Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2010, 01:39 PM
kristen kristen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Question just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

You know we all use a few different daw solutions to solve particular problems.
Over the years i wound up using Sonar a lot until I found Reaper and switched to Reaper. It does a lot of stuff and is not a resourse hog! But there are some things that Sonar does easier or better .

I have heard a lot about protools and recently got an mbox 2 mini for my laptop (a mac running both mac and windows xp (bootcamp). It came with protools LE. I installed it on the xp side (took about 5 hours because of ...nevermind.. ..lets just say it was a pain). (I use Reaper and/or logic on the mac side). Anway, it took so long just to "start up" that I knew it was a resource hog.
To be fair though, i am sure there must be certain things that pro-tools does especially well that i may keep it on my computer as a "go to" for certain functions. If not, it will be gone very soon. Are there any things that are unique to pro tools or something pro tools does especially well? I would really appreciate answers from reaper users who know how to use both programs to give a fair comparison.

thanks
kristen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2010, 01:51 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kristen View Post
Are there any things that are unique to pro tools or something pro tools does especially well?
  • Edit groups
  • Elastic Audio(PT EA work flow needs improvement. Logic Flex Time is better IMHO. REAPER has it, but not as full featured this week.)
  • Default settings are more fluid(Up & coming engineers seem to disagree. This can be changed in REAPER by the user of course)
  • A more fluid default UI layout(This of course can be changed by the user in REAPER)
  • A unified default key command set(This of course can be changed by the user in REAPER)
  • Area selection in PT is presented better in the GUI, though REAPER has the same functionality in that area.
  • Better Time base ruler layout and choices.
Some of those can possibly be viewed a bit biased towards PT from my 10 years of using it, hence the italics and additional info in brackets. I do know REAPER very well though and have been using it since it's 1.x birth.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2010, 02:29 PM
kbruff kbruff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 454
Default Re: just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
  • Edit groups
  • Elastic Audio(PT EA work flow needs improvement. Logic Flex Time is better IMHO. REAPER has it, but not as full featured this week.)
  • Default settings are more fluid(Up & coming engineers seem to disagree)
  • A more fluid default UI layout
  • Unified default key commands
  • Area selection in PT is presented better in the GUI, though REAPER has the same functionality in that area.
Some of those can possibly be viewed a bit biased towards PT from my 10 years of using it, hence the italics. I do know REAPER very well though and have been using it since it's 1.x birth.

Shane
I wish I could combine, PT, FL Studio, Cubase and Reaper.

It is for me very sad when I see the beauty of PT, the amazing features of FL, the in depth structure of Cubase and the advanced functions of Reaper.

I wish they could be in one program.

I really think PT multitrack beat detective is good, and also the quantize to grid and separate to grid is priceless.

But jumping to reaper - it is just a great tool - man, what more can I say.

Cubase VST frame is amazing, a global preset manager and asset manager in one -- pure brilliance.

And my long time friend FL studio...what a clever program.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2010, 02:37 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,014
Default Re: just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

And as a side note... Reaper has ADC. Native Pro Tolls has yet to implement this.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2010, 03:10 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
And as a side note... Reaper has ADC. Native Pro Tolls has yet to implement this.
Hopefully the OP wont ask the same question in reverse. I don't want to type the extremely long list.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2010, 03:42 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,273
Default Re: just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Pro Tolls
Freudian Slip, or...?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2010, 04:20 PM
kbruff kbruff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 454
Default Re: just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Freudian Slip, or...?


I love that one -- that is my new joke -- thanks!
From Pro-Fools to Pro-Tolls
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2010, 05:22 PM
Draulym Draulym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bunbury West Oz
Posts: 217
Default Re: just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

or in Lemonsqueezer's case: Pro-Trolls
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2010, 05:59 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draulym View Post
or in Lemonsqueezer's case: Pro-Trolls
Interesting first post on the forum by the OP.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2010, 06:05 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
  • Elastic Audio(PT EA work flow needs improvement. Logic Flex Time is better IMHO. REAPER has it, but not as full featured this week.)
Gotta disagree with you on that one. When I tried Logic 9 Flex time was terrible, for drum editing specifically.
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reaper 4 in Protools Help.. egrideout macOS 7 12-23-2011 08:17 AM
Reaper and ProTools question S.TaylorRCC Windows 3 12-15-2011 10:30 AM
Protools vs Sonar or reaper digi003 Pro Tools 10 20 11-30-2011 12:48 PM
Reaper rewired to Protools 9 tele27 Pro Tools 9 8 02-11-2011 07:49 AM
Reaper VS. Protools pixeltarian General Discussion 19 06-17-2010 05:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com