Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2014, 09:27 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

Help needed from a german PT user with german Windows 7 and Logickeyboard with german layout; I am clueless !

PT Preferences :
Automatically switch Input Language : checked
Language : English

But :
“Ö” does not do „Move Edit Selection down“ , it does : „Cycle through Edit Modes“
but : "Ö" types correctly "Ö" when entering text (clip name renaming, ...)

“Ü” does not do „Play Edit Selection“ , it does : „Move Edit Selection down“
but : "Ü" types correctly "Ü" when entering text (clip name renaming, ...)

“?ß” does not do “Track View Toggle” , it does : playback

“*+” does not do „Play TL Selection“ , it does unknown/nothing

“Z” does not do „Snap Start to TC“ , it does : „Undo“

“Y” does not do „ Undo “ , it does : „Move Clip Start to Play Time“

“-_ “does not do „ Move next large Nudge Value forward “ , it does : „Track View Toggle“

---------

Tried the variations :
Win 7 : German
Pro Tools , Language : US
Pro Tools , Auto-Switch Input Language : yes

Win 7 : German
Pro Tools , Language : US
Pro Tools , Auto-Switch Input Language : no

Win 7 : German
Pro Tools , Language : German
Pro Tools , Auto-Switch Input Language : yes

Win 7 : German
Pro Tools , Language : German
Pro Tools , Auto-Switch Input Language : no

Win 7 : English
Pro Tools , Language : US
Pro Tools , Auto-Switch Input Language : yes

Win 7 : English
Pro Tools , Language : US
Pro Tools , Auto-Switch Input Language : no

Win 7 : English
Pro Tools , Language : German
Pro Tools , Auto-Switch Input Language : yes

Win 7 : English
Pro Tools , Language : German
Pro Tools , Auto-Switch Input Language : no

Always after quitting PT and rebooting PC.
Nothing works :
"Ö" types "Ö" , but the shortcut does not work
or
"Ö" types ";" and the shortcut works.

That is a Hexenprobe, no idea for a solution.
Is there some other Windows setting, that I miss ?

I would be very thankful for help,
Joachim
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060

Last edited by joachim; 01-29-2014 at 05:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2014, 07:33 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

I pinged someone I know who might be able to give you a hand and chime in on this.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2014, 12:27 AM
uller uller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: denmark
Posts: 278
Default Re: Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

change keybord language .. when its done u can shift between usa and german easy

  1. Click Start
    , type intl.cpl in the Start Search box, and then press ENTER.
  2. On the Keyboards and Language tab, click Change keyboards.
  3. Click Add.
  4. Expand the language that you want. For example, expand French (Canada).
  5. Expand Keyboard list, click to select the Canadian French check box, and then click OK.
  6. In the options, click View Layout to compare the layout with the actual keyboard.
  7. In the Default input language list, click French (Canada) – Canadian French, and then click OK two times.
  8. In the Regional and Language Options dialog box, click OK.Note The Language bar appears on the taskbar. When you rest the mouse pointer over this bar, a tooltip appears that describes the active keyboard layout.
__________________
Brian Uller
Denmark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2014, 01:05 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

Thanks Shane and uller for your efforts.
I am in contact to a person at logickeyboard, but they are just manufacturing it, while the mapping is done by Avid.
The german distributor of logickeyboard did not response yet.

uller, I can change between languages already easily in the taskbar, otherwise I would not have been able to try my mentioned last 4 variations.
It is a keyboard with german layout QWERTZ, if I switch from german to english, that keyboard would produce a "Y" when pressing "Z".

OS in German, german keyboard layout, PT language set to english, PT Auto-Switch Input Language yes : this should produce an "Ö" when typing names and a "Move Edit Selection Down" if not typing names, according to the Ref Guide , p.100 :

When the Auto-Switch Input Language option is
enabled, the input language is switched automatically
from English to the current OS input language
when entering text. It automatically
switches back to English for using Keyboard commands
in Pro Tools. When disabled, English is
used when entering text regardless of the current
OS input language.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2014, 02:53 AM
uller uller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: denmark
Posts: 278
Default Re: Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

ahh now i get it (note to my self.. read more closely and Pay attentions to all whats written )
__________________
Brian Uller
Denmark
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2014, 07:12 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

I could have been more specific : Win 7 german keyboard layout , DE displayed in task bar.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2014, 02:24 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
I pinged someone I know who might be able to give you a hand and chime in on this.
Is there an "echo" to your "ping" ?
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2014, 04:32 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
Is there an "echo" to your "ping" ?
They looked at it and were not able to offer any advice or suggestions.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-31-2014, 03:48 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

But thanks for trying !

No german guy here, who can assure, that on his logickeyboard "Ö" will "Move Edit Selection down" ???
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-11-2014, 02:09 PM
Cologne71 Cologne71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Default Re: Help: Logickeyboard german, Win7 german, PT english -> wrong shortcuts

Hello!

Right now I'm dealing with the same problem. I'm as well in contact with logickeyboard, but all they tell me right now is, that it's a matter of the pro tools settings. I tried all the different settings mentioned by Joachim before, no chance.
I think the guys from logickeyboard did change the layout to QWERTZ, but forgot to replace the shortcut-icons to keys that have moved.
For example: CTRL+Z is undo as it should, but why didn't they move the undo text and icon to the new Z-Key? It's left on the Y-Key which is Z on the US-layout.

Any news to this problem from other german pro tools logickeyboard users?
__________________
PT 11.1.2, PT 10.3.8, Athlon X2 3Ghz, Windows 7 64Bit, 6 GB Ram, Projectmix IO, Eleven Rack, NI Maschine Mk2, Alesis QS7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shortcuts on German Keyboard... andy_ancore Windows 19 10-13-2014 07:49 AM
MC-Pro How To Change from English to German Keyboard Layout? moacito System 5 1 01-30-2013 07:20 AM
List of Shortcuts (german) PT LE 7 YanSabeth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-02-2012 06:50 PM
Looking for German Dub Stage and AE zseivers Post - Surround - Video 7 11-03-2009 03:20 AM
faderport with german XP grille22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-19-2009 10:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com