Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2013, 11:05 PM
Ask the Developer Guy's Avatar
Ask the Developer Guy Ask the Developer Guy is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Daly City, CA US
Posts: 91
Default Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

With many of you asking for clarity on Avid's position on VST adaptors, here is how we view things currently.

Our main goals for the Pro Tools plug-in platform are to (1.) Provide a high-performance, integrated, and stable platform that fully supports our current and future product roadmap, and (2.) Foster a healthy 3rd party community of plug-in developers from the most respected brands in the industry along with compelling, high-quality new brands.

Pro Tools 11 running AAX plug-ins offers greatly improved levels of stability and performance. These improvements are provided by plug-ins developed according to the AAX specification. We want to ensure that Pro Tools users get uncompromised performance without any confusion or any doubt as to the authenticity of their AAX experience. To that end we do not plan on supporting utilities that convert VST plug-ins into AAX plug-ins or load VST plug-ins directly into the AAX plug-in menu. For the avoidance of doubt, this means that Avid will not allow an AAX adapter similar to the VST-to-RTAS adapter offered by Fxpansion, and we will uphold our decision not to allow the TransVST product briefly marketed by Sugar Bytes. I can’t emphasize strongly enough that these two companies are invaluable partners to us (and indeed, both are AAX plug-in developers).

We remain open to developers providing access to VST processing in Pro Tools if the products make clear in their interfaces that VST plug-ins are being used as part of an AAX plug-in. For example, a multi-effect plug-in might have a VST plug-in shell implemented within the user interface and accessible within a separate menu of clearly labeled VST plug-ins.

Pro Tools has had a vibrant community of plug-in developers for over 20 years and it is constantly evolving. Over the past few weeks alone, the momentum of developers porting products to AAX is massive. If you come across a VST plug-in that is not available on AAX, we encourage you to put the developer in touch with us to get on board. We offer a full range of support materials and services for developers who want to make this transition and you may refer them directly to me at ed.gray@avid.com.

Thank you, and I will monitor this thread for your feedback. We hope that you agree that this approach is a balanced solution that addresses the interests of end users and developers practically.
__________________
Ask the Developer Guy!
Ed Gray
Director, Partnering Programs
Avid
650.731.6490
Skype edgray1000
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2013, 03:42 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Oh, boy...

I hope you are prepared to have every word and nuance beaten over the head with a stick, and word 3 combined with word 27 and word 33 to make sentences that have absolutely no relationship to what you actually said.

Send me your boss' email and I'll recommend you for combat pay...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2013, 04:14 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,650
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Wow this is gonna be a long thread - combat pay approved
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2013, 04:37 AM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 495
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Well in a way I think this might be a prudent decision; now I realize that a good lot of you people want VST support in ProTools (either as VST or as an adapter), but on the other hand when the problems would start occurring who would you blame? Avid? The VST bridge maker? And at the end of the day PT stability might suffer because of that and we'd again complain why PT is not stable and is crashing all the time. I applaud Avid's decision to get rid of all the old stuff (RTAS, TDM, etc.) and start anew. It is to be expected that such a cut would be and indeed is met with resistance from the users who have invested much in certain type of plug-ins who are now reluctant to support yet another format. And I understand the frustration. But looking at a larger scheme I think that supporting one format instead of a number of them (even if through adapters/bridges) will ultimately lead to a more stable system. While it is true, that we are still missing quite some PI's in AAX (especially AAX-DSP), they are slowly coming and I'm certain (or at least hope that) we will see more of them in the (near) future.
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 5.1, 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, HDX2, PT2019 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v9.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2019 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2013, 05:52 AM
rockridge's Avatar
rockridge rockridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 919
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ask the Developer Guy View Post
We remain open to developers providing access to VST processing in Pro Tools...
Do you mean VST versions wrapped in a dedicated AAX shell provided by each company?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ask the Developer Guy View Post
For example, a multi-effect plug-in might have a VST plug-in shell implemented within the user interface and accessible within a separate menu of clearly labeled VST plug-ins
That sounds like VST support in PT 11; what separate menu are you talking about?

Respectfully, I just don't buy the stability argument... when talking about software... ANY software.
This whole situation smacks of desperation on Avid's part.
If AAX was doing SO well, there would have been no need for this thread.
__________________
Protools 10.3.10/11.3.2/12.6 | Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2013, 06:13 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockridge View Post
Do you mean VST versions wrapped in a dedicated AAX shell provided by each company?



That sounds like VST support in PT 11; what separate menu are you talking about?

Respectfully, I just don't buy the stability argument... when talking about software... ANY software.
This whole situation smacks of desperation on Avid's part.
If AAX was doing SO well, there would have been no need for this thread.
Actually with the new 64 bit aax in PT 11, plugins are dual buffer (input-output) to minimize latency. This is not inherent in vst's and this is possible with a wrapper. A shell could possibly do this. I don't see this as desperate whatsoever as it makes more work and money for devs, not avid.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2013, 06:40 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,226
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

What Plans
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-10-2013, 07:12 AM
sonnie sonnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Hmmm, ask your developer... I already asked two of them for develop a AAX (32 or 64 bit)

Response 1:
Yes, but the release date is unknown and highly depends on Avid, which is extremely slow and unresponsive.

Response 2:
We would, but contacting Avid as a dev for support is nearly useless. Depends on them.

I don't think its the dev's fault that there are just a few cross-platform Plugins.
Just my two cents.
__________________
PT 10.3.4 CPTK | Reaper 4.32 | Mac Pro 1.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-10-2013, 07:37 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnie View Post
Hmmm, ask your developer... I already asked two of them for develop a AAX (32 or 64 bit)

Response 1:
Yes, but the release date is unknown and highly depends on Avid, which is extremely slow and unresponsive.

Response 2:
We would, but contacting Avid as a dev for support is nearly useless. Depends on them.

I don't think its the dev's fault that there are just a few cross-platform Plugins.
Just my two cents.
???? There are tons of cross platform plugins?????
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-10-2013, 08:11 AM
remute remute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 308
Default Re: Plans for VST Adapter Support in Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oblivion777 View Post
but on the other hand when the problems would start occurring who would you blame? Avid? The VST bridge maker? And at the end of the day PT stability might suffer because of that and we'd again complain why PT is not stable and is crashing all the time.
Having already had a wrapper for a number of years now, I don't recall the forum being clogged with threads criticizing Avid for the wrapper's instability or issues arising from using it.

Anyone with a problem quite rightly went to FXpansion's forum. End of.


The utterly spurious strawman argument that this decision has been made to protect "the authenticity of the AAX experience" would be laughable if it didn't mean that if users upgrade they'll lose access to a whole raft of unique synths and FX unless they shell out yet more money for VEPro.

The whole statement reeks of doublespeak and, in effect, says nothing beyond "we don't want to do this because we don't want to."

With the Fxpansion wrapper available did anyone out there feel their RTAS "experience" was "inauthentic"?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any plans to support AVI in Pro Tools? pianosdr Windows 0 12-10-2012 01:53 AM
Some clarification from Aspera on our DigiDelivery support plans... cmarkle_aspera Aspera DigiDelivery 0 12-11-2008 04:15 PM
Apera- support and maintenance plans Pirate Post Aspera DigiDelivery 10 12-06-2008 07:47 AM
New Support Plans? krashcreative Aspera DigiDelivery 0 12-01-2008 06:28 PM
Fxpansion vst-rtas adapter: no OS9 support! DClarkson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-17-2003 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com