Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2015, 04:51 AM
BD123123 BD123123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 10
Default SC48 - Help with Noisy Input

Hi,

We have an SC48 and it sounds like one of our inputs has gone "bad". Input 6 on the top card.
Patching this input to any channel/fader results in "noise". All other inputs are fine.

Can anyone help with understanding what might need replaced? Does the whole card (16 inputs) need replaced or can a specific input be fixed/replaced?
Or how do I go about finding the offending part - e.g. A/D convertor. Are there bits on the card can be swapped to identify the specific component at fault?

Unfortunately we are out of warranty.

I know Avid have a place in Dublin, Ireland. Does anyone know what services are available at that location? Do they do repairs, parts or service?

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2015, 09:55 AM
TheMAXX TheMAXX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: SC48 - Help with Noisy Input

Did you change the cable that is feeding that input? I know this is basic but I have found that sometimes I get so close to looking at a problem that I make a very basic mistake. We had what we thought was a bad channel coming from a keyboard but it turned out that someone got into the keyboard settings and boosted some of the output channels and it was causing distortion on the outputs of the keyboard itself. I have also had a bunch of bad channels on a snake in an installed system that threw us off for a little bit.

If you plug a mic directly into the input does it still have the problem?

I think Avid has an exchange program where they send you a new part and you send them back the old one after you get the new part. I think that they charge you for the new one and refund some of that when they get the old one back.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2015, 01:41 PM
BD123123 BD123123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 10
Default Re: SC48 - Help with Noisy Input

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMAXX View Post
Did you change the cable that is feeding that input? I know this is basic but I have found that sometimes I get so close to looking at a problem that I make a very basic mistake. We had what we thought was a bad channel coming from a keyboard but it turned out that someone got into the keyboard settings and boosted some of the output channels and it was causing distortion on the outputs of the keyboard itself. I have also had a bunch of bad channels on a snake in an installed system that threw us off for a little bit.

If you plug a mic directly into the input does it still have the problem?

I think Avid has an exchange program where they send you a new part and you send them back the old one after you get the new part. I think that they charge you for the new one and refund some of that when they get the old one back.
Hi,

When I tested, I removed all connection from this input to the console. So there was noise with nothing plugged in to the rear.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2019, 05:54 PM
JamesLaverdure JamesLaverdure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Dacula
Posts: 3
Default Re: SC48 - Help with Noisy Input

I am having this issue with one of my input cards. The second channel on the card gives off static noise with nothing plugged in. I have already purchased a replacement card and changed it out. The issue is completely gone. However, I'd like to see if it is possible to still fix this card and keep it as a backup. Any resolutions on this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2019, 05:55 PM
JamesLaverdure JamesLaverdure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Dacula
Posts: 3
Default Re: SC48 - Help with Noisy Input

Quote:
Originally Posted by BD123123 View Post
Hi,

When I tested, I removed all connection from this input to the console. So there was noise with nothing plugged in to the rear.
Did you make any progress on this?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-20-2019, 06:33 AM
BD123123 BD123123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 10
Default Re: SC48 - Help with Noisy Input

Hi,
Unfortunately not. Still noisy so we just dont use that channel.
I did chat with Avid on it, but it all got too logistically complicated and was easiest just to not use the channel.

How easy was it to change the card?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2019, 12:06 PM
JamesLaverdure JamesLaverdure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Dacula
Posts: 3
Default Re: SC48 - Help with Noisy Input

That's unfortunate that they didn't get anywhere with you on it.

Replacing the card is pretty easy though. There are 4 screws on the card itself. Then there are about 16 screws on the front plate that need to come off to access the ribbon cable to unplug it from the mother board. Once that front plate is off, you disconnect the fan cable and set that front plate aside. Slide the card out and slide one a new one in. Took me less than 30 minutes. Just don't lose any of the small screws as they will fall and they are hard to find in dark places.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using VCAs on SC48 as "input faders" Tigerspill VENUE Live Sound Systems 6 11-23-2013 07:47 PM
Noisy 192 input card robo6675 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 06-23-2010 08:31 PM
Noisy input fix? Help a n00b with a session! tdellaringa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-04-2006 07:46 AM
External talkback mic input low level and noisy nerdlinger ICON & C|24 2 08-24-2005 03:27 AM
Noisy Mac- Please help Blindman13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-03-2005 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com