Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Old 06-16-2017, 06:38 AM

Default best drum software?????

I've been fighting with Steven Slate drums for a while now and , well ,it's time for a change. Any suggestions??? Recommendations???
Old 06-16-2017, 08:13 AM

Default Re: best drum software?????

Afaik, the only drum pluging that has completely unprocessed samples (no additional HPF, compression, etc, just microphones, preamps and converters) is Sennheiser Drumica, and it's free.
Old 06-16-2017, 08:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdpar View Post
I've been fighting with Steven Slate drums for a while now and , well ,it's time for a change. Any suggestions??? Recommendations???
I've been using Toontrack's Superior Drummer for almost 10 years now and have never looked back. It is affordable, expandable (if you want), and can be as complex or as vanilla as you want it to be. If you're not a tweakhead and just want to drop some stock midi grooves into the track and hit play, you can do it easily. However, if you are anal and want to add a hit here or there, or delete a hit, or micro-manage the drum mixer you can get as in-depth as you want as well. Most of the time I find I don't have to do much with the stock grooves and sounds, but I have also invested in several Producer Presets that I like, as well as several expansion packs (each suited to a different type of music), so I just use what I think the song calls for and don't have to spend a lot of time adjusting things. I know you can also trigger Superior Drummer if you wanted to (I don't do that in my setup), and I have even controlled it via Midi with a keyboard before if that is your thing. It's also very stable and I haven't had any problems with it crashing my system, so that's