Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2005, 10:47 AM
cosmicevan cosmicevan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 48
Default non mic XLR inputs on 002 mixing surface?

Hi all,

I recently upgraded my 002 Rack for a 002 control surface. As I'm reading through the manuals on operating the control surface, I noticed that the manual suggests only using mics with the XLR ins on the 002 because of the impedence settings. Much of the outboard gear that I have has balanced XLR outs. The sound from my outboard gear is better coming from the XLR outs than 1/4" outs (or so says my ears). Will using the balanced XLR outs of my gear to feed the 002 XLR ins damage the preamps or the 002 in any way? What is the full scoop on how impedence levels effect the sounds? Why is it recommended to use only mics on these ins?

Any and all help is appreciated!
Thanks!
__________________
*************************************
macbook pro 2GHz Intel Core Duo
1GB RAM
OS 10.4.6
002 mixing board w/ PT 7.1.1cs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:27 AM
sonikbliss sonikbliss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Directly beneath the sun
Posts: 123
Default Re: non mic XLR inputs on 002 mixing surface?

Microphones output a very low level signal, thus the need for a preamp.

The Preamp takes the mic level signal and boosts it to line level.

So since the only purpose of a preamp is to convert mic level to line level, it makes no sense to plug a line level signal into a mic pre.

The XLR inputs on the 002 are for the mic preamps.
__________________
Rock 'n Roll saved my soul
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:38 AM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: non mic XLR inputs on 002 mixing surface?

Maybe somebody else wants to jump in with a comprehensive explanation of impedance in the signal chain, but the way to accomplish what you're trying to do is to have some female XLR to TRS (balanced) cables made to connect to the TRS line level inputs of the 002. The previous poster is correct that the XLR inputs go directly to the mic pre's of the 002. Running line level signal into a pre will isn't a very wise idea as it will likely just distort terribly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ignore - PT9 using other mfg inputs & 003 surface SteveGam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-11-2010 03:57 PM
Control surface mixing Noiz2 Post - Surround - Video 10 06-17-2006 11:57 AM
Control Surface for 'in the box' post mixing? anders Post - Surround - Video 11 03-08-2005 08:15 AM
Stereo Link Inputs on Control Surface 002 rcourell1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-07-2005 05:09 PM
control surface or mixing console? danny1983 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-17-2004 08:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com