Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 01-18-2019, 12:37 PM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,232
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

-Customizable hotkeys
-Deeper preference settings (for example, "MIDI tracks default to note view")
-Interface is butt ugly under Windows- needs true fullscreen display on multiple monitors
-VST plugins (if bluecat can do it, so can Avid)
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-18-2019, 01:31 PM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 121
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
1. Multiple marker tracks.
2. Post fader inserts on tracks
3. A way to automatically solo the entire signal path including auxes.

1. Multiple marker tracks.
yes

3. A way to automatically solo the entire signal path including auxes.
and yes
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-18-2019, 02:03 PM
Bones Up Records Bones Up Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: USA - California
Posts: 13
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

The ease at which one can build a beat in the FL studio piano roll. The piano roll in pro tools is much more tedious and slower to use.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-18-2019, 02:07 PM
Glazik Glazik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 93
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Offline process history.
Multiple marker tracks +1.
Solo path improvement +1.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-18-2019, 02:44 PM
Evermore Evermore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: US
Posts: 37
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

1. Cpu and Stability at(lower buffers).
Especially for Instruments.

2. Elastic Audio improvements.
Better algorithm and instant x-form, or open EA to 3rd-party algorithms(Zplane elastique, serato).

3. Midi Improvements.


Quote:
-Offline process history.
-Folders (Insanely useful. Almost essential IMO.)
-A way to automatically solo the entire signal path including auxes
+1
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12
High Sierra 10.13.6
iMac Intel i7, 16Gb Ram, Apogee Symphony IO
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 01-18-2019, 06:44 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 341
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Im really looking for a new customizable interface look, where i can determine the size and color of the lines and fonts(dark look) as well as even simple things like clip bin mods with larger darker fonts, with demarcation lines between file types and folders etc etc.......they dont have to rebuild the wheel, just update the stuff theyve got.....and get rid of the ugly windows vista colors in MAC for gawd sakes...
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-18-2019, 11:23 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 723
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Some general workflow things you find in other DAWs: being able to undo/redo things like soloing tracks, delete tracks, etc (sometimes the way Pro Tools does things is actually useful, though). And also being able to copy plugin/track information to the clipboard rather than needing to use import session data.


Finally, being able to bypass hardware inserts (on HDX).
__________________
www.lukehoward.com
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-20-2019, 09:46 AM
edwinstar edwinstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 188
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I find it lacks in the“flow“ departement:
- audio interrupts everytime a plugin is loaded or a track is added
- loop while being record enabled only works when quickpunch is deactivated
- pre roll can‘t be set to only apply when recording
- press record enable only possible while stopped
- virtual instruments only playable when record enable is pressed.



Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 01-21-2019, 08:25 AM
Protootr Protootr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 21
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by edwinstar View Post
I find it lacks in the“flow“ departement:
- audio interrupts everytime a plugin is loaded or a track is added
- loop while being record enabled only works when quickpunch is deactivated
- pre roll can‘t be set to only apply when recording
- press record enable only possible while stopped
- virtual instruments only playable when record enable is pressed.
Those are some very good points actually. When I experience an interruption or lag in the flow I always wish Avid would improve that. I actually should write that stuff down during production. There are so many things I dislike when I encounter them, but actually forget about when 'whining' on a forum like the DUC

Also moving clips or midi notes during loop playback has a big lag. You don't instantly hear what you've done at least not in big sessions. So I'd like that to be smooth or at least faster as well.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-21-2019, 10:02 AM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 401
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Sadly, the chances that Avid will fix most of these is pretty low I fear or if they do, it will take a very long time given their historical pace.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE with a New MacBook Pro Lacking FW400 acacia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-15-2009 11:29 PM
d24/Mix Farm system lacking TDM power veryathletic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-20-2006 09:22 AM
How is PT lacking in Midi deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-28-2005 09:57 PM
XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality??? Jonny Jones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 11-05-2003 07:11 PM
What is lacking in the new Control 24 and the ProControl patdotcom General Discussion 3 03-05-2001 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com