How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-10-2017, 06:00 PM

Default How to Change Font Size

Hello all,

This is my first time on this forum, and my first time trying to use ProTools, so if this is somewhere obvious and I missed it, my apologies. I looked in the manual and searched here and on other sites and didn't find an answer, so...

I'm visually impaired and have a hard time reading any of the text in ProTools. The drop down windows (File, Edit, etc.) are adjusted to my system font sizes and are fine, but everything inside the Edit window for example is tiny.

When I googled it, all I found really old posts from 7-10 years ago saying it was impossible to change the font, but I'm /really/ hoping that this program isn't that bad with accessibility by this point.

In case it didn't show up in my signature correctly, I'm using ProTools 12 on a PC running Windows 8. Not sure what other specs there even are, so I don't know what else to list. Any help anyone could give would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
-Eriias
Old 11-10-2017, 07:20 PM

Default Re: How to Change Font Size

This might be a tough one as Pro Tools really doesn't allow for this. My recommendation would be to use a large 1080P flat-screen TV as your monitor and push the video resolution as low as the hardware allows. I have run 1368x640(the second figure might not be correct as its been a while) on a 52" TV and I could read text from my couch, a good 7' away. Currently, I use a 43" LED TV as my main screen(about 4' away from my face) and find it very nice(but my eyes are fairly normal). Most graphics cards will have no trouble connected to the HDMI input on any modern TV, but I would stay away from any 4K sets as that would work against your needs