / macOS Sierra v10.12.6 (16G2128) / RME Fireface UFX (Firmware v360/DSP v1.63/USB 2.0 Driver v3.16) / Pro Tools v12.8.3.178
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2019, 02:13 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,300
Default Re: True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JediJoker View Post
But I'm not interested in "catch and correct." I want the dynamic range left intact, with the transients as they are, simply peaking at -2.0dBTP.
Then do what I suggested above. I use the Waves WLM plus
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2019, 02:48 PM
JediJoker's Avatar
JediJoker JediJoker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: West Coast/Best Coast, North America
Posts: 20
Default Re: True Peak Normalization: Workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Then do what I suggested above. I use the Waves WLM plus
That just doesn't sound like it will do what I want. I'm going to ping MAAT about offering DROffline MKII as a plugin for measuring loudness and peak levels of files within DAWs. Then, I could simply apply gain to match -2.0dBTP.
__________________
Get Ricked!

27" iMac Retina 5K 4.0GHz Quad-Core i7 16GB RAM / macOS Sierra v10.12.6 (16G2128) / RME Fireface UFX (Firmware v360/DSP v1.63/USB 2.0 Driver v3.16) / Pro Tools v12.8.3.178
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LKFS QC hits with different levels even though True Peak is the same? Inglesworth Post - Surround - Video 6 08-30-2018 09:49 AM
is a max True Peak of -2.5 or -2.9 ok? fork-media Post - Surround - Video 14 10-12-2016 02:54 AM
Avid should bundle a True Peak limiter DSP Plugin ggegan Post - Surround - Video 16 05-21-2013 11:34 AM
True-peak limiters. reichman Post - Surround - Video 13 03-07-2013 09:45 AM
Nat-Geo True Peak for 5.1 wheresmyfroggy Post - Surround - Video 20 07-20-2011 07:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com