Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2018, 01:08 PM
bom619 bom619 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 16
Default Errors and hyperthreading

I have been plagued by work stopping 6101 errors since the update. Cant even play through song without it stopping dead! Opened a support ticket but nothing Avid suggested helped at all. Someone on Gearsltuz mentioned something about hyperthreading so I did some digging.

Test session was 24 tracks (from analog tape) at 88.2k buffer set at 64 samples. 120 instances of mono D-Verb. Im using https://www.whatroute.net/cpusetter.html to turn off hyperthreading. Will now cruise all day long at 80%+ without stopping. With hyperthreading enabled, I cant even put it into record without redlining. Distribution on processors changes dramatically between playback and record but at least its usable. Sorry about the extra text box.

Saw no performance difference with the new "Parallel task optimization" option high/off.

Mac OSX 10.13.3, Pro Tools HD 2018.1, Mac Pro 5,1 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB 1333 ram, all OWC SSD drives, Orion 32, ATC SCM300a

Update: Yes... Pro Tools HD (not vanilla). Session stopping DSP surges only occur once an hour now which is very manageable compared to performance before disabling hyperthreading.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.03.08 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	10042   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.08.09 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	10043   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.18.29 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	37.3 KB
ID:	10044  

Last edited by bom619; 02-28-2018 at 11:42 AM.
  #2  
Old 02-22-2018, 01:19 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,557
Default Re: Errors and hyperthreading

Quote:
Originally Posted by bom619 View Post
I have been plagued by work stopping 6101 errors since the update. Cant even play through song without it stopping dead! Opened a support ticket but nothing Avid suggested helped at all. Someone on Gearsltuz mentioned something about hyperthreading so I did some digging.

Test session was 24 tracks (from analog tape) at 88.2k buffer set at 64 samples. 120 instances of mono D-Verb. Im using https://www.whatroute.net/cpusetter.html to turn off hyperthreading. Will now cruise all day long at 80%+ without stopping. With hyperthreading enabled, I cant even put it into record without redlining. Distribution on processors changes dramatically between playback and record but at least its usable. Sorry about the extra text box.

Saw no performance difference with the new "Parallel task optimization" option high/off.

Mac OSX 10.13.3, Pro Tools 2018.1, Mac Pro 5,1 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB 1333 ram, all OWC SSD drives, Orion 32, ATC SCM300a
are you on PTHD ??
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
  #3  
Old 02-27-2018, 11:17 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,380
Default Re: Errors and hyperthreading

Quote:
Originally Posted by bom619 View Post
I have been plagued by work stopping 6101 errors since the update. Cant even play through song without it stopping dead! Opened a support ticket but nothing Avid suggested helped at all. Someone on Gearsltuz mentioned something about hyperthreading so I did some digging.

Test session was 24 tracks (from analog tape) at 88.2k buffer set at 64 samples. 120 instances of mono D-Verb. Im using https://www.whatroute.net/cpusetter.html to turn off hyperthreading. Will now cruise all day long at 80%+ without stopping. With hyperthreading enabled, I cant even put it into record without redlining. Distribution on processors changes dramatically between playback and record but at least its usable. Sorry about the extra text box.

Saw no performance difference with the new "Parallel task optimization" option high/off.

Mac OSX 10.13.3, Pro Tools 2018.1, Mac Pro 5,1 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB 1333 ram, all OWC SSD drives, Orion 32, ATC SCM300a
very interesting. I am having all kinds of cpu spikes with PTHDN 2018 PCIe card, El Capitan. Mac pro 5.1 dual hex core. I will have to try this out and report back.
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
  #4  
Old 02-27-2018, 11:20 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 954
Default Re: Errors and hyperthreading

well this is VERY interesting indeed.. If the low buffer size spikes can be stopped by hyper threading turned off, i have to check this out.

To the OP.. of course you don't need that many d verbs, this was just a performance test, correct?

And just so I understand right, these tracks were armed to *record* at 64 samples with d verb on, correct?
__________________
System 1: iMac i7 3.4ghz quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 32GBRam, 2TB Internal Apple HDD 7200 rpm, 256GB internal Apple SSD, TBolt 7200rpm G-Drive, Pro Tools 2018.3,, Cubase 9.5.2, UAD Apollo8 TBolt Quad x2, UAD satellite Octo TBolt x2, TBolt 512GB Lacie SSD, ATI 6970M
System 2: Macbook Pro Retina 2.8ghz i7 quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 16GB Apple Ram, 1TB Apple SSD, 1TB Thunderbolt SSD, Logic Pro 10.3.3, Cubase 9.5.2, Pro Tools 2018.4, Apollo Twin Duo, Nvidia 750M/Intel Iris Pro
  #5  
Old 02-28-2018, 12:09 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 954
Default Re: Errors and hyperthreading

edit, nope, doesn't help here
__________________
System 1: iMac i7 3.4ghz quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 32GBRam, 2TB Internal Apple HDD 7200 rpm, 256GB internal Apple SSD, TBolt 7200rpm G-Drive, Pro Tools 2018.3,, Cubase 9.5.2, UAD Apollo8 TBolt Quad x2, UAD satellite Octo TBolt x2, TBolt 512GB Lacie SSD, ATI 6970M
System 2: Macbook Pro Retina 2.8ghz i7 quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 16GB Apple Ram, 1TB Apple SSD, 1TB Thunderbolt SSD, Logic Pro 10.3.3, Cubase 9.5.2, Pro Tools 2018.4, Apollo Twin Duo, Nvidia 750M/Intel Iris Pro

Last edited by TNM; 02-28-2018 at 12:31 AM.
  #6  
Old 02-28-2018, 12:20 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 954
Default Re: Errors and hyperthreading

Oh well that excitement was short lived.. once i put on a cpu intensive synth, like codex for example, i could not play a single chord at 32 OR 64 buffer.. with hyperthread on or off. All cores spiking to max in both cases. In logic and Cubase i can play away at 32 buffer with only one core being used.

So it makes absolutely no difference here, my initial excitement had me overlook there was a light instrument in the slot (fab filter twin)...

So here at least it makes sense not to turn HT off at all.
__________________
System 1: iMac i7 3.4ghz quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 32GBRam, 2TB Internal Apple HDD 7200 rpm, 256GB internal Apple SSD, TBolt 7200rpm G-Drive, Pro Tools 2018.3,, Cubase 9.5.2, UAD Apollo8 TBolt Quad x2, UAD satellite Octo TBolt x2, TBolt 512GB Lacie SSD, ATI 6970M
System 2: Macbook Pro Retina 2.8ghz i7 quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 16GB Apple Ram, 1TB Apple SSD, 1TB Thunderbolt SSD, Logic Pro 10.3.3, Cubase 9.5.2, Pro Tools 2018.4, Apollo Twin Duo, Nvidia 750M/Intel Iris Pro

Last edited by TNM; 02-28-2018 at 12:31 AM. Reason: spelling only
  #7  
Old 02-28-2018, 11:55 AM
bom619 bom619 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 16
Default Re: Errors and hyperthreading

Answering a bunch of questions at once:

Yes... this is HD Pro Tools without a Hd native card. Dverbs were on record enabled audio tracks. Dverb (unlike many plug-ins I use) are something everyone has in their system so comparing load results can be consistent between users (of course there is no musical reason to ever use that plugin; absolutely terrible).

Also things I tried while troubleshooting (we have several similar Mac Pro's in the machine room here):

Swapping Logic boards
Swapping Video Cards
Removing all third party hardware drivers (Antelope, SSl, etc)
Sessions at 44.1, 48, 88.2, and 96k

Like I said in my edit to the original post, session stopping seizures are down to about once an hour but they still happen. DSP efficiency is actually better than it has been in some time and I have had very few reasons to work above buffers of 128 samples.
  #8  
Old 02-28-2018, 01:25 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,380
Default Re: Errors and hyperthreading

Ok, downloaded and ran CPU setter. Disabled hyper threading so I 'only' have 12 cores. And, works like a charm!! An 18 track session that would barely playback at 128 buffer now has no issues what so ever and CPU is no longer spiking at all and all is good. @64 buffer cpu jumps little bit from 15 to 20%. Before turning HT off, I could not even play the session at 64.
Maybe its a MacPro issue with Hex cores and HT? Anyways I am keeping hyper threading off.
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
  #9  
Old 02-28-2018, 02:05 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,473
Default Re: Errors and hyperthreading

"Hyperthreading off" works best here. (Increased stability.)
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools HDX~HDN 2018.4
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
  #10  
Old 02-28-2018, 02:08 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,380
Default Re: Errors and hyperthreading

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
"Hyperthreading off" works best here. (Increased stability.)
Hi Tom, are you using a mac or pc? Also, turning hyper threading off should be a sticky.

oh never mind I see windows 10 on your profile!
__________________
sdf

sugarhillstudios.com
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hyperthreading Off or On & More Than 4gb RAM dougdude9 Pro Tools 10 1 11-11-2014 11:57 AM
PT9 and Hyperthreading? guitaramundo Pro Tools 9 3 12-05-2010 05:47 PM
...hyperthreading.. jrod096 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-28-2005 11:19 AM
HyperThreading? Matt Reisinger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-10-2004 08:19 PM
HyperThreading yes or no? ricren 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-21-2003 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com