Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 03-13-2018, 07:09 AM
CHRIS AIKEN CHRIS AIKEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: WARSAW POLAND
Posts: 405
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s.d. finley View Post
yes I originally had the HDN card in slot 4, but then moved it to slot 2 which is right next to the graphics card. I will try slot 3 but my hopes are very low but I am literally willing to try just about anything to get this system to work properly.


Did you try Sierra yet? Still not better with it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 03-13-2018, 09:23 AM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS AIKEN View Post
Did you try Sierra yet? Still not better with it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I am installing it right now on a fresh disk. Fingers crossed!!
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 03-13-2018, 09:24 AM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
all dynamic plugin option does is release cpu on transport stop and when there is gaps in the audio during playback so the effect doesn't have to process..

I am finding it really bizarre that 2018.3 has worsened efficiency for you.. i think you should start a support ticket.. over here it's the opposite, everything is running a bit tighter and not only that, way less overload messages...
I have started a support ticket and the Avid tech has been very helpful. They are going to give me a call later so they can see whats going on
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 03-13-2018, 09:35 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 962
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

I've had an irritating thing with PT 2018.1 and .3 in Windows. If I click the PT icon on the Windows Taskbar and it's already open somewhere, PT is lost. There's no way of getting back to it, though it looks like it's still active in the background somewhere but Alt Tab doesn't help and I can't access it via task manager. I have to wait for an auto-save, kill it and re-open from scratch. Anyone else have this?
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 03-13-2018, 09:42 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,048
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
I've had an irritating thing with PT 2018.1 and .3 in Windows. If I click the PT icon on the Windows Taskbar and it's already open somewhere, PT is lost. There's no way of getting back to it, though it looks like it's still active in the background somewhere but Alt Tab doesn't help and I can't access it via task manager. I have to wait for an auto-save, kill it and re-open from scratch. Anyone else have this?
Sounds like there's a disc on your dvd drive.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 03-13-2018, 11:30 AM
dabiochemist dabiochemist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Soundbase Favorite list is gone, The heart in right corner use to list all the sounds that I favorited nothing there now
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 03-13-2018, 11:47 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 962
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Sounds like there's a disc on your dvd drive.
Spooky - yes there is. How is this a thing?

Now I'm really conflicted, since (you'll just have to believe me on this) Kontakt
loads faster with a disc in the drive. This, mind you, is the same disc drive that in Windows 7 couldn't do ASIO audio at all unless there was a disc in the drive, which I really do understand sounds made up, but I can assure you was absolutely true.

The good news is I get a new rig and new disc drive next week, and hopefully will put all this nonsense behind me. Curious to know why it makes PT misbehave though....
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 03-14-2018, 03:13 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,467
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

It's just best to keep the optical drive free when running Pro Tools.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools HDX~HDN 2018.4
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 03-16-2018, 12:19 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,467
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

If there's anyone having any reproducible issues, please post here along with the steps reproduce, and I'll report it. Pleas include all system info.

For me, this is still one the best releases ever. I haven't had a single error or crash since installing it.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools HDX~HDN 2018.4
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 03-16-2018, 12:46 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: 2018.3 Running Very Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS AIKEN View Post
Did you try Sierra yet? Still not better with it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sierra actually works much better than El Crap. Still get some spiking but its not as nearly as bad and so far, fingers crossed, no show stoppers.
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going from PT 6.4 to 2018 CDB Studios WI Getting Started 7 02-25-2018 04:32 AM
Issues running PT 12.x and 2018 on Late 2012 i7 iMac 27" 3.4Ghz 32GB Ram foxes Pro Tools 2018 26 02-18-2018 11:44 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM
Pt 2018 os x 10.12.6 Stys64 Pro Tools 2018 5 02-06-2018 08:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com