Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-06-2016, 11:27 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Funny you should pick those specific numbers for your example, 12.2.1 (Sept 29 2015) and 12.3.1 (Nov 24 2015) are actually the two "dot" releases that Pro Tools 12 has seen. Both were bug fixes only, no new features.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-2-1-Downloads
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...-3-1-Downloads
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-06-2016, 11:34 AM
Anthony Jr.'s Avatar
Anthony Jr. Anthony Jr. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 124
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

This sounds kind of lame, but I'd love some sort of collapsible folder system. Something that works almost as an Aux with an overall level adjustment for the tracks that sit in the folder.

I have such a hard time working with tons of tracks everywhere for sound effects and ambiences, rather than a focus on the parts I'd like to see without losing the ability to see my meters from other tracks. Maybe it's just a personal workflow preference, the show / hide tracks just doesn't feel right to me.
__________________
2018 18-Core iMac Pro / 64GB RAM / Mojave 10.14.3 / Protools 2018.12 / Apollo 8XP / Love
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-06-2016, 11:35 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Well I've just had a TERRIBLE day with PT12.5. I am NOT going to hold back on venting my frustration.

You have to wonder if Avid have enough staff left to produce a stable version of Pro Tools AND develop new features. I've never seen the DUC so jam packed with people having issues.

I'm wondering if from now, every time PT crashes we should dig out the crash report log and raise a support case. HD users have paid for it after all. I would have raised about seven cases today.

Personally, I'm sick of hearing that it's probably a dodgy plug-in and you need to delete your prefs. I've said it before but PT needs to be a LOT more bullet proof to an errant plug-in. The whole idea that a rogue plug-in just sitting in your plug-in folder can wreak havoc is simply ridiculous.

The current and previous version of Pro Tools have been absolute train wrecks.

Quote:
i still use PT 8.1.1 & OSX 10.6.8 on most important live gigs in front of live audience.
THAT is a sad indictment of the current state of Pro Tools.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-06-2016, 11:51 AM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 501
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Dear Avid

You'll have to excuse the sarcasm here but my number one feature request for 12.6 is a stable version of Pro Tools.

I don't want ANY new features, just put your WHOLE development team on wading through those thousands of crash reports you must be getting every day and fix stuff.

Yes there's loads of things I'd like to see added to PT, especially on the MIDI side but please.... enough with the crashes.

(P.S. Yes I've done all the official trouble shooting, prefs trashing, OS reinstalling thing etc.)
Um...Hmmm

You do know that if that every happened, this entire forum "Avid Pro Audio Community" would cease to exist?

except for the "Announcements" section.
No more complaining this doesn't work, how come this doesn't do that anymore? what happened to my video, it was working fine for the last 10 years and now its gone, etc, etc.
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-06-2016, 11:51 AM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

I have had a heck of a time with 12.4 and 12.5 on windows. I yanked out east west play and now im running a lot better.

No more access violations so far.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-06-2016, 12:31 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,650
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Yes, more bug fixes is always great.....

However if I was a betting man, I would say they are gonna bug fix the colab stuff first....

Not that I care, but I bet that's what gets fixed first......

And they could have put track presets into the software front door, when? PT10 !!!!!
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-06-2016, 12:34 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 935
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Maybe you should start questioning your setup. PT 12.5 runs fine on my 2 rigs. Send in crash reports to customer service.

It might as well be a plug-in (or two or three) being the culprit, even if you do not wanna hear it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Well I've just had a TERRIBLE day with PT12.5. I am NOT going to hold back on venting my frustration.

You have to wonder if Avid have enough staff left to produce a stable version of Pro Tools AND develop new features. I've never seen the DUC so jam packed with people having issues.

I'm wondering if from now, every time PT crashes we should dig out the crash report log and raise a support case. HD users have paid for it after all. I would have raised about seven cases today.

Personally, I'm sick of hearing that it's probably a dodgy plug-in and you need to delete your prefs. I've said it before but PT needs to be a LOT more bullet proof to an errant plug-in. The whole idea that a rogue plug-in just sitting in your plug-in folder can wreak havoc is simply ridiculous.

The current and previous version of Pro Tools have been absolute train wrecks.



THAT is a sad indictment of the current state of Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-06-2016, 01:03 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
Um...Hmmm

You do know that if that every happened, this entire forum "Avid Pro Audio Community" would cease to exist?

except for the "Announcements" section.
No more complaining this doesn't work, how come this doesn't do that anymore? what happened to my video, it was working fine for the last 10 years and now its gone, etc, etc.
We could always talk about the weather?
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-06-2016, 01:19 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
Maybe you should start questioning your setup. PT 12.5 runs fine on my 2 rigs. Send in crash reports to customer service.

It might as well be a plug-in (or two or three) being the culprit, even if you do not wanna hear it.
My setup is absolutely fine. EVERYTHING is done by the book to the letter, EVERY piece of hardware/software qualified and up to date. So yes it might be a plug-in. I've even had Apple check my Mac!

Today I hit clip gain on my S6. Pro Tools crashed. And it's a plug-in that caused that???? Out of 194 plug-ins, how the hell am I supposed to check which one or combinations thereof are the culprits?

I've lost count of how many crash reports I've sent today.

Now PT HD 11.3.1 was absolutely, completely, utterly stable for me with the EXACT same hardware, mostly the same plug-in versions and I run a LOT of VIs. So who do you think I'm going to blame?

Sorry to get snarky but I've lost two and a half hours work today because of this PT12 nonsense.

There are just TOO many people having problems with 12.4/5 for this not to be an issue at Avid's end IMO.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-06-2016, 01:25 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,650
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Today I hit clip gain on my S6. Pro Tools crashed. And it's a plug-in that caused that???? Out of 194 plug-ins, how the hell am I supposed to check which one or combinations thereof are the culprits?



I've lost count of how many crash reports I've sent today.


And how is it acceptable for a user to be solely responsible for testing a piece of software- I mean I know we do it, but why is this normal?

Should the users be responsible for bug fixes, and root causes? If so the product should be cheaper, b/c it's work.....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request for a new feature. ChadP VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 09-12-2012 09:31 AM
Is there a way to...? (Feature request) RandB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-22-2006 10:01 AM
Feature request Pythagor Aspera DigiDelivery 1 12-22-2005 04:54 PM
Feature Request, or is this possible now? 1150Post Post - Surround - Video 0 02-13-2003 11:54 AM
v5.1 Feature request patience Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-01-2001 02:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com