Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2020, 12:13 AM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default AAE -9171 error

Hi Duc

It's been a while.

I keep getting these AAE -9171 errors. Once or twice a day.

My rig has been doing this as long as i remember - through different PT- and OS updates.

My buffersize is 1024.

I'm running PT 2019.12.0 / OS 10.13.6
Any ideas?

/Boe
Attached Images
File Type: png AAE -9171 error.png (40.5 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2020, 01:00 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,195
Default Re: AAE -9171 error

Same answer as always, .... always suspect plugins... and do all the standard plugin troubleshooting steps, discussed on DUC many many times.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2020, 01:08 AM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: AAE -9171 error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Same answer as always, .... always suspect plugins... and do all the standard plugin troubleshooting steps, discussed on DUC many many times.
Yep, I know, but when you have 20 years of plugins, that might take a week or two
The thing is also that it's been happening across PT and OS updates...
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2020, 10:45 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,195
Default Re: AAE -9171 error

So its more likely a plugin... that you have had across those upgrades. There is no silver bullet or guess that anybody else here can make. With current improved state over past 12.x releases you at least are in a much better state for finding a plugin is the cause and it not being broken Pro Tools.

Trash prefs, check it is not a corrupted session/set of sessions, make sure you are not doing insane long plugin/bus chains, do normal .aaxplugin file removal tests.... you should be able to confirm it’s a plugin within hours of testing... you might not get the exact plugin but in suitable batches... You can get close if the error happens frequently enough (maybe decrease buffer size to see if that helps with testing By having more frequent errors, and do not enable ignore errors) suspect mostly the plugins being instantiated in failing sessions...then trying all of they are not the culprit. And starting with confirming that removing all third party plugins gives you a stable system.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2020, 10:27 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: AAE -9171 error

Thanks Darryl for taking the time to advice. Appreciated.
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repeated Error AAE-9171 JingleDjango Pro Tools 12 6 12-13-2016 11:52 AM
12.5 bug report AAE error -9171 solarduan Pro Tools 12 10 11-21-2016 09:29 AM
9171 error with HDX but not with Aggregate I/O pklein Pro Tools 12 0 07-15-2016 07:57 PM
PT 11.2 with HDX 9171 error David Sandwisch Windows 5 12-02-2014 07:24 PM
Scroll edit window causes -9171 error? Tim R. macOS 2 09-10-2013 07:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com