Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2005, 12:44 PM
sleepwalker sleepwalker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default MIDI Limitations/Capabilities

I have a MDD Dual 1gHz G4 (OS X 10.3.8, since yesterday by accident... before that on 10.3.4) with 2GB of RAM and a Digi 001 on PT LE 6.4. I started programming midi in Pro Tools a couple months ago, and am extremely disappointed by my system limitations. I am using Ivory, BFD, Trilogy, and Atmosphere as plug-in instruments. I find that I max my system out after using 2 plug-ins (one instance each). Pro Tools will either "unexpectedly quit" or I tell me that I need to increase hardware buffer size and recording/playback will stop. I have tried dedicating 1 processor to Pro Tools and having the buffer at 1024 samples and I still can only get a maximum of 2 plug-ins (on separate aux tracks) and 3-4 midi tracks. I know that these virtual instruments are processor intensive, but I feel like I should be getting more out of my system. I have always had problems with my computer in the past and have replaced the logic board, hard drive, and processors (twice). I am wondering if the problem lies in my computer, or if I just have unrealistic expectations of what my system can achieve. If anyone is using midi in Pro Tools with demanding software instruments (especially Ivory or BFD) I would really like to know what setup you have (including peripherals), what your max track count is, how your system performs, and if you have any suggestions for a reliable way to work. It is difficult for me to otherwise know the root of the problem as my computer has always been so unreliable. I am finding it impossible to work and am getting extremely frustrated. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2005, 05:27 PM
Angus_FX Angus_FX is offline
FXpansion Audio
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 398
Default Re: MIDI Limitations/Capabilities

Did you get the latest update for your BFD? There have been a great deal of optimizations and stability fixes to BFD since its release.. be sure to download the very latest update.
__________________
Angus F. Hewlett, CEO
FXpansion Audio - http://www.fxpansion.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack MIDI capabilities when not the primary interface rokitpowr Eleven Rack 5 11-02-2015 06:22 PM
newbie question on MIDI capabilities for 003 rack punkgod94 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-23-2008 09:48 AM
quick opinion on PTLE MIDI capabilities? rpb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-01-2004 08:32 PM
What Midi capabilities does ProTools NOT have?.....just curious... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 06-13-2002 01:04 AM
MIDI Limitations of 001? mfym General Discussion 0 04-14-2000 07:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com