Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2012, 12:34 AM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,194
Default Core Audio Driver

Not sure why the latest build of PT I have installed the dreaded Core Audio Driver. It's causing problems. Any idea how to get rid of it? Been searching Avid's useless website, cannot find a stand alone installer that seems like it would be able to uninstall it.

Basically Kontakt now after it's been installed, will only play out of my Mac's BUILT-IN speaker, stupid thing. Stand alone Kontakt I mean. Of course, my digital out is working great for everything else.

Anyway, just looking for advice how to banish Avid Core Audio driver for ever!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2013, 08:31 AM
primemp primemp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Core Audio Driver

Same problem here... Before upgrading to mountain lion, I could use kontakt stand-alone through my digital output. And now I can't anymore.

I've tried to set things up the right way. But I can only find built-in device with core audio as driver. Checked my sample rate, which was 44.1 and set it to 48 since my system is running on 48 on it's digital output. Also tried switching from 24 bit to 16 bit (in my system prefs for digital output), all with no result what so ever.

Please help, because this is frustrating! And I've been looking on google for quite a long time now, in order to find an answer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2013, 05:04 PM
primemp primemp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Core Audio Driver

Ok, I found a way around this.
If you select the "built-in" device under options -> audio
while driver is on core-audio, the output is actually routed to channel 1-2 on your output. This won't work.
In the same bar as your "options" button in your Kontakt window, there is a button called "output". If you select this, a mini-mixer will show up. Then locate the most left channel (st. 1) and click on the 1|2 button at the bottom. Change that to 5|6. That did the trick for me.
Have fun playing!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2013, 10:07 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,732
Default Re: Core Audio Driver

You're going to need the CoreAudio driver from Avid if you're running an Avid interface; actually you'll need a CoreAudio driver of any sort to get audio out of a Mac on other than the internal speakers on an external interface.

That being said I have no problem using Kontakt 5 through either my 11 Rack or my iMac's internal speakers. I have my iMac setup so that it uses it's internal speakers for stuff like iTunes, system sounds, and any other thing I care to run through them; I don't use an aggregate device. In Kontakt I can select whatever I want to use for audio out from within Kontakt itself and I don't have to mess with the mixer in Kontakt if I don't want to.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CORE AUDIO Driver please... sowattmusic macOS 4 11-26-2012 10:41 AM
Core audio driver for OS9? Allbaldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-02-2005 08:37 AM
Bug in Digi Core Audio Driver? Driver update coming? mgbasinski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2003 09:59 PM
Will the core audio driver enable audio units ? linpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-16-2003 03:01 AM
core audio driver for 001 in OSX? pfd4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-01-2003 10:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com