Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Old 01-30-2017, 12:21 AM

Default Advice needed on setting up session templates

Hi I'm new to the thread but jus want to know the effective way of setting up a session, I've been using presets but wanna get a little more in depth with session set up and plug in efficiency to make my own template. I'm using pro tools 12 with waves complete and UA plus ins! i mostly record as and artist find myself engineering everyone around me work
Old 01-30-2017, 08:41 PM

Default Re: Advice needed on setting up session templates

Here is what I did. I took a completed mix of what I consider an "average" session(full session, full of plugins and 5 headphone mixes done with 5 AUX sends feeding outputs). I removed all the audio and stripped out all automation. Then I looked at Delay Compensation numbers and made plugins inactive if they added more than 7 samples(not that 7 was a target, its just that the next higher compensation number was 64). I then renamed every audio track in the following style(after deleting all except the main playlists):
Kick.01
Snare.01
Hat.01
ect.
The reason for the .01 for each AUDIO track is because, when I create a new playlist, PT will automatically rename each to the next number(so I know that "Egtr.03" is the third take). I also created several groups(Drums, Acoustic mic pair, etc).

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 02-02-2017, 08:29 PM

As usual, there are multiple ways to achieve the goal.

Albee has suggested one way, which is good and probably saves time. However I like to setup a template from scratch and by doing so I've gotten better at it.