Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2011, 08:04 AM
daslicht daslicht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 378
Thumbs down Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

Hello,
according to the AVID support , I just reinstalled OSX and Protools to my MacBookPro unibody.
(Just 10.6.6 and Protools 9.0.1 nothing else)

After playing around about 5 minutes I get:

http://pastebin.com/ivSNrfGL

Anyone know how to fix such issues?

AVID Support told me after 2 Weeks of waiting time that I should reinstall all and if this wont work I have to contact Apple for support since the crash is OSX related.

I have never had any other problems on this Machine except Protools 9.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2011, 08:19 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

No problems here on my 5,3 MacBook Pro. I have used Pro Tools 9.0 with 10.6.5 and 9.0.1 with 10.6.6 without issue.

However, the 10.6.6 completely borked my system. I used the combo update, too, but it completely hosed the system. Random kernel panics, freezes and all kinds of broken operation; none were related to Pro Tools. Although I had a good image of my 10.6.5, I decided to do a clean reinstall anyway. All is well now. If you do a search, you will see that 10.6.6 was causing plenty of random, unexplainable issues. I would revert to 10.6.5 if you are still having problems.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2011, 02:55 PM
zodo zodo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Default Re: Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

The actual crash appears in Thread 30 (line 329)...looks like it's in a Firewire callback. If you're using a Firewire audio device, make sure that you've got the latest drivers. Also, try changing firewire cables. Finally, if you're using a firewire hard drive, try swapping that out and see if you still have problems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2011, 02:23 AM
daslicht daslicht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 378
Default Re: Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by zodo View Post
The actual crash appears in Thread 30 (line 329)...looks like it's in a Firewire callback. If you're using a Firewire audio device, make sure that you've got the latest drivers. Also, try changing firewire cables. Finally, if you're using a firewire hard drive, try swapping that out and see if you still have problems.
I am actually using the built in audio interface.

On the AVID Drivers page I have only found drivers for external AVID / M-Audio Interfaces.

Where do I find a driver for the internal Audio Interface of the Macbook Pro ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2011, 02:27 AM
daslicht daslicht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 378
Default Re: Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by getz76 View Post
I would revert to 10.6.5 if you are still having problems.
Funny thing is that I have updated to 10.6.6 sine Protools 9.0.1 don't event start up, it instantly crash.

All other Applications I have tried are working properly, no kernel panic at.


At the moment I just have 10.6.6 installed and Protools 9 nothing else to be able to narrow it easy down.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2011, 02:17 AM
daslicht daslicht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 378
Default Re: Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt
The actual reply was that this looked like it may be due to bad RAM.
Thats why I did the Hardware test as adviced by AVID support

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt
No - software RAM testing apps rarely catch bad RAM (see my info about this in the General Troubleshooting thread). The ONLY way to properly test is to remove sticks or swap out with known good ones.

Have you tried replacing or swapping RAM sticks to see if it helps?

We don't test or approve RAM - it would be redundant.


Depending on how many sticks of RAM you have installed, you could try removing 1 or more, then test again. If it doesn't crash - you know that one of the sticks you removed is bad. If it still crashes, swap the installed ones with the one(s) you removed and test again.

That should help determine if you've got bad RAM or not. In the case you don't have multiple sticks to swap out, you would likely need to get your hands on some known good RAM and test with that. Yes, it's inconvenient, but that's sometimes the price we pay for owning and maintaining a computer system.

All of this is process of elimination - start with the most likely candidates and work down from there. In this case the log info you provided seems to point at possible bad RAM...

Ok, I try that.

Next Tuesday I am going to drive to a Apple Store, hopefully they have some known good RAM modules there.

After that we can get sure that it isn't the fault of the RAM Modules.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2011, 10:36 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by daslicht View Post
Thats why I did the Hardware test as adviced by AVID support
I'll talk to the tech you communicated with and make sure they know that software RAM tests aren't reliable. I didn't see anything in the notes indicating that they advised using software to test, otherwise I would have talked to them sooner...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2011, 10:45 AM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 616
Default Re: Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

I had major issues with BlueTooth turned on,might check it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:28 AM
daslicht daslicht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 378
Default Re: Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
I'll talk to the tech you communicated with and make sure they know that software RAM tests aren't reliable. I didn't see anything in the notes indicating that they advised using software to test, otherwise I would have talked to them sooner...
Here thats what he suggested:

EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV) is an error message that originates from the OS. Any changes to the Pro Tools setup or even a re-install won't resolve this.

Common suggestions are as follows,

1. Perform an Apple hardware test.
2. Repair disk permissions
3. Re-install the OS

Please consult Apple Support for more detailed information though.

...
I have got a feeling that this might have to do with bad memory.

Have you been able to speak to Apple Support yet? Have you done a hardware test?




According to the tech support I should perform the Apple Hardware Test which comes on the OSX Application Disk (the second DVD)

This hardware test (which includes a RAM Test) is a software test, is it?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:39 AM
daslicht daslicht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 378
Default Re: Protools 9.0.1 + MacbookPro Unibody == crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by mix109 View Post
I had major issues with BlueTooth turned on,might check it?
Still the same.

I performed a DVerb test:
  • Created one audio track , generated 5 minutes test tone.
  • Created one audio track with 5 Dverbs.
  • Duplicated this track 5 times (45% CPU usage)
  • duplicated the last track another 4 times .... Beach Ball of Death

Thread 27 Crashed:
...gn.framework.CoreFoundation 0x0049a0ed Sys_VecUtils::Init() + 301
com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03e80b7e FWAudioCallback + 160856


http://pastebin.com/g3GXPUJk
Looks like that the com.digidesign.framework.DAE crashed.

FWAudioCallback ? I just use the internal Audio device.

Looks like I can reproduce that crash easily when performing like above.

I keep reporting, let's see where the RAM swapping at the Apple Service Point leads to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 9 on 13" Macbookpro i7 Compatibility japeall macOS 2 10-26-2012 06:23 AM
MacBookPro with Retina running ProTools 10 Trial a alanthemusicnerd macOS 1 09-09-2012 03:58 AM
best portable firewire hard disc for protools 8.0.5 and macbookpro Eddiex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-18-2011 11:35 AM
Protools Hd on MacbookPro gabrieljay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 10-21-2009 10:02 AM
Protools 7.4 on MacBookPro, official supported by Magma!!! pablotec Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 01-25-2008 12:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com