Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #181  
Old 09-15-2016, 10:52 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,893
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
LOL. Yeah but about if there are 4k people who want it black, but the request gets ignored and they go with the person who wanted the red one anyway? (*cough* CLOUD COLLABORATION *cough*)
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 09-15-2016, 06:34 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Fix the damn bugs then ask us about features.
Good God YES.

The only important post in this entire thread was the first one.

STABILITY first. Everything else is secondary.
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 09-16-2016, 01:25 AM
nob turner nob turner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: SF
Posts: 186
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

But... but... then there's nothing to MARKET!




(because you can't market stability - that means admitting that previous versions weren't stable...)
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 09-16-2016, 11:23 AM
amarqu1 amarqu1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 48
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nob turner View Post
But... but... then there's nothing to MARKET!




(because you can't market stability - that means admitting that previous versions weren't stable...)
Reliability is the a main marketing staple of cell phones and automobiles. It could work for Avid too. If they want to better their reputation, they should strive to be able to make the claim of most reliable DAW. I think the level of effort to fix bugs in 12.6 will be telling as to how in or out of touch they are.
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 09-16-2016, 11:36 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,893
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

I agree, "job 1" should always be reliability.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 09-19-2016, 11:20 AM
composer8million composer8million is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moondog007 View Post
Protools 12.6 need to fix the midi automation problem. When you automate midi volume, you can't hear the changes until playback. Terrible nightmare!!! Also it doesn't register the automation until u life ur finger off!!!!

I wrote this problem up back in Protools 12.1 and nothing has been done. I have completely changed my workflow from Protools to Logic x because of this bug. Im also running Protools 11.3 when needed as this bug is not present.
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 09-20-2016, 09:36 AM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default Re: 12.6 Feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nob turner View Post
But... but... then there's nothing to MARKET!
(because you can't market stability - that means admitting that previous versions weren't stable...)
I think you can.

Instead of marketing "new" stability, you stress reliability when compared to the competition. Strength under pressure in professional situations - which is what the Pro Tools brand stood for up until sometime around v8.

I've NEVER used a non DSP protools system that I would trust in a critical tracking environment. Sooner or later they all toss out a CPU error and drop out of record. Even once is unacceptable when it really counts.

And...the simple act of hosting VIs is still a questionable endeavour in PT12. Fixing that could go a long way to building confidence in the brand.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request for a new feature. ChadP VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 09-12-2012 09:31 AM
Is there a way to...? (Feature request) RandB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-22-2006 10:01 AM
Feature request Pythagor Aspera DigiDelivery 1 12-22-2005 04:54 PM
Feature Request, or is this possible now? 1150Post Post - Surround - Video 0 02-13-2003 11:54 AM
v5.1 Feature request patience Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-01-2001 02:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com