Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2018, 11:52 AM
energee energee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Greece
Posts: 4
Default PT 2018.1.0 CPU spikes

Hello,

Protools 2018.1.0

Machine is MacPRo 5,1, 32GB ram, SSD drive.

For some reason (started happening today) protools is giving me the CPU overload error (AAE -6101) even on a completely empty project with nothing but a few tracks playing audio.

When playing, even If I scroll the project with the mouse, I get CPU overload error.

On system usage, the CPU load indeed increases a lot when doing anything on protools. Even if I just zoom the project.

Any ideas why?

What I did was an PRAM reset on the MacPro yesterday, maybe its related?

I tried re-installing protools and my audio interfaces drivers but did not help.

Thanks
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2018, 09:45 PM
bowlingotter bowlingotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Souderton, PA
Posts: 20
Default Re: PT 2018.1.0 CPU spikes

I’ve heard that disabling “ignore errors” in the Playback Engine config helps with -6101. Can’t say from experience but worth a shot


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
__________
Matt Buckley
Bowlingotter Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2018, 09:03 PM
maltastudio's Avatar
maltastudio maltastudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: malta
Posts: 93
Default Re: PT 2018.1.0 CPU spikes

There must be a fix for this in the near futere cause everybody is talking about it in his own way.
Some blame there Mac,some the Ram,the OS,and specially the Sound card.
The fact is that everybody had a working system that can go down to 128m/s then suddenly everybody started getting spikes.
It`s not only Protools 2018.1.0 though,I think it has to do with OS as well.
We `ll have to wait and see.
Peace.
__________________
www.maltastudio.com

https://soundcloud.com/charlesmuscat

MacBook Pro Late 2016
Intel I7 Quod Core 2.8 GHZ
16 GB Ram . 256 GB SSD
High Sierra

Acer Nitro
Intel I7-6700-HQ
8 GB Ram 256 GB SSD x 2
Win 10 Home 64 bit
Motu 624 AVB , Yamaha 01V96i
Pro tools 12..Latest , Sonar Platinum Lifetime
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2018, 11:05 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,411
Default Re: PT 2018.1.0 CPU spikes

I too am having crazy CPU spikes. MacPro 5.1 dual Hex core, so 24 cores, 64 GBs of RAM, El Capitan and SSD for the boot drive PTHD 2018 with HDN PCIe card. Recording drive is practically empty. Its nuts. stereo track playing back while recording a single track, zero plug ins and spikes that gives me errors that stop playback with a buffer of 128. I should be able to get a lower buffer but if I change it I get cpu spikes and buffer errors. Should I upgrade the Mac OS?
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2018, 02:46 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,411
Default Re: PT 2018.1.0 CPU spikes

So disabling hyper threading worked very well for me. Spikes are at a minimum. Still have to occasional show stopper but its much better now
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-2018, 02:05 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,411
Default Re: PT 2018.1.0 CPU spikes

I also submitted a support ticket concerning this and I suggest anyone else having this issue should do the same
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2018, 11:10 AM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 177
Default Re: PT 2018.1.0 CPU spikes

Quote:
Originally Posted by s.d. finley View Post
I too am having crazy CPU spikes. MacPro 5.1 dual Hex core, so 24 cores, 64 GBs of RAM, El Capitan and SSD for the boot drive PTHD 2018 with HDN PCIe card. Recording drive is practically empty. Its nuts. stereo track playing back while recording a single track, zero plug ins and spikes that gives me errors that stop playback with a buffer of 128. I should be able to get a lower buffer but if I change it I get cpu spikes and buffer errors. Should I upgrade the Mac OS?
I have the same machine 5,1 12 core, with the same 64 Gig of Ram, also HDN PCIe, and ..can report... I have exactly the same issue with versions 12.8.3–2018.4

The same machine running Yosemite 12.8.1, runs perfectly to maximum 128 tracks at 24/96 with 128 buffer no spikes.
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2018, 11:13 AM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 177
Default Re: PT 2018.1.0 CPU spikes

Quote:
Originally Posted by s.d. finley View Post
I also submitted a support ticket concerning this and I suggest anyone else having this issue should do the same
Did you ever get a response? The 12 core 5,1 is a supported/Qualified machine.
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2018.1 CPU Spikes anotherone Pro Tools 2018 11 04-10-2018 09:09 AM
Going from PT 6.4 to 2018 CDB Studios WI Getting Started 7 02-25-2018 04:32 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM
Pt 2018 os x 10.12.6 Stys64 Pro Tools 2018 5 02-06-2018 08:14 AM
Pro Tools v2018.1 Now Available DigiTechSupt Technical Alerts 0 01-25-2018 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com