Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2010, 09:50 AM
GreenDC GreenDC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1
Default C24- Phantom Power causes crackle and pops

Hi all, I'm having issues with my Control 24 interface- I get incessant crackles on several channels of the first bank of preamps when phantom power is engaged. When it is turned off, the signal is clean as a whistle. Even when there is no cable plugged into the input of the problem preamps, if the preamp is turned to mic, there's crackle. Another strange issue is that if I have an external preamp in the signal chain before the preamp on the C24, there is no crackle (via a patchbay). Any idea whats up with this? The second bank of 9-16 is fine, and this seems to manifest every summer, when it is more humid, and here in DC it gets super humid. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2010, 11:06 AM
conrad787 conrad787 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 100
Default Re: C24- Phantom Power causes crackle and pops

Hello GreenDC,

I too live in the DC area (Bethesda, MD - www.blueroommusicstudio.com)

I don't have crackles with phantom power, but some WEIRD issues with phantom instead. For some reason, mic input #3 will NOT send phantom power out to a condenser mic. If I plug a dynamic into #3 it sounds great, and if I plug a condenser into 1, 2, or 4-8, it sounds great as well. Does anyone know why the C24 would decide not to send phantom out certain channels?

Thanks,
Conrad
Blue Room Productions
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2010, 09:35 AM
otlyer otlyer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: no
Posts: 5
Default Re: C24- Phantom Power causes crackle and pops

Am in dc too
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2010, 07:44 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,615
Default Re: C24- Phantom Power causes crackle and pops

Some ideas to consider:
For GreenDC, external preamps should come in via LINE inputs(which don't have phantom power). Maybe check your snakes(try swapping the 1-8 snake with the 9-16 snake and see if the problem moves).

For conrad787, check the snake and I bet you find a bad ground/pin 1 on your #3 line. A dynamic mic will work fine without pin 1, but phantom power needs pin 1 to complete the power connection(pin 1 carries the minus side of phantom DC voltage)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2010, 06:08 PM
Fullsound Recording Fullsound Recording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SEATTLE WA USA
Posts: 679
Default Re: C24- Phantom Power causes crackle and pops

Or a bad rail feed in general at PSU - PSu connector- or jacks mount to PCB? Maybe oscillating Dc at PSU?
__________________
www.fullsoundrecording.com
Seattle Wa

I voted at www.deardigi.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002R Faults + power harness + no phantom power DaveSB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-26-2009 01:10 AM
recording with phantom power *and* without phantom power simultaneously SweetSoulSound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-22-2008 07:40 PM
Crackle and Pops D-MACK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-29-2007 05:33 PM
Random pops, crackle, and clips. very annoying WizDoomBorn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-08-2005 07:33 AM
Guitar Crackle and Pops? Punx Tips & Tricks 3 04-07-2003 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com