Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #611  
Old 04-04-2016, 01:28 PM
tekis tekis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 171
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Got nothing on 12.5 so far and I started pushing my luck with quick play/pause/play-cycles in places with reverb. That often triggered blasts for me. So far so good...
Yes! I was doing quick play/pause/play-cycles when "the noise" came thru an aux track. Had a limiter on the stereo buss that probably saved me...
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 12-core 3.33 Westmere , OS 10.12.6, 64 gig of ram, SSD system drive, PT Ultimate 2019.6 HD Native; 2015 MacBook Air, OS 10.14.6, i7, 8gb ram, SSD, PT Ultimate 2019.5

_____________________________________________
Some credits:

http://www.allmusic.com/artist/john-...s/date-asc/100

http://soundbetter.com/profiles/3845-john-siket
  #612  
Old 04-04-2016, 10:19 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Mods -

May I please request that we have some either confirmation or lack thereof as to whether this is still a problem in 12.5. It "seems" that there may be at least two cases of this issue still occurring in 12.5 but only Tech support (and the users) know if this is true. With the severity of the consequences for running into this and the duration it has been going on - it seems (to me) perfectly reasonable to ask for this. 12.5 specifically called out this as fixed in one reported scenario. There is at least one other known bug related to this (PT-211893) - related to certain reverb plug-ins in 32-bit sessions. Ongoing status for these and any new scenarios seems well justified since persistence of these is keeping some (at least me) from using their PT12 licenses. Some transparency on this issue would be a great step forward.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
  #613  
Old 04-05-2016, 12:22 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,524
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
Mods -

May I please request that we have some either confirmation or lack thereof as to whether this is still a problem in 12.5. It "seems" that there may be at least two cases of this issue still occurring in 12.5 but only Tech support (and the users) know if this is true. With the severity of the consequences for running into this and the duration it has been going on - it seems (to me) perfectly reasonable to ask for this. 12.5 specifically called out this as fixed in one reported scenario. There is at least one other known bug related to this (PT-211893) - related to certain reverb plug-ins in 32-bit sessions. Ongoing status for these and any new scenarios seems well justified since persistence of these is keeping some (at least me) from using their PT12 licenses. Some transparency on this issue would be a great step forward.
Midnightrambler's documented issue was fixed and they reported it as such.

People like to come on here and complain but don't follow up with solid repro cases which are needed to fix bugs. I fully understand that these issues shouldn't exist in the first place, but if Avid doesn't see it in house, and no BETA sites report it, then it is up to users in the field to help find, document, and fix difficult issues like this.

So here's hoping that users that take the time to post their issue here, do take the time to start a support case and get Avid the info they need.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
  #614  
Old 04-05-2016, 01:05 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,273
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Correct, 12.5 includes a fix for that repro case provided in this thread, and some have replied to confirm that. (I was able to repro in 12.4 but not in 12.5.)

Other recent reports mention 12.4 (where it's already known to occur) or or don't list a version, so it's hard to know if they are still seeing the problem or haven't updated yet.

Remaining reports of noise seem to be plug-in specific so we need details (installed software with versions, repro steps, etc.) to chase those down.

If you are experiencing these symptoms please start a support case via my.avid.com with complete system details.

Thank you!
__________________
  #615  
Old 04-05-2016, 01:24 AM
tekis tekis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 171
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Will do. I will start a Support Case. Thank-you!
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 12-core 3.33 Westmere , OS 10.12.6, 64 gig of ram, SSD system drive, PT Ultimate 2019.6 HD Native; 2015 MacBook Air, OS 10.14.6, i7, 8gb ram, SSD, PT Ultimate 2019.5

_____________________________________________
Some credits:

http://www.allmusic.com/artist/john-...s/date-asc/100

http://soundbetter.com/profiles/3845-john-siket
  #616  
Old 04-05-2016, 09:53 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Drew and Jeffro,

Very helpful update. Much appreciated.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
  #617  
Old 04-10-2016, 10:26 AM
mr xy mr xy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 160
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

i've been mixing non-stop since the 12.5 update, no noise blasts so far.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noise Blasts in PT12.5 TrentWilliams Pro Tools 12 22 04-21-2016 02:15 PM
Noise blasts on ProTools 12.2.0.152 Marcus86 Pro Tools 12 3 09-15-2015 10:18 AM
F'n furious noise blasts Jenk2k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 03-20-2010 03:16 PM
White Hot M-BOX Noise Blasts! Please Help! Derek Doublin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-17-2004 10:47 AM
Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help? roryrok 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 29 03-07-2003 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com