Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2018, 10:55 AM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 35
Default Noisy/Scratchy 002 Rack Monitor Level Knob

It has progressively gotten worse through the years, when I turn the knob, (slowly or normal) you hear a scratchy/noisy crackle come from my monitors. I have checked and switched cables and switched monitors with another pair to see if were the monitors... No changes whatsoever. Any remedies on how to fix this noise? Is it a bad potentiometer? How much would it cost to fix/replace? Any good repair shops in NYC anyone can recommend? Thanks.
__________________
Al Rayder

Hardware: Apple MacPro 8-Core 2.4Ghz, Mountain Lion 10.8.5, PT10.3.10HD, Control|24 Console, 2x Digidesign PRE, 2x Digidesign 192 Analog I/O, HD3 Accel PCIe, Avalon 737sp, Apple MacG5 PPC Dual Core 2.0Ghz, Leopard 10.5.0, PT7.4.2LE, 002 Rack, Apple MacBook, Leopard 10.5.8, PT8.0.5LE, MBoxMicro.
Software: Waves Mercury & Studio Classics Bundles, McDsp Bundle, SoundToys Bundle, Antares Auto-Tune, Melodyne Editor, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2018, 06:41 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,875
Default Re: Noisy/Scratchy 002 Rack Monitor Level Knob

Odds are pretty good that its a bad pot and might be a cheap fix. If it were me, I would consider bypassing it by using the MAIN outputs and feeding a monitor/source selector for volume control(and more). Been using a Presonus Central Station in my setup for a good 10 years now(from 002, to 003, to HD/Native) and it brings several nice advantages to my rig. On the input side, I can select between Pro Tools(my interface), computer sound(internet, Windows Media, Wavelab, etc) a second computer station and a miniplug for connecting iPhones, tablets and laptops. On the output side, I can switch between 2 sets of speakers, with or without a sub, or phones. Having had this versatility for all the time, I can't live without it Food for thought
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2018, 09:50 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,591
Default Re: Noisy/Scratchy 002 Rack Monitor Level Knob

Hi ! if it is a dirty pot. problem , you can try spraying Deoxit on it . It do wonders
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2018, 11:49 AM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 35
Default Re: Noisy/Scratchy 002 Rack Monitor Level Knob

albee1952, you really like the Presonus Central Station, huh? I think you advised me to check into the Presonus on another post/topic. I actually just picked up a used Mackie Big Knob and I was curious to see A). How does it sound? B). If it adds any color to my mix? and C). How it can be used within my current set-ups.

I really like the fact that you can add a second computer station to the Presonus. I actually have 2 Apple Computers in my studio. 1x MacG5 and 1x MacPro and I am running 2 different Pro Tools systems. Pro Tools Le (MacG5 and 002 Rack) and Pro Tools HD (Mac Pro and HD3 w/ 192 IO).

Would the Presonus Monitoring Station streamline my computers, interfaces and DAW's so I can switch back and forth with out having to disconnect and reconnect?
__________________
Al Rayder

Hardware: Apple MacPro 8-Core 2.4Ghz, Mountain Lion 10.8.5, PT10.3.10HD, Control|24 Console, 2x Digidesign PRE, 2x Digidesign 192 Analog I/O, HD3 Accel PCIe, Avalon 737sp, Apple MacG5 PPC Dual Core 2.0Ghz, Leopard 10.5.0, PT7.4.2LE, 002 Rack, Apple MacBook, Leopard 10.5.8, PT8.0.5LE, MBoxMicro.
Software: Waves Mercury & Studio Classics Bundles, McDsp Bundle, SoundToys Bundle, Antares Auto-Tune, Melodyne Editor, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2018, 01:22 PM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 35
Default Re: Noisy/Scratchy 002 Rack Monitor Level Knob

Thank you jeam25. I will give the spray a try.
__________________
Al Rayder

Hardware: Apple MacPro 8-Core 2.4Ghz, Mountain Lion 10.8.5, PT10.3.10HD, Control|24 Console, 2x Digidesign PRE, 2x Digidesign 192 Analog I/O, HD3 Accel PCIe, Avalon 737sp, Apple MacG5 PPC Dual Core 2.0Ghz, Leopard 10.5.0, PT7.4.2LE, 002 Rack, Apple MacBook, Leopard 10.5.8, PT8.0.5LE, MBoxMicro.
Software: Waves Mercury & Studio Classics Bundles, McDsp Bundle, SoundToys Bundle, Antares Auto-Tune, Melodyne Editor, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2018, 08:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,875
Default Re: Noisy/Scratchy 002 Rack Monitor Level Knob

Nothing wrong with the Mackie Big Knob, but the 2 digital inputs on the Central Station are a key feature for me. Optical SPDIF from one computer and RCA SPDIF from another. Then I also have an iPod cable ready for anyone with a phone or laptop, plus an extra set of outputs from PT so I can listen to anything in a PT session without fussing with SOLO(I can even listen to AUX return tracks without the source tracks)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-03-2018, 10:15 AM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 35
Default Re: Noisy/Scratchy 002 Rack Monitor Level Knob

That sounds great albee1952! If I see a Central Station somewhere for a good price, I may pick it up. For now, I will try out the Mackie Big Knob I just picked up and see how far that takes me. BTW.. I just sold my 192 Digital IO and will be purchasing the additional 192 Analog IO (maxed out). Now it's time to focus on mic pre's. Do you know anything about the UA LA-610 MkII ?
__________________
Al Rayder

Hardware: Apple MacPro 8-Core 2.4Ghz, Mountain Lion 10.8.5, PT10.3.10HD, Control|24 Console, 2x Digidesign PRE, 2x Digidesign 192 Analog I/O, HD3 Accel PCIe, Avalon 737sp, Apple MacG5 PPC Dual Core 2.0Ghz, Leopard 10.5.0, PT7.4.2LE, 002 Rack, Apple MacBook, Leopard 10.5.8, PT8.0.5LE, MBoxMicro.
Software: Waves Mercury & Studio Classics Bundles, McDsp Bundle, SoundToys Bundle, Antares Auto-Tune, Melodyne Editor, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi002R monitor level knob creates clipping/digitial distortion when adjusted knowtice 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-03-2016 08:03 PM
Scratchy Pot on M Box 3 Volume Knob jrgillam Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 06-30-2013 11:06 AM
Replacing the Main Monitor Level KNOB! a2zproductions ICON & C|24 4 11-01-2008 10:35 PM
Scratchy Pots, Noisy Gain, 002r and Command 8 Repooc Tserrof 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-11-2007 02:53 PM
Monitor level (knob) question Pedro perez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-17-2005 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com