Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2018, 08:54 AM
Longcut Longcut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default PT Installation Directory

When installing Pro Tools, there is no option to choose and installation directory path. Instead, Pro Tools decides to install it to my OS hard drive by default. This is a problem for me because I use a small SSD (60 GB) for my OS (Windows 10) and I try to keep only OS files on it. I would prefer installing the application on my second hard drive, where I have plenty of space. I'm trying to avoid buying a larger SSD, which is completely unnecessary. Is there any way to choose my installation path for Pro Tools?

I'm experienced with computers and I'm hoping to get a straight forward answer. Thanks for any help. My computer specs are in my signature.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2018, 08:56 AM
Longcut Longcut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT Installation Directory

I'm new to forums, and I'm not sure if my signature is coming up on my post. Here are my computer specs...

Built Computer
MSI Z270 Pro Gaming - Motherboard
Intel i5 7600K - CPU
Sound Blaster Zx Sound Card
GTX 960 - GPU
Scarlett Solo v.2
60 GB SSD
1 TB Mechanical HD
Windows 10 Home
Pro Tools 2018.4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2018, 09:55 AM
EdgarRothermich's Avatar
EdgarRothermich EdgarRothermich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Hollywood
Posts: 107
Default Re: PT Installation Directory

The convention for macOS is to install applications into the Applications folder.
If there is an installer app running, then there is often other stuff that is installed in various location on your drive. That is where the app usually expects to find its stuff.


Only apps that don't require a dedicated installation, offer you to drag the app manually into your Applications folder from a window. But even that indicate that you have to place them into the Application.

You could manually drag an app later out of the Applications folder to a different location, but that is at your own risk if you don't know if the app requires the default location for proper operation (and updates).
__________________
Edgar Rothermich
Author of "Pro Tools | First 12 - How it Works"
from the Graphically Enhanced Manuals (GEM) series
http://DingDingMusic.com/
YouTube Channel Music Tech Explained https://YouTube.com/c/MusicTechExplained/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2018, 10:26 AM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 742
Default Re: PT Installation Directory

Pro tools is designed to have the program on the system drive and a separate drive for audio. Many of us also have a drive for VIs and samples.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2018, 11:27 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: PT Installation Directory

Quote:
Originally Posted by Longcut View Post
When installing Pro Tools, there is no option to choose and installation directory path. Instead, Pro Tools decides to install it to my OS hard drive by default. This is a problem for me because I use a small SSD (60 GB) for my OS (Windows 10) and I try to keep only OS files on it. I would prefer installing the application on my second hard drive, where I have plenty of space. I'm trying to avoid buying a larger SSD, which is completely unnecessary. Is there any way to choose my installation path for Pro Tools?

I'm experienced with computers and I'm hoping to get a straight forward answer. Thanks for any help. My computer specs are in my signature.
No.
Windows does not allow that for actual applications (that are not self-contained.) They must go in the Program Files or Program Files (x86) folders. Time to get a bigger drive or move libraries/content to your other drive. Referenced libraries (sound samples, vst content, etc.) can live on another drive.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2018, 11:53 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,858
Default Re: PT Installation Directory

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Referenced libraries (sound samples, vst content, etc.) can live on another drive.
You mean VI content. No VST in PT so no one gets confused
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2018, 12:17 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,408
Default Re: PT Installation Directory

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
No.
Windows does not allow that for actual applications (that are not self-contained.) They must go in the Program Files or Program Files (x86) folders. Time to get a bigger drive or move libraries/content to your other drive. Referenced libraries (sound samples, vst content, etc.) can live on another drive.
Amen. Best to get a larger system drive and be done with it. Relatively inexpensive. Besides most programs really need to be on the system drive. Out it this way - if you deviate from the usual install path and later want to update the program the updater will fail. And it's not just PT that's like this but Native Instruments programs as well.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2018, 12:26 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: PT Installation Directory

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
You mean VI content. No VST in PT so no one gets confused
Yup. My bad. I just refer to them all the same... lazy for me.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-09-2018, 01:21 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 742
Default Re: PT Installation Directory

I found out about the NI stuff the hard way.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2018, 12:15 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 354
Default Re: PT Installation Directory

Don't even try, Longcut. Buy a bigger drive. You're just asking for trouble otherwise.
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delete old AIR Content directory? skyko AAX Plug-ins 7 10-31-2013 07:59 PM
Changing Installation Directory For PT11 on Windows MDJGunn Pro Tools 11 1 06-26-2013 03:56 PM
Kontakt 2 directory stevegalante Virtual Instruments 1 09-16-2006 07:52 AM
OSX Open Directory SteveH44 Post - Surround - Video 7 07-27-2006 07:16 AM
5.1 directory issues lupe Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-15-2001 10:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com